$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fish25
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 19, 2009

Great Honeymoon Resort

The Hotel staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The Resort was very well maintained and clean. The pool and hot tub were very clean and refreshing. Half Moon is a delight and I highly recommend it for a honeymoon or just a getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Old Time Trolley tour but do a 2-day pass. There is so much to see.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Monterey, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Just what I needed!

Everything at the hotel was excellent! Friendly, helpful staff especially the concierge. I was looking for a weekend getaway to relax with my boyfriend and we were in a great location for that. The hotel is near a marina, not near a lot of bars so it was quiet at night, the grounds were gorgeous with small waterfalls and tropical plants and even some parrots! Would highly recomment for families and couples alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rocklin
Jul 5, 2008

Like being in Hawaii, very tropical!!

This was one of the best vacations I've ever been on!! We stayed during the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was fantastic, their staff was very friendly to deal with, the consierge was great about recommending things to do in the area and I will definitely stay there again. The restaurant was top notch and you can't ask for anything more than a lounge with live music for late night partying! Our room overlooked the bay which was right across the street. A great beach is within walking distance and the San Diego city trolley picks up right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Brigentine's restaurant down the street for their fish tacos... they're the best fish tacos I've ever had.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 13, 2007

Great Hotel

The Humphrey's Half Moon Inn was A great Experience for me and my girlfriend. The night We got there We were Upgraded To a water View Suite over looking the the bay and the concert stage. The first Night There was concert and the Hotel staff did everything they could to make parking easy for us, It was hectic but the parking staff marked our spot so it was not available to anyone else. The Hotel overall was Excellent. Had a Tropical look to it, and parrots were seen often hanging around. The room was very clean and comfortable. Other then when The concert was playing, it was very quiet and easy to sleep. The pool and spa were a must. Perfect San Diego Weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Having A Rental Car is good, if you want to experience other parts of the San Diego area.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 18, 2008

Great location and very comfortable

The hotel was an ideal spot right next to the marina. Everything we needed was close by we came to relax and thats exactly what we did. When we checked in, to our surprise Seals & Crofts was playing there and not only that our balcony to the room faced right in front of it. So you can imagine the great surprise we got. Overall it was a great experience and definetly would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is nearby dining, lounges, markets

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
los angeles
Mar 15, 2011

beautiful location, friendly staff

the rooms were very nice,with modern fixtures,very clean,nice amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicole n love
Couples
Lakeside, CA
Feb 27, 2011

Nice trip

We stayed the weekend here and it was really nice. Our room was an oceanview junior suite and it was very nice and roomy. We went to the next door resturant and jazz bar and they were very nice also. The only complaint is that when we went to explore the place our key wouldn't work for the pool. It was the morning before checkout, but we still had hours before we needed to check out. Nothing was in the minibar you had to order it and it said it coud take over an hour to get just some candy. And the ice machine and soda machine were broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Humphrey's Fan
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 11, 2011

Excellent Hotel & First Class Restaurant

This unique hotel had everything we needed for a quick quiet get away. We booked the hotel for one night and liked what we saw so much, we booked another night becore we even left town. Beautiful grounds have many different types of rooms to choose from, and you can explore the island it's on beyond that. We found the rooms on sale for half off, so they were a great deal. Otherwise, they may be a bit pricey. The hotel offer plenty to do with an amazing restaurant on site as well as a live music lounge with no cover charge for guests. They also have an on site concert venue with acts playing through the summer, boasting A-List talent (although concerts had not begun during our visit). We will definitely be visiting again if we can find the rooms on sale. It's my undertsanding that when there are concerts, they are booked pretty solid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Humphrey's Restaurant is right next door to the hotel and offers some of the best, most original dishes we've eaten. It is newly renovated to a very classy, modern decor with striking views of the marina. You are looking at 3-4 star restaurant prices, but it's well worth the splurge. We received a 25% off coupon for our entire dinner bill when we checked in and this seemed standard. Also, by booking through Orbitz, we received free continental breakfasts which are also served at the restaurant and can be used as a cash upgrade to a different breakfast item if you want. Breakfast pricing is very reasonable to begin with. Room service is also prepared in and delivered from the restaurant.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Tucson, AZ
Apr 1, 2011

Nice Stay

Hotel was great...we asked to be on the 1st floor, next to the pool and got just that. Our room was clean...no issues at all...we really enjoy staying at this hotel time after time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Temecula, CA
Apr 7, 2011

Great Birthday Getaway

Wonderful hotel experience. Comfortable room and room service was quick. Meal was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Enjoyed piano bar in restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top