$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
453 reviews
Resort at a Hotel Room Price

We weren't there long enough to take advantage of all the features, but fully enjoyed what we had... See full review

  • Mima Judy
  • Dec 5, 2014
Young married couple getaway

Hotel was awesome! Perfect location and wonderful staff. I will be happy to go back there and I... See full review

  • Very happy global trecker
  • Nov 30, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
azpirate
Business
arizona
May 2, 2013

Annaversary getaway

In a word, GREAT. We were only a short drive from everything that we wanted to see, Ocean beach, Midway, Harbor tour, and we found great food both at the restaurant and in the area. The hotel was wonderful with a very nice room, friendly/helpful staff, and fantastic views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pizza Nova, its very close and the food is excellant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in San Diego
Business
Spokane
May 2, 2013

Love Humphrey's Half Moon!

This was our 2nd stay. Love the beautiful, quiet, peaceful, tropical environment. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Staff is amazing, happy and helpful! Some of the rooms are a little dated but I think they're working on that. Next year, we're bringing our 4 kids and staying in a suite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No car necessary, the bus is close and takes you anywhere for $7.00 per day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarahannl
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 20, 2013

Beautiful and romantic spot!!

It is pricey but it is worth it for a relaxing and romantic vacation. The moment you step into this place, it's lile you are in Hawaii - surrounded by beautiful gardens, amazing pool area and beautiful scenery of the yachts and bay. Wonderful place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ColoradoLiraGirl
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 26, 2013

Great experience!

We enjoyed our stay! Location is great: minutes from downtown, Sea World and San Diego Zoo. The room was clean and comfortable; staff is very friendly. We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Once a year vacation
Business
Kansas, USA
Jun 3, 2013

One week vacation stay

We had a great time at Humphreys. The look and feel were great. There were several dining places with in walking distance. We felt safe walking at night. It is close to a lot of attractions. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mavisf
Business
Clovis, CA
Jun 14, 2013

Above & Beyond Expectations

We usually choose a simple, inexpensive, clean place to crash for each night. We rarely use any ammenities... that was not the case here...We were skeptical to choose this facility, but is was central to ALL the locations we wanted to visit..... Legoland, Sea World, Harbor Cruises, Balboa Park, Old town, etc.... our longest drive was Legoland, about 20 minutesaway, all by freeway. Absolutely everything else was within a 10 minute or less drive. (And alot of walkiking ammenities... a free fishing pier within a 1/2 mile, nice quite harbor beaches to play in the sun, and a CONCERT venue right on the premises. Cindi Lauper was playing the night we left ... we missed boo hoo (would have been fun to listen to while enjoying the wondeful pool, with a bar available every night and jacuzzi.) We were given a complimentary upgrade that exceeded any expectataions... we stayed in a small apartment, overlooking the pool... my Grandson LOVED!!! Two Queen beds in a seperate room, 2 closets in the hallway, the bathroom with double sinks and large shower and bath in the hall way, a dinette with Full refrigerator, stovetop and microwave AND a seperate FAMILY room with TV. seating... lots of room!!...AND we were upstairs with a balcony that could be entered from the Family room or bed room. Our 2nd day, my husband was experiencing sever lower back pain, we went to the front office for directions to the nearest emergency room, and they referred us to a doctor on call.the Dr did an over the phone diagnosis, billed our insurance, and called in a couple of prescriptions... we thought for certain our stay was done. Within 6 hours, everthing was right as rain!!! Thank-you Hotel staff for a job well done.!!! The Grounds and rooms were well kept. The service excellent.... Definately a top choice if we ever get back to the San Diego area again!!! Thank-you for a wonderful visit!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

San Diego has a "Go San Diego Card" for a reasonable fee that can be purchased for 3 to 7 days fhat allows entry to most major attractions. If you plan to visit many of the major attractions, this speeds entry and can save some money, BUT Plan wisley, because a visit to a major attration every day can be grueling!!! A down day or two to start and/or end your trip may be most rewarding.... my Grandson was exhausted (8 years old after 3 days) One of the Things my Grandson had the most fun with were the "squished penny" souvenirs. Really... fro 10 dollars in quarters and 10 pennies, they can get 20 souvenirs from all over town!!! They get to choose the style they want... put the money in and pump the crank to make that penny appear!!!! What a blast he had!!!! AND THEY TAKE UP ALMOST NO ROOM

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
byakuren
Business
San Diego, CA,
Jul 27, 2013

Great Honeymoon spot!

My husband and I recently stayed at Humphreys and the staff was great. We mentioned it was our honeymoon and they delivered chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to our room that night. The grounds were serene and tropical and the room was comfy, clean, and modern. We were close to the water and went for a morning bike ride near the hotel. The food at the hotel was also superb! We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the complementary bikes and go for a morning ride to Con Pane Bakery in nearby Pt. Loma which is about a 20 minute ride from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melody Pond
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jul 24, 2013

Absolutely Fantastic

A gem on Shelter Island! We stayed 4 days and 3 nights during Comic Con week and it was surprisingly quiet. The Hotel is very well maintained especially the lush landscape. Every inch of green space is bursting with tropical flowers and foliage. Total Hawaii vibe. Kudos to the gardening staff. Service was top notch, and everyone had a genuine smile and take time to say Hi (we dont get that here in snobby minnesota). The most incredible part was they found us a room 8 hours earlier from check in and and granted us the keys for no extra charge. That is unbelievable! Our only compaint would be that the TV in our room did not get very good service, but with the uber clean grounds, pool, hot tub, and beach across the street, we did not really need tv time. Stay Classy Humphrey's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Billy who did the free shuttle service to and from the airport had great area restaurant recommendations, and since we did not want to drive, he pointed out the bus stop which is a very short walk from the hotel. For cheap day passes, it took us anywhere we needed to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshine WA
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 1, 2013

A Dream Hotel for Empty Nesters!

This hotel is like visiting a tropical island without the travel. The lush landscape is fantastic; the patio outside the room is semi private and relaxing with a small table and two chairs - a delightful place to have meals. We had a pool side room and did not find any noise problem. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom is beautiful! There are concerts that end by 10:30. This was not a problem for us. The staff are all friendly and sincerely desire to help if you need anything – like where to meet the Trolley shuttle, etc. The room service is great; the restaurant has great food. The panna cotta is worth having a small meal to save room for dessert! Book this room on a non holiday.. The rooms cost as much as 4X more on holidays. Still temping because the hotel, room, pool area and restaurant are 5 star. We are already planning to fly into San Diego from Washington to stay a few days. The hotel has airport shuttle. What a dream way to have a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Old Town Trolley and SEAL tours. The Old Town Trolley shuttle will pick up at the hotel and return you later in the day. The Trolley tour allows a hop off hop on tour. This is a good way to see the whole area – then decide where you want to spend time. Locals say Little Italy has a lot of great food. Be sure to check out the free entertainment at the Spreckles Organ Pavilion in Balboa Park. It had 50s- 60s music the evening we were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr.Will
Business
Cincinnati
Sep 30, 2013

On the water at a bungalo in San Diego

If you want to be on the water and hear good music in San Diego, this is the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Live music in their Back Stage on the grounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top