$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
475 out of 475
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ezman
Business
long beach, ca
Sep 11, 2014

Excellent Customer Service!

We thought we were getting a suite and was put in a regular room, however, the manager was VERY helpful and worked with us on getting a better room. The room was nice and clean - and they DID have suites - we just didn't pay attention when booking online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TrudyElaine
Business
Houston, Tx
Sep 10, 2014

The Perfect Stay in San Diego!

I absolutely love Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites! The rooms are very clean. The landscaping is beautiful and provides a very serene setting. Every night there is a jazz band in the restaurant with a gorgeous view of the harbor. This is where I plan to stay next time I am in San Diego! No more searching for that perfect hotel! I found it here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cabrillo National Monument is very close and is the most breathtaking scene that one must see! It is very touching. Just beyond it is the lookout point over San Diego and the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deeserr
Business
inland empire
Sep 5, 2014

perfect

Literally not one complaint, their ricotta cheesecake is to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old60pu
Business
Bellevue, WA
Sep 2, 2014

Excellent value

We enjoyed our overnight stay with an accommodating staff and excellent location. The rooms were clean and neat, the pool area was well designed and enjoyable. Breakfast in the restaurant was good with an attentive staff. I would highly recommend this hotel for all of the above reasons

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joel stephen
Business
toledo wa
Sep 1, 2014

pool

a lot of intoxicated people dominating the hot tub and pool area made use of the facility impossible. everything else was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randall and Nicole Evans
Business
Glen Burnie
Aug 31, 2014

Best Trip Ever!!!

This was Hands Down the best stay ever!!! We will definitely be back and will continue to use you guys to book our trip again!!! It was also the best deal ever, so if we could get the same deal next year we will most definitely use you!!! $593 A PERSON IS AWESOME!!!! The 2nd plane home was really old and landed really bad, but hey who is complaining at least we made it home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit all beaches, absolutely amazing view and go skydiving!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love a good trip
Business
San Diego
Aug 27, 2014

Good, but could have been cleaner

Loved this hotel but, there was mold on the ceiling of shower. The mat that is used on the tub floor was dirty and had stains. The mini fridge lower rack was also broken. The staff was super friendly and when we had to call because of noisy neighbors security came within 5 minutes and handled the problem. Location you can't beat, great local flare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John and yvonne
Business
Canada
Aug 16, 2014

Location is perfect

No matter what we asked for, it was done without question. We were given a room upgrade at no charge, comp breakfast which was wonderful, internet use and print options. Hurricanes did not alkow akska airlines to fly into the islands and we were at a loss until this option came our way..... A complete surprise with this anazingly easy to be in hotel with excellent access to the 101 highway or I 5 southbound.... Can't say enough about the hotel and the staff helpfulness and no problem assistance. A great job by this company who know how to pick staff. They all need recognised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy to get to the hotel from the airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aussiebear Mom
Business
Vancouver, BC
Aug 15, 2014

Mellow tropical bungalows for all ages

Very polite staff, beautiful grounds, tropical feel. Great location for more of a resort getaway. Great for all ages. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a car to visit zoo. Cab ride is about $25 each way. Compact car is $40 for the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PDXStew
Business
Vancouver, WA
Aug 14, 2014

Not for young families

Humphrey's has a lot going for it, but an equally large number of things going against it. My wife and I just spent a week there with our little boy celebrating his 1st birthday. The positives of Humphrey's are, first and foremost, the location. Right on Shelter Island, awesome views of several marinas and downtown San Diego are literally a one minute walk away. I spent tons of time just sitting on a park bench watching people load and unload their boats, which was surprisingly fun and relaxing...and sometimes funny. A great pool on site, surrounded by palm trees and vegetation...very nice if you don't prefer the beach. Now the negative. Humphrey's has a large marina amphitheater that does concerts and shows almost every night of the year. While this could be a great selling feature to a certain crowd, it's far less than ideal when you have a toddler that goes to sleep by 7:30. The concerts usually start by 8 pm and believe me, you know when they start. I literally lied in bed humming along to "Sweet Home Alabama" while Lynyrd Skynyrd performed 30 yards from my door. Our boy woke up several times during the concerts and we tried our best to drown out the noise with the air conditioner. As for the room itself, it was way overdue for some TLC. The carpet had numerous stains, and the bathroom was almost comical how badly it had been let go. Several granite tiles in the shower were cracked and pulling away from the wall by at least a 1/4". All the chrome fixtures were badly faded and gross. The wallpaper in the bathroom was separating from the wall and peeling up in the corners. All the finishing touches in a hotel that tend to make them nice, had been been badly neglected. The staff was also very ordinary (particularly the house keeping and maintenance crew whom I always greeted with a "hello" and was always ignored). All in all, this place may work for a young couple for a weekend but I will not be returning with my family...too many other options that better cater to young families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Sit and watch the boats load/unload from the marina. Saw many seals swimming right among the boats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top