$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heroman
Business
Chula Vista, Ca
Jun 24, 2013

Nice location, but resort rooms need upgrading.

The first room we were assigned was in desperate need of refurbishment. We asked to see another room. It was much nicer, but they wanted $60 more per night. The room we were eventually assigned was nice. We were surprised to have to pay additional for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The lounge had good entertainment and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paradise Lost
Business
Reno Nv
Jul 12, 2013

Lacking as a quite getaway

This is a clean , fun hotel with the best pool in San Diego. We had a room on the street side and between the 5AM boat repair shops using back up signals to move things around and concert nights , we never got a restful nights sleep in 8 days. I would only stay on the north end facing the marina upstairs. Lots on kids having fun ( which is great) but the pool is open till 10 PM and if your room is facing that, well enjoy! The location is good for sight seeing, the staff and food were also fantastic but between doors that do not have a device to cushion the closure ( and therefore slam ) every time a person uses it and the other noise above, it lost its luster quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

15 Dining choices within 3 blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YJKay
Business
Walnut creek, CA
Aug 31, 2013

Good 'family' hotel

The reason that I call it 'family hotel' is its convenience. Most people come to San diego for visiting the Sea Wolrd and other attractions. This hotel is very close to them. After enjoying them, you can come back easily and relax your stress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Balboa Park, Sea World, Air port

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xiaoqinqin
Business
New York
Dec 28, 2013

Overall good

The location is great and excellent outside but the room is tiny and cold

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MommyAquino
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 28, 2014

Great location-can get loud

I wouldn't recommend for families since it does get loud at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UrsyAce
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jun 10, 2014

Average

Overall, this hotel was okay, but nothing special. I guess for the price, it was a pretty good value. The location on Shelter Island was pretty convenient. It was easy to get to the 5. The view of Downtown San Diego from across the street was beautiful. The room itself was fairly nice. There was food stuck all over the inside of the microwave, which was pretty gross. Other than that, the room was pretty clean. I would probably stay there again. Like I said, it wasn't the greatest hotel I ever stayed in, but for the price, it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Compspec
Business
Virginia
Oct 24, 2010

Nice Place

Wife really liked it. Reminded her of Maui. Dinning at the hotel restaurant was very good. The lounge had good happy hours and good music. Close to the airport but didn't hear any jet noise. I would like to go there when they have a big name at their concert venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

1. Hooleys Irish Pub (corn beef/ cabbage taco's) 2.Cotijas, Broadway and Olive in Lemon Grove. Best breakfast burrito's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ash
Business
62711
Jul 4, 2011

ok hotel, not great

photos dont tell the story about the hotel. its not as good as it looks in the pictures. the room was small. swimming pool got very crowded in evening. menu didnt have any vegetarian options (i'm vegetarian).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, Ca.
Jul 13, 2011

UPGRADES IN ROOM/APPRECIATED!

We did not realize that Shelter Island was mostly Marina for storage & repair of boats. Would prefer a different location next time. Also, the exterior of Humphreys needs maximum remodel. Our room remodel was first class, & clean.....good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bali Hai excellent restaurant w/ view of city across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona CA
Aug 9, 2009

Nice family getaway

This was a nice and convenient place to stay. The hotel rooms were a little dated but tidy. It was in an area that easily accessed local restaurants and attractions. Seeing other hotels in the area and their locations I felt we made a good choice in choosing Humphreys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top