$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
470 out of 470
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bjoyful21
Knoxville, TN
Nov 10, 2012

Fantastic place to stay!

My husband and I stayed at Humphreys for four nights and loved every minute of it. We had two meals at their adjoining restaurant, and the food was incredible. A little pricey, but worth it. Humphreys also has a stage with many seasonal concerts. We had considered buying tickets to see NeedToBreathe and ended up deciding against is... which was fine, since we could hear the concert from our room! That was money saved! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KDH11
Business
South Berwick, ME
May 9, 2012

great, inexpensive getaway

This was a perfect, inexpensive yet satisfying stay. We never ate at the half-moon restaurant due to the reviews of expensive. We did try the Bali Hai, just down the road, that was fantastic! We recommend the Calamari. There is a sushi place down the road, Umi, and that was great too. The complimentary bikes were awesome, definitely take advantage. The only bummer is you definitely needed to either drive or public transport to see the sights. We did not spend much time in our rooms, or at the resort for that matter. It definitely was perfect for what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The live music was not what we thought, not that entertaining for 20-30 year olds

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wanderlust729
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 8, 2012

Uncomfortable Beds

When I booked my stay here I was really excited about the tropical feel of the hotel and pool but in the end it wasn't really worth staying here. I felt like I was getting a deal through this site but the weather in San Diego was terrible so we didn't get to use the pool, which is what I was most excited about. On top of that the beds were so uncomfortable (stiff as a board) I could not sleep. I asked about moving rooms but was told they all had the same mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is less than a five minute drive from the airport, very convenient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris V
Business
Newfield NJ
May 7, 2012

Nice place

Was a nice place to stay and really loved the pool and restaurant. Very tropical and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Mom and Dad
Business
Portland, OR
May 6, 2012

nice for a family vacation

remind me the time in Hawaii. very nice location close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
May 1, 2012

What a great getaway

We stayed here for a wedding, which was located on Shelter Island. The hotel was in a great location. Nice, warm pool. Free bike rentals. Walking distance to nice restaurants. Free shuttle to and from the airport. I could have stayed another week! $10/night to park. Air conditioning barely worked at all. And our room was located by the parking lot where people check in, so we had a lot of noise every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Umi Sushi. Delicious. Try the Shelter Island Roll! Sit by the sushi chefs to try some of their treats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vegasvacay
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Great hotel!!

I LOVED our stay at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn. The room was very nice, upgraded, and clean. The hotel is centrally located on shelter Island which has an awesome view of Downtown San Diego. I was able to watch the sunrise--GORGEOUS. When I come back to San Diego I will definitely be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryfromCT
Business
Woodstock, CT
Apr 17, 2012

Perfect

Great location, and a clean and nice room, and the price we got was on special and really good. My only complaint is that we were charged $10/day for parking, which should have been noted when we signed up for the deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen6
Business
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Nice stay, nice value

The hotel lives up to its photos on the web: beautiful property, nice lobby, nice rooms with comfy beds. The downside for us was that you pretty much have to drive everywhere. Also, we were not there in concert season, but if you are, be aware that some of the hotel buildings directly overlook the concert venue, which I imagine is fabulous if you're a fan of who's playing and not quite so much fun if you'd like to have a quiet night or two. Humphrey's Backstage was great! No cover or reasonable cover charges while we were there, never overcrowded, decent drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bali Hai Restaurant was absolutely lovely. The description I read on Yelp, etc., mentioned Polynesian decor which immediately translated in my mind to tacky, but it wasn't at all. It's a glass and wood almost treehouse-like structure with absolutely fabulous views of the harbor and good food and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Odaa
Business
Palm Desert, CA, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Humphreys is a little slice of Hawaii

What a neat place and the location provides a million dollar view of the city lights and silhouettes. We particularly enjoyed our eveings on the patio among the plam trees overlooking the pool, too cool...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bali Hai on the bay - check it out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leny
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 13, 2012

Great staff and hotel location.

The room we initially got had a problem with the AC and the fan was not working. We were offered another room in a better location immediately, and really enjoyed our stay. Very nice property with beatiful landscaping. We will stay there again when in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All attractions were real close in San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top