$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
496 out of 496
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timex12
Business
Indiana
Jul 17, 2012

Not real impressed

The good: The staff was very nice. The bed was very nice to sleep in. I liked the coffee, microwave, and fridge in room. The bad: Mold in the bathroom shower. Ceiling damage from water in bathroom. Bath fan did not remove the moisture from the bathroom. I had to call maintenance on the TV and it still did not work right. The A/C went out but maint. fixed it right away. It is gated parking and they charge 10.00 a night to park there. The door seemed hollow. I could hear everything outside my door. Overall, I was not impressed for what I paid for the room and will not be back. 3-star fits .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Eggery.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
April supersaver
Business
Puyallup,WA
Sep 13, 2012

September 2012 stay

We loved the lush court yard and pool. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The location was excellent. We did try the hotel restaraunt and it was very nice and the food was great as well. My only one complaint was that the room above us flooded a bathtub and a tide of water poured down into our room. The cleaning crew told us we could move but the actual staff up front gave us no discount on our room. We had a wet floor and walls to deal with for 2 days. I did not move because we needed a room next to my sister. I wish that they had been more aware of the situation and had a remedy to suit us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are great places to eat nearby and places to walk and enjoy the waterfront. Excellent location.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kk35042
Business
sweet home alabama
Oct 4, 2012

Good value - LOVED the free bicycle rentals

This is an older motel / inn with very nice tropical gardens. Lots of amenities you would not expect like the free bike rentals and lobby computers to print your boarding pass. Beds were comfortable, bathroom looked to be newly renovated. There was some dust on the ceiling fan above the bed and the tile needed to be scrubbed in the bath. We didn't get a chance to eat at the motel restaurant but ate at Brigantine's 2 times, and it was excellent. It's nice to walk to dinner and they have a great happy hour. Try their fish taco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PokesFan
Business
Cheyenne, WY
Oct 9, 2012

Weekend away from kids

We chose this hotel for it's amenities and location. The location was great for us with easy access to local attractions and nice views of the bay. Our hotel room had a ground level patio which was nice for morning coffee and evening drinks, but large overgrown foliage obscured any views we may have had of the bay and city. Still nice to have. Our room was comfortable but we had to put cushions around the door to keep out the light and muffle sounds from the nightly concerts held at the hotel. Room was newly remodeled, but still seemed a bit dark and dingy. The pool area was large and comfortable with mature landscaping. We were able to walk to nearby restaurants for dinner. Mexican place up the street was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Historical lighthouse nearby was a pleasant surprise! Short drive from the hotel, nice views of the ocean, a little historical information on early San Diego, only $5 admission to the Park.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family traveler 1
Business
Yucaipa, California
Nov 8, 2012

Nice hotel

This hotel was nice and we got a good rate that's only reason I gave it a four on value, but if I had to pay full price it would probably be below average. Location is very nice right across the street from the harbor. Only real complaint is the hotel is near the airport and an occasional airplane fly over which was very loud by the way. But it only happened twice in our three day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wacol
Business
Sebastopol, CA
Dec 29, 2012

Pretty good, but.....

My wife and I enjoyed our stay but the facility is in need of a major facelift. Staff were nice and friendly and location was good. Exterior appearance is pretty dated ('50's) " south sea island" decor without a beach. Retro anyone?? The carpeting and bedding are past due to be replaced. It would have been nice to have fresh-brewed coffee in the lobby - the stuff in the room was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1riverrat
Business
IL
Feb 7, 2013

nice location

We enjoyed our stay, as per other customer reviews, the beds do make noise, and is is the up stairs bed that will drive you crazy at 12:15 AM if you know what I mean!!! Other wise very quiet. lighting in the room was dim. Could use new carpet! Very well lit bathrooms and clean! We really liked the location walking distance to a lot of restaurants and of course to the shore line. We were there in February. Internet came and went. Staff was very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bali Hai has the best burger I have ever had!!!! The truffle black pepper sauce is wonderful, give it a shot!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grant2013
Business
LA
Feb 23, 2013

It was fine

The original price was about $200.. But thats just because of nice area around i think.other than that good place. Room was clean, lcd TV. Nice service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missgoodie
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 5, 2013

Overall Good.

This is a very nice hotel. The only thing that I did not like is the fact that the pool closed at 11 pm. The view is great and there are several activities each night/ concerts. The location is perfect and it's within 10 minutes to Downtown and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teddy boo
Business
Minnesota
Mar 25, 2013

This room could be beautiful.

The carpet is disgusting. The lamps and lampshades haven't been cleaned in a long time. This room could be great--change the carpet and clean it up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Beautiful walk on the new Marina walk to Pizza Nova. It's definitely not just pizza. Try their chicken Marsala and desserts.

Back to menu Return to top