$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
453 reviews
Resort at a Hotel Room Price

We weren't there long enough to take advantage of all the features, but fully enjoyed what we had... See full review

  • Mima Judy
  • Dec 5, 2014
Young married couple getaway

Hotel was awesome! Perfect location and wonderful staff. I will be happy to go back there and I... See full review

  • Very happy global trecker
  • Nov 30, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 12, 2008

Watch out for the upgrade

What can be better than an ocean view room on San Diego harbor from the midst of one of the greatest marina areas on the California coast? A suprise? upgrade with a great view of the harbor and downtown San Diego!! It was also right outside the outdoor rock concert arena which is a feature of this property. Turned out OK though, bands were done by 10PM and the doors were somewhat soundproof...Just turn the TV up, or the CPAP machine on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwalk
Oct 19, 2008

Wonderful Vacation!

We stayed here in October which is considered the off season for tourists and it made the stay very quiet. It was our 37th Wedding anniversary and I wanted it to be special. When we got there, we got a suite facing the marina with a full kitchen and a beautiful view. The room actually had a sliding door that closed the bedroom off from the living room which was nice because my husband goes to bed early and gets up early. Everything was clean including the grounds and the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed breakfast stitting by a window by the marina. Food was good, not great. I fell in love with this place and want to make it an anniversary tradition to return every year. There are many things to do in San Diego which made it a very fun trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

They have a bar on the premises with a live band in the evening and they also have a entertainment area where they hold live concerts during the summer months.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marble Falls, *
Jul 27, 2008

Great place to stay

Humphrey's Half Moon Inn & Suites was an amazing place to stay. The pool area is huge, hot tub was nice too. Our room was facing towards the interior of the building, so we had a little porch area that was nice to go out and sit on and take in the view. They have a concert area very close by too, so at any given night, there's likely a concert going on that you can attend (not for free mind you, but the acts they have playing there are usually big names, so you dont mind paying). I talked to a worker who said that some people complain about the noise, but I had no problem with it- you can hear a slight noise from your room, but its not enough to keep you up at niight. Plus, the shows are done before it gets to be the wee hours of night, so I didnt understand that complaint at all. There's a putting area that I didnt a chance to try out but it looked like fun. It's about 20 minutes from the Convention Center too, if you're coming down for the San Diego Comic Con, like I was, so thats a huge bonus too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a very nice restauraunt too. It's a bit up there in price, but worth every penny- the food was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocklin
Jul 5, 2008

Like being in Hawaii, very tropical!!

This was one of the best vacations I've ever been on!! We stayed during the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was fantastic, their staff was very friendly to deal with, the consierge was great about recommending things to do in the area and I will definitely stay there again. The restaurant was top notch and you can't ask for anything more than a lounge with live music for late night partying! Our room overlooked the bay which was right across the street. A great beach is within walking distance and the San Diego city trolley picks up right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Brigentine's restaurant down the street for their fish tacos... they're the best fish tacos I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 13, 2007

Great Hotel

The Humphrey's Half Moon Inn was A great Experience for me and my girlfriend. The night We got there We were Upgraded To a water View Suite over looking the the bay and the concert stage. The first Night There was concert and the Hotel staff did everything they could to make parking easy for us, It was hectic but the parking staff marked our spot so it was not available to anyone else. The Hotel overall was Excellent. Had a Tropical look to it, and parrots were seen often hanging around. The room was very clean and comfortable. Other then when The concert was playing, it was very quiet and easy to sleep. The pool and spa were a must. Perfect San Diego Weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Having A Rental Car is good, if you want to experience other parts of the San Diego area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 18, 2008

Great location and very comfortable

The hotel was an ideal spot right next to the marina. Everything we needed was close by we came to relax and thats exactly what we did. When we checked in, to our surprise Seals & Crofts was playing there and not only that our balcony to the room faced right in front of it. So you can imagine the great surprise we got. Overall it was a great experience and definetly would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is nearby dining, lounges, markets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 4, 2009

Very relaxing

Humphreys Half Moon Inn was a very comfortable and the staff was really pleasant. The rooms were really nice and comfortable. I enjoyed the fact that they had the restaraunt and the lounge, I was simply there for pleasure and I really didnt have to leave, everything I needed was right there on the property. The beds were extremly comfortable and the rooms are a nice size, I didnt feel congested. Also, the view was beautiful. We were right across from the water and we could see the cruise ships coming and going. Great for pictures. I would recommend this hotel to a friend and I would definetely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

a few blocks away from the hotel is several dining facilites

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 7, 2009

Humphrey's is a great place to stay!

This hotel is very unique. It has a feel of a polynesian resort with beautiful vegetation everywhere and very well kept grounds. There were small ponds of koi fish and parrots and weekend nights are filled with music coming from the stage. Humphrey's also has a beautiful view of the san diego skyline and is found right on the ocean and a large running/walking path. The rooms were very clean and modern. The only part that I didnt like was that you had to pay for parking which is pretty lame seeing as you are already paying to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mae
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 2, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

We only stayed here one night. We were in town for Drill Instructor Graduation at MCRD in San Diego and were only ten minutes away. Great hotel! Great location! The grounds and views were beautiful from everywhere. There were many activities for my other teenage children to do, from the pool and hot tub and fitness room to croquet, ping pong, and a putting green. There was a concert of Emmie Lou Harris that could be heard nicely from the pool area. They offered room service and have a nice lounge with more live entertainment after 9:30pm. Clean comfortable rooms. Can't wait to go back and stay longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfing Pair
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 24, 2011

Very Enjoyable!

Checked in on Sat afternoon but the hotel didn't have any rooms fopr the free upgrade by [...]. They said to check back in the morning. We did and the hotel graciously upgraded to a tropical room...same room just with a pool and garden view instead of the parking lot.Room had been recently upgraded with bathroom redone. With the king bed there was plenty of room and a nice big LG Plasma TV where we watched the Sabres win a playoff game.We found the location to be awesome for golfing, getting on the interstate, walking to Starbucks in the mornings, and also for driving 5 minutes to downtown and the Gaslamp quarter. We also walked around the area each morning which was enjoyable right down on the waterfront near the yacht clubs. Many people were out walking their dogs and also enjoyable the mornings.We also through [...]received free Continental breakfast which each morning we upgraded to any breakfast. They applied the $9.25 voucher to any breakfast where we often had pancakes, raisin bread french toast, omelettes, oatmeal with fruit, often times with no additional price!The hotel bar also had a Happy Hour which had half off drinks and appetizers with live muscic. Some night there was a cover charge but we did not attend those.We also saw the stage/concert schedule and could not believe what artists will be coming to the hotel! Top names young and old. That would be awesome!Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The free breakfast was awesome! Trade in for your choice of food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top