$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
562 reviews
Amazing

Best hotel in the area. Great rooms, awesome service and staff. The mango margaritas by the pool... See full review

  • ial86
  • Jul 12, 2014
Wonderful California Suite

Wonderful location, excellent amenities. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Humphreys Half Moon... See full review

  • Shesh 87
  • Jun 27, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay – open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Décor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 per room/night that includes:

  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free airport, Amtrak & Cruise Terminal transfers
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (562)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
562 out of 562
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monterey, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Just what I needed!

Everything at the hotel was excellent! Friendly, helpful staff especially the concierge. I was looking for a weekend getaway to relax with my boyfriend and we were in a great location for that. The hotel is near a marina, not near a lot of bars so it was quiet at night, the grounds were gorgeous with small waterfalls and tropical plants and even some parrots! Would highly recomment for families and couples alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thunderbird
ft lauderdale fl
Nov 13, 2011

great time

we were very pleased with our stay. the location is the most ideal for proximity to all venues. we had aroom facing the bay with a terrace we were able to watch the ships come and go. the restaurants were very good and the staff couldnt be nicer. the lounge was a great diversion. all in all our trip was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

stars and stripes use 11 was the most fantastic experience 3 hour cruise on the americas cup sailboat dont miss this thrill you will not regret it

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norwalk
Oct 19, 2008

Wonderful Vacation!

We stayed here in October which is considered the off season for tourists and it made the stay very quiet. It was our 37th Wedding anniversary and I wanted it to be special. When we got there, we got a suite facing the marina with a full kitchen and a beautiful view. The room actually had a sliding door that closed the bedroom off from the living room which was nice because my husband goes to bed early and gets up early. Everything was clean including the grounds and the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed breakfast stitting by a window by the marina. Food was good, not great. I fell in love with this place and want to make it an anniversary tradition to return every year. There are many things to do in San Diego which made it a very fun trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

They have a bar on the premises with a live band in the evening and they also have a entertainment area where they hold live concerts during the summer months.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Humphrey's Fan
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 11, 2011

Excellent Hotel & First Class Restaurant

This unique hotel had everything we needed for a quick quiet get away. We booked the hotel for one night and liked what we saw so much, we booked another night becore we even left town. Beautiful grounds have many different types of rooms to choose from, and you can explore the island it's on beyond that. We found the rooms on sale for half off, so they were a great deal. Otherwise, they may be a bit pricey. The hotel offer plenty to do with an amazing restaurant on site as well as a live music lounge with no cover charge for guests. They also have an on site concert venue with acts playing through the summer, boasting A-List talent (although concerts had not begun during our visit). We will definitely be visiting again if we can find the rooms on sale. It's my undertsanding that when there are concerts, they are booked pretty solid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Humphrey's Restaurant is right next door to the hotel and offers some of the best, most original dishes we've eaten. It is newly renovated to a very classy, modern decor with striking views of the marina. You are looking at 3-4 star restaurant prices, but it's well worth the splurge. We received a 25% off coupon for our entire dinner bill when we checked in and this seemed standard. Also, by booking through Orbitz, we received free continental breakfasts which are also served at the restaurant and can be used as a cash upgrade to a different breakfast item if you want. Breakfast pricing is very reasonable to begin with. Room service is also prepared in and delivered from the restaurant.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy, Marine Mom
Chicago, IL
Oct 3, 2010

Fantastic family and/or romantic getaway

This was my 2nd stay at Humphrey's and everything was perfect, from the outstanding, clean guestroom to the beautiful and tranquil grounds - I loved it. I used the hotel as a home base while traveling back and forth to Camp P and surrounding towns. I will definitely return and highly recommend this hotel to all travellers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Centro 518
Marin County, CA
Mar 26, 2013

Amazing

Best vacation of my life! i will be back for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Oscars Mexican seafood in La Jolla....smoked fish tacos...the best ever!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renee K.
Washington
Sep 25, 2012

A beautiful and tropical oasis!!

The hotel is on shelter island. Shelter island is very laid back compared to downtown San Diego. You can walk to numerous restaurants and the warf from the hotel. It was the ideal location. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the poolside room was gorgeous. We sat on the patio the majority of the time. My only draw back we the bathrooms needed a little extra attention to the floors and tile grout. Other than that, it was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Humphrey's had great food and the Best western next door had a great veiw and tasty food too.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
May 4, 2011

Great Spot!!

lovely location on the harbor and jungle type feeling with all the beautiful landscaping of flowers, plants, and trees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

don't miss their great happy hour

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pietopper
Business
Sarasota, FL
May 25, 2011

Half Moon Inn Rocks!

Lovely gardens, fun atmosphere, concerts right on the premises (the Moody Blues were playing!), next to the yacht basin. Spacious rooms, all the amenities, stunning pool and a fabulous breakfast. I was happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rocklin
Jul 5, 2008

Like being in Hawaii, very tropical!!

This was one of the best vacations I've ever been on!! We stayed during the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was fantastic, their staff was very friendly to deal with, the consierge was great about recommending things to do in the area and I will definitely stay there again. The restaurant was top notch and you can't ask for anything more than a lounge with live music for late night partying! Our room overlooked the bay which was right across the street. A great beach is within walking distance and the San Diego city trolley picks up right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Brigentine's restaurant down the street for their fish tacos... they're the best fish tacos I've ever had.

Back to menu Return to top