$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
heaven1904
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 31, 2010

Beautiful hotel on the outside

The front desk was rude. I purchased a pool/garden view and I got a view of a wall. My "renovated" room was musty and smelled old. I requested extra towels and never got them. In the morning room service burst through the door while we were still sleeping at 8AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DonovanX
Business
US
Nov 17, 2014

Something has gone wrong at Humphreys

Our family used to visit Humphreys Half Moon Inn every year going back decades. There was a gap of four years or so, but we recently got the whole family together and stayed for a week. The dynamic of the place has completely changed. Most of us agreed that we would not be returning. Last week, I was in San Diego and stayed for one night on a whim. What a huge mistake. Any previous feelings of nostalgia that I might have had are now gone. I won't nitpick the stay itself; it was simply lackluster. My real grief was with the desk staff. The staff member at check-in that evening was rude and specifically mentioned that the reservation was brokered through this service. I have no idea how that detail factored into her decision to treat me poorly, but it was particularly galling. The staff member at check-out in the morning asked if the stay went well, and when I gently expressed that I was not happy with my stay, she simply apologized and made no further effort to inquire or remedy the situation. So, while I do not normally write reviews, today I'm writing two -- one for Humphrey's, which I will not be returning to again, and the other for a new place up the coast where the staff were exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Casey Carcel
Business
Sylmar
Apr 20, 2015

Room Like a Kick Drum

Loud even between shows, crowd gather under your deck, roadies wake you up. Jr Suite had carpet stains, sand fleas and ants. Phone rang once every 6-8 hours on it's own.. Very low value unless you 're in the band!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunset ninja
Business
La Mesa, Ca
Jan 30, 2014

stay in a newer section of resort

The thermostat did not work very well and there was no hot water later in the evening. I alerted the front desk about these problems in the morning. Our room was still cold when we returned in the evening. I had the front desk have someone from maintenance called, he finally showed up 30 mins later. He said the heating system was old and would take awhile to warm the room and only if you adjusted the thermostat up till the heat came on then adjusted it back down. The blower was noisy and you had to keep adjusting the temperature. not my best stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann L Noisey
Business
san diego
Feb 3, 2014

noisey

Rooms not sound proofed, could hear pool gate close half the night, other room snoring, door did not close automatically had to check several times, front desk not greeting as you come or went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bloop7
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 16, 2014

Should be an easy 4 with some small improvements

Spent a week there, just arrived back home yesterday. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return. The pool area was great, the room was spotless and the staff we interacted with was nice. The bed was comfortable, but the room was small and bathroom was tiny. There was a desk, but no desk chair. There were 2 very small sitting chairs in the room and a small patio with 2 chairs. Rooms could use updating, but not bad. We normally visit the hotel restaurant and use room service quite a bit. But we only did one of each here. The room service was rediculously expensive the restaurant was a bit overpriced too. Room service charged $11 for a hot dog and $20 for a burger before tip. We probably would have used room service 5 or 6 times if it was reasonable. Parking is $10/day which seems reasonable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Location is great. If the price was right, we would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Landlocked beach fan
Business
Rocjok - Lakewood,CO
Mar 24, 2014

Last min. getaway

Humphreys Inn was a good late res. Inn We stayed 4 nts and it was mostly all good. An enjoyable time for a break to lay by the pool and see the some of the sights around SD. Its a short drive from downtown yet less busy on the island. The happy hour is a great time w/ live music!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy Hour - good bands - good food!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peppermint Pattye
Business
Southern, CA
Mar 30, 2014

Location, location, location

While the location of Humphrey's was amazing and the outside of the hotel quite good for the exotic feel, the bed was not comfortable and the hidden fees, an additional $20 per day, were unwelcome. We will not stay there again, but will go back to the Bay Club which is right next door and includes free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The club was nice for happy hour and the assortment of musical acts was good.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
p12345
Business
nyc
Oct 19, 2011

good

location was good. room was clean, only one thing that i dont like was room structure, the bed was right in front of the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KrashUofA
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Easy comfort in a great location

This newly remodeled inn was a great find in San Diego. With beautiful views of the bay and nicely decorated suites, it's a hidden paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top