$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
489 out of 489
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
detroit 78
Business
detroit, mi
Nov 26, 2014

great place to cool your heels

courteous staff , nice grounds, good lunch at resturaunt, nice eating within short walk. Not the best sound proofing but worth putting up with. great place to hang around the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great mexican resturaunt at first light.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clongz
Business
San Jose
Nov 25, 2014

Decent overall

Good resort style near the waterfront. Overall slightly pricey for what you get and a lot of added fees (parking, resort fee, etc.). There was a really long wait for check-in at the reception but maybe it was just that particular day. We received a single king bed instead of the 2 queens we originally booked, so we have to get back in line at the counter to get that rectified. Overall very nice resort but maybe try somewhere more affordable if you are not using the resort facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Supanee House of Thai

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lo M.
Business
Boston, Ma
Nov 18, 2014

Tropical Oasis

Couldn't be happier with our experience there... we will DEFINITELY be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to check out Old Town San Diego. So much to see and learn... plus it was free!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
retleader
Business
Pasadena, CA
Nov 18, 2014

Not amazing, but not bad either

We went on this trip for a getaway and I wasn't impressed with the rooms, but the location had good things within walking distance and a nice decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DonovanX
Business
US
Nov 17, 2014

Something has gone wrong at Humphreys

Our family used to visit Humphreys Half Moon Inn every year going back decades. There was a gap of four years or so, but we recently got the whole family together and stayed for a week. The dynamic of the place has completely changed. Most of us agreed that we would not be returning. Last week, I was in San Diego and stayed for one night on a whim. What a huge mistake. Any previous feelings of nostalgia that I might have had are now gone. I won't nitpick the stay itself; it was simply lackluster. My real grief was with the desk staff. The staff member at check-in that evening was rude and specifically mentioned that the reservation was brokered through this service. I have no idea how that detail factored into her decision to treat me poorly, but it was particularly galling. The staff member at check-out in the morning asked if the stay went well, and when I gently expressed that I was not happy with my stay, she simply apologized and made no further effort to inquire or remedy the situation. So, while I do not normally write reviews, today I'm writing two -- one for Humphrey's, which I will not be returning to again, and the other for a new place up the coast where the staff were exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yokad
Business
Japan
Nov 14, 2014

Cost effective.

South side rooms are very close to parking area and pavement. Other than that very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew Disc Golfer
Business
Comstock Park, MI
Nov 12, 2014

5 Year Anniversary

My wife and I stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. It was also our Babymoon as we were expecting our first child. We really wanted to return to Hawaii where we Honeymooned, but needed to save some money, so I suggested San Diego. What an awesome decision! When booking trips I often rely on reviews to make decisions so I felt that I needed to contribute. We absolutely loved staying here! The rooms were nice, a little out dated, but still nice. The view of the city from our patio was amazing. The hotel was beautiful. The pool area was awesome to spend time at. You felt like you were in a tropical paradise. However, the pool side "service" was terrible. The food was not good at all and it took forever. They also have a concert venue on site that would be cool to see a show at. The location was great. You were close enough to the city and airport to reach it in minutes. It was very easy to get where we wanted to go. I went on several runs while we were here and really enjoyed the views. We loved every minute of our stay. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic get away! We would definitely stay here in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bee T
Business
New Haven, CT
Oct 22, 2014

Nice, clean and friendly

Great place. Definitely not the best place in shelter island but for the price you pay, not bad. Wi-fi connection is slow and not all areas are covered. Swimming pool is always crowded. Carpets were stained. But otherwise not a bad place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SD Local
Business
San Diego
Oct 15, 2014

Bad.....

Stayed here based on reviews I found on-line compared to other hotels in town. I had to leave my house for several days for contractor work and we decided to do the tourist things locals don't usually do for two days. The hotel charges a "resort" fee which I was aware of, but not of the $14.00 per day charge to park my car. I could not get my computer to log on to the "free" internet, when I walked to the office to ask for help, I was told to call a number and take care of it myself. I finally got loged in and the service is so slow the computer would time out before completing a load of a web site, like there's, so I could check out the parking charge. After complaning again I was offered the "high speed internet" for an addition charge. I decilined and went to Mcdonald's and used their free high- speed internet down the street. After this we started looking around the room and found a list of things wrong. The towel rack falling off the wall in the bathroom, mold in the shower tile, ceiling and paint falling down over the bathtub, torn carpet, dirt and dust you could write in on the chair rails, torn screen on the sliding door. The room is also very small and the chairs are not the most corfortable. The bed and pillows are great though. When I compained about the condition of things the desk clerk waved all the "fees' I had been charged and I just paid the room rate. I would not stay there again and the most I would rate it is 2 out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCIII
Business
san Diego
Oct 10, 2014

Great staycation

I would totally come back. The staff was great, so great they upgraded my room. Highly recommend it to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top