$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K & K
Couples
Calimesa, CA
May 31, 2010

Relaxing Weekend

Wanted a weekend to relax and this met our expectations over and above. We rode our bikes, walked and enjoyed the water, ate at great places, swam, etc. We stayed an extra night we were having such a nice time. The hotel gave us our existing rate. Fabulous! Planning our next trip right now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring a light jacket, the sea breeze can get chilly.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Runners
Couples
Arroyo Grande, CA
May 31, 2010

Almost Like Hawaii

I loved the tropical feel of the pool area. Great walking and biking along the waterfront. It looked like a fun place to enjoy one of their many concerts. Next time.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the Persian food at Bandar in the Gaslamp District. The shopping/dining area was fun to walk, just a little strange in the evening.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USD Mom
Family
Sacramento, Ca.
May 26, 2010

Beautiful!

The grounds were beautiful. We had two amazing parrots perched just outside our room. There was also a pond with fish, turtles and ducks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jan 18, 2011

Great Place

I was only there for one night but the room was clean and I had a great view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
badgerbrian
Couples
Madison, WI
Jan 16, 2011

Beautiful location, great hotel

After spending four nights at the San Diego Hilton Bayside for work, we were looking for something a bit more bohemian, and we found it at Humphrey's. Not to knock the Hilton--it was very nice, service was good, etc., however, Humphrey's had a much needed laid-back vibe compared to the Hilton, and we had a glorious view of the San Diego city skyline from our room at Humphrey's. And the grounds of Humphrey's was very cool--lots of trees and green space. One side of our hotel there was a marina, and on the other side was the beach/skyline. Humphrey's restaurant was good as well--food was good and the service was excellent, but more formal than we expected. The kind, helpful woman at the front desk recommended a restaurant for lunch that was a short walk from the hotel, and we enjoyed it so much that we ate there twice in two days! The restaurant is Brigatine's, and they serve the best fish tacos we've ever had! Great casual restaurant, food & service outstanding. The staff at Humphrey's was very helpful and friendly--couldn't imagine better service. There were also a ton of different restaurant options within walking distance of the hotel. We really liked the room as well--we had a junior suite, which had a separate sitting area w/a large flat-screen, couch/fold-out bed, fridge, microwave, wet bar. There's plenty to do in the area if you're so inclined, but we weren't--just lots of R & R for this stay. We only had two days after our work was finished, so we took long walks along the beach/waterfront, and ate--that was pretty much it. There was a small art fair at the park across the street on the Saturday we checked in. I noticed a place to rent bikes, and as far as getting to tourist destinations from Humphrey's you would need a car, bike or taxi, but that wasn't on our agenda--I'm sure there are hotels closer to Sea World, Gaslamp Quarter (our Hilton was across the street) or Old Town, but those places weren't on our itinerary, so we really liked our hotel choice--first time staying there, but I would stay again in a heartbeat. The only disappointment we experienced was that we weren't there during concert season--Humphrey's has an outdoor concert venue right in the middle of the hotel grounds, and I'd definitely like to return and stay when a band is there that we'd like to see--otherwise, we thought Humphrey's was fantastic overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brigatine's had a varied menu, all reasonably priced, fresh seafood, great service! Tell the front desk you're going to eat there, and they just might have a free appetizer coupon for Brigatine's, which we used for an incredible plate of coconut shrimp!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Glendale, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Peaceful Tropical Haven

I needed a quiet spot to unwind, and this fit the bill perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricky Bobbie
Couples
Rangely, Colorado
Mar 13, 2011

Great Hotel & Getaway

We have travel alot in the past few months, and I have to say that my spouse and I really enjoyed the Humphreys Hotel for many reasons. The happy Hour at the hotel bar & restaurant was great, prices were great along with the food and drinks and a great view of the marina. Also the beach across the street with the fire pits, and the view of the navy ships going by. The hotel itself made us feel like we were on a tropical Island. The pool was very clean, and the landscape was immaculate. We hope to come back soon!Oh did I mention the shuttle service to and from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The local bands were great, and close to the hotel.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Journey Woman
Friends
Eureka, CA
Feb 1, 2011

Perfect Stay

Humphrey's was a great place to stay. The marina on one side and the harbor on the other. Good paths to walk. It is close to the airport, has shuttle, restaurant, bar, pool and gorgeous grounds. We walked up Shelter Is. Road and took a bus to Balboa Park, easy to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Shuttle was the key for getting to the Cruise Terminal and the airport. Easy and pleasant driver.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
minnesota
Jan 22, 2011

half moon inn

nice rooms but noisy!! could hear every word of the people next door. Hotel charges you $10 per day for parking. Staff was helpful.nice harbour walks close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

point loma seafoods was great!!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T-travel
Business
Toronto
Feb 14, 2011

Great stay near the airport

Needed just a one night stay near the airport and wanted some San Diego flavour. Humphrey's delivered. Nice grounds with pool, free internet access, free shuttle to the aiport. Clean good sized room, large tv, friendly staff. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Internet access code didn't work at first as it said the network was full, but a call to the front desk got me a new code and it worked.

Back to menu Return to top