$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
449 reviews
Resort at a Hotel Room Price

We weren't there long enough to take advantage of all the features, but fully enjoyed what we had... See full review

  • Mima Judy
  • Dec 5, 2014
Young married couple getaway

Hotel was awesome! Perfect location and wonderful staff. I will be happy to go back there and I... See full review

  • Very happy global trecker
  • Nov 30, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (449)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the Coloradans
Business
Longmont, CO, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Central to Lots of stuff and plenty of restuarants.

The upgraded room toward center may not have been worth extra, as it made the patio not too private next to the pool and table play area. Celing webs above inside door and on ceiling. Doors don't feel totally private or sealed, with a good half inch gap at bottom and light thru sides. Overall clean, no bugs, and free bikes were great. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining nearby gave good variety, value, and quality. If you get time to rent a paddle boat in La Jolla, it was worth it. 2 hours is plenty of time, and we had dolphin and seals circling the Kayaks. 25 minute drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ61
Business
Ft Wayne, IN
Nov 20, 2011

Stay at Humphreys

Great location with park strip and sidewalk that ran along one side of the bay. The restaurant had a gorgeous view. Pool area was nice, but the hot tub had stains that made it appear dirty. The room smelled funny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thunderbird
Business
ft lauderdale fl
Nov 13, 2011

great time

we were very pleased with our stay. the location is the most ideal for proximity to all venues. we had aroom facing the bay with a terrace we were able to watch the ships come and go. the restaurants were very good and the staff couldnt be nicer. the lounge was a great diversion. all in all our trip was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

stars and stripes use 11 was the most fantastic experience 3 hour cruise on the americas cup sailboat dont miss this thrill you will not regret it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guy J
Business
Poipu, Kauai
Nov 2, 2011

just a great place and location

The rooms were quiet and updated. The location is outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bali hai is an awesome place to eat, beautiful views, great location and good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Absolute Crazy Lady
Business
Nebraska, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Excellent

We had been in San Diego five years ago for our oldest sons MCRD Marine graduation and was very unsatisfied with our hotel. This trip was for our youngest sons MCRD Marine graduation and we can not say enough about the wonderful accommodations at the Humphrey's Half Moon inn & Suites. We were treated like royalty and they did everything they could to take care of us. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KrashUofA
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Easy comfort in a great location

This newly remodeled inn was a great find in San Diego. With beautiful views of the bay and nicely decorated suites, it's a hidden paradise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kickinit
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Humphreys

The room was alright... a little small, on the ground floor facing the parking lot. The room was very clean and the biggest thing about Humphreys was the friendly greetings and willingness to serve any need you might have. The location was great, just a short walk to the Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquel A.
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Oct 28, 2011

First trip with granddaughter.

We were very pleased with this location. We were close to everything we wanted to see (Zoo, Sea World, Old Town, Hotel Coronado). The Hotel grounds were beautiful ,our 4 1/2 year old granddaughter was thrilled to see the parrots out over the pond. Our room was very spacious and clean, the microwave and small refrigerator were a nice bonus. We have but one complaint, we were not forwarned of the concerts that are held on the hotel grounds every night from 8 to 10:00 p.m. May have reconsidered staying here had we known.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaxMarie
Business
Jacksonville, Fl.
Oct 26, 2011

Best Deal Ever

So much to do at this wonderful hotel! Beautiful room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
p12345
Business
nyc
Oct 19, 2011

good

location was good. room was clean, only one thing that i dont like was room structure, the bed was right in front of the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top