$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
560 reviews
Wonderful California Suite

Wonderful location, excellent amenities. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Humphreys Half Moon... See full review

  • Shesh 87
  • Jun 27, 2014
Humphreys half moon hotel

Very nice hotel! Only problem is that they had not enough towels, and couldn't get ahold of house... See full review

  • Nparker3
  • Jun 20, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay – open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Décor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 per room/night that includes:

  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free airport, Amtrak & Cruise Terminal transfers
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (560)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
560 out of 560
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike just hanging out
Phoenix
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Escape

Truly a great place to stay. My room was exactly what I expected; updated, clean, with all the extras. The property is beautifully maintained. Lots of attention to landscape, you walk into a beautiful hidden tropical garden. Good location just minutes from everything San Diego has to offer. Close to Sea World, the zoo, the harbor. Check out some of the cool local places on and off the island most within walking distance. Humphrey's has a great rep for music, the backstage lounge is not to be missed for live music in the evenings. The staff could not be better. Definite 5 star rating for staff at back stage. The staff's dedication to guests is most impressive. Major kudos to all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

After checking out Humphryes great eats and music take a short walk to Harbor Town Pub if your there on a weekend for football and hang with the locals.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Great vacation spot

This is a great hotel in a great location. It was off the highway, surrounded by the bay so it was quiet and beautiful. The happy hour at the hotel from 5-7 with live music and half-off specials was awesome. The hotel grounds were beautifully landscaped and the pool/jacuzzi area looked amazing although we didn't get a chance to use. The hotel is 5 miles from Sea world and 8 miles from the zoo making it a great location. The room was clean and beds comfortable. We had some trouble with our air but not enough to be uncomfortable. The only improvement would be a free breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street and stroll by the bay at night. The lights of San Diego from across the bay are gorgeous!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Great vacation spot

This is a great hotel in a great location. It was off the highway, surrounded by the bay so it was quiet and beautiful. The happy hour at the hotel from 5-7 with live music and half-off specials was awesome. The hotel grounds were beautifully landscaped and the pool/jacuzzi area looked amazing although we didn't get a chance to use. The hotel is 5 miles from Sea world and 8 miles from the zoo making it a great location. The room was clean and beds comfortable. We had some trouble with our air but not enough to be uncomfortable. The only improvement would be a free breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street and stroll by the bay at night. The lights of San Diego from across the bay are gorgeous!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa B
Greenville, SC, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Exotic feel getaway

The SD Bay was only steps away. We loved just enjoying the evenings walking by the bay and taking in the beautiful scenery of downtown SD. The entertainment on Friday night is wonderful. We didn't need to buy tickets, we just sat in the chairs outside our room and enjoyed the music. One night SD had a black out and the hotel staff provided peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and drinks by the pool. A generator might be good to have on hand to preserve food in case this happens again and lasts longer than one night. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley the first day. You learn a lot about SD in a day. It helps you plan out what you may want to do in the time you have there.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa B
Greenville, SC, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Exotic feel getaway

The SD Bay was only steps away. We loved just enjoying the evenings walking by the bay and taking in the beautiful scenery of downtown SD. The entertainment on Friday night is wonderful. We didn't need to buy tickets, we just sat in the chairs outside our room and enjoyed the music. One night SD had a black out and the hotel staff provided peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and drinks by the pool. A generator might be good to have on hand to preserve food in case this happens again and lasts longer than one night. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley the first day. You learn a lot about SD in a day. It helps you plan out what you may want to do in the time you have there.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA native.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Mom and Dad visiting daughter in OB

Enjoyed our visit. Themed tropical with spa-like bath and plush bedding. $10/nite parking fee in easy, semi-secure lot. Free wifi. Poolside, second floor room was quiet except Saturday night when downstairs guests talked til 1:30am on their patio - little to no soundproofing. We experienced a San Diego blackout for 9+ hrs. Hotel supplied us with 3 votive candles and pbj sandwiches and bottled water poolside. Be advised that Friday nights in Summer the hotel hosts large concert events but they end at 10:30pm or so. Kinda fun actually to watch from our room a bit. Needed to go to front desk for checkout - receipt not left under door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ski Three
Seattle, WA, USA area
Sep 12, 2011

Overall good but not great.

We were in the power black out so hurt our overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The dining was good at the hotel but not too many good restaurants around it.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA native.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Mom and Dad visiting daughter in OB

Enjoyed our visit. Themed tropical with spa-like bath and plush bedding. $10/nite parking fee in easy, semi-secure lot. Free wifi. Poolside, second floor room was quiet except Saturday night when downstairs guests talked til 1:30am on their patio - little to no soundproofing. We experienced a San Diego blackout for 9+ hrs. Hotel supplied us with 3 votive candles and pbj sandwiches and bottled water poolside. Be advised that Friday nights in Summer the hotel hosts large concert events but they end at 10:30pm or so. Kinda fun actually to watch from our room a bit. Needed to go to front desk for checkout - receipt not left under door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Bird
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Dropping Daughter off at College

I wanted a nice place to stay before we dropped my daughter off at SDSU. The Humphries is a great location and had very friendly staff. We even got to hear a concert from the pool area. We also did some sightseeing and it wasn't too far from the college.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K Bird
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Dropping Daughter off at College

I wanted a nice place to stay before we dropped my daughter off at SDSU. The Humphries is a great location and had very friendly staff. We even got to hear a concert from the pool area. We also did some sightseeing and it wasn't too far from the college.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ski Three
Seattle, WA, USA area
Sep 12, 2011

Overall good but not great.

We were in the power black out so hurt our overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The dining was good at the hotel but not too many good restaurants around it.

Back to menu Return to top