$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
562 reviews
Amazing

Best hotel in the area. Great rooms, awesome service and staff. The mango margaritas by the pool... See full review

  • ial86
  • Jul 12, 2014
Wonderful California Suite

Wonderful location, excellent amenities. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Humphreys Half Moon... See full review

  • Shesh 87
  • Jun 27, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay – open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Décor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 per room/night that includes:

  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free airport, Amtrak & Cruise Terminal transfers
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (562)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
562 out of 562
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bodudoc
Europe
Apr 23, 2009

Not as it was....

Very expensive for the area. Even parking has become paying, and they charge 10.00$ a night!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Sails

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hudson, WI
May 19, 2011

Lacking that special somthing

Nothing included, the cost does not even include parking. The inside of the room was ok, the outside needs to be updated. The staff was not very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

the USS midway tour and Trolly tours were good and worth the money.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy8
Canada
Dec 17, 2013

Average Hotel

Hotel was in a good location and the hotel resturant was good. The staff were super friendly and very accomodating. The room could have been cleaner. The rugs had some dust bunnies along the edges where the vacuum could'nt reach and the bathroom could have also been cleaner. The room was very humid which i would say could be due to bad ventaliation. Therefore, felt a bit stuffy in the room. Overall, it was worth the price we paid for the room and its 3 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bodudoc
Europe
Apr 23, 2009

Not as it was....

Very expensive for the area. Even parking has become paying, and they charge 10.00$ a night!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Sails

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
midstate california
Jun 19, 2009

"Not what I was hoping for..."

Guess I was expecting a lot more from this motel, like unique and maybe funky, found it just very tired and used, at least the room we had. We asked for a marina-side room and she gave us one with a close-up view of the concert seats and stage. Not very pretty! But we were only there for one night, so we didn't fight it. I would not stay there again. Be advised there is a $10 parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating at Miguel's, a short walk towards Rosecrans Blvd. Great staff, good food, variety of margaritas.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SusanAnn
Connecticut
Jul 9, 2012

Disappointing hotel and staff attitudes...

Hotel was not as nice as advertised. I called to confirm and the reservation was never made when I had booked it a week before. I was on phone with hotel until 3 am on day of travel trying to get my reservation fixed with this website. Upon checkout, hotel told me to call back for a receipt after 90 days because that is how long before they get paid by the booking website.. This should be handled by hotel with the booking website, not taken out on me, the traveler. I paid for my trip at the time of booking. Extremely rude of hotel clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
midstate california
Jun 19, 2009

"Not what I was hoping for..."

Guess I was expecting a lot more from this motel, like unique and maybe funky, found it just very tired and used, at least the room we had. We asked for a marina-side room and she gave us one with a close-up view of the concert seats and stage. Not very pretty! But we were only there for one night, so we didn't fight it. I would not stay there again. Be advised there is a $10 parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating at Miguel's, a short walk towards Rosecrans Blvd. Great staff, good food, variety of margaritas.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
We are not picky
West Coast
Jan 5, 2012

Needs maintenance and Saff require training -The Gardens, and location in San Diego are excellent

The gardens, and Shelter Island location in San Diego are excellent. However, some problems with the hotel - We reserved and paid for our ten day stay over a month in advance through a travel company but when we arrived at the hotel, they did not have our booking on file. They sorted matters out with web based travel company we booked through, but the room we recieved was dirty and smelly. There was a big fermenting terd sitting in our room's toilet when we first walked in the door. GROSS!!! We asked the front desk for another cleaner room. It was similar but without the terd. We figured we would ask for an upgrade. The front desk agreed to provide one per availablity, but for an additional $50 per night. We took it hoping it would be an improvement. The upgrade room was bigger but again, not very clean. Further, we would regularily have to ask the staff to have the room cleaned, change bedding and supply toilet paper, towels and such. They even go cheap on the hot water. The shower water temp was always tepid, not hot. One can see that this was a nice place at one time. However, The rooms are clearly in need of maintenance. Hotel Management and some Staff require proper training. And yes the walls are very thin so if you need peace and privacy you might want to select another place On the positive side The gardens are very well kept, the location is great and the staff are pleasant and polite. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
heaven1904
San Diego, CA
Mar 31, 2010

Beautiful hotel on the outside

The front desk was rude. I purchased a pool/garden view and I got a view of a wall. My "renovated" room was musty and smelled old. I requested extra towels and never got them. In the morning room service burst through the door while we were still sleeping at 8AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
heaven1904
San Diego, CA
Mar 31, 2010

Beautiful hotel on the outside

The front desk was rude. I purchased a pool/garden view and I got a view of a wall. My "renovated" room was musty and smelled old. I requested extra towels and never got them. In the morning room service burst through the door while we were still sleeping at 8AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top