$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
490 out of 490
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twiglet26
Business
New York, New York
Aug 1, 2012

San Diego is my sweetheart <3

This visit was my very first one for San Diego and I have to say....I am in love! How could I not be after staying on Shelter Island at the Humphreys Moon Inn & Suites....what a beautiful hotel! What a perfect & gorgeous location in San Diego! I felt like I was back in Hawaii! My room was pristine and soooo comfortable. I even had a view of the downtown San Diego skyline! Where else could I listen to a live Yanni concert whilst sitting in the hot tub drinking a cocktail! PERFECTION! All of the staff I came in contact with were super nice and very helpful....I will definitely be back to this romantic place next trip! Thank you Humphreys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss out on the happy hour in the Humphreys music lounge at sunset! It overlooks the gorgeous San Diego harbor!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ricksters
Business
San Diego, California
Jul 30, 2012

Birthday Getaway

Very nice and comfortable! Perfect location..... Very family friendly and awesome pool and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel has live bands and concerts on-site

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gatorman
Business
Gainesville, GA, USA
Jul 29, 2012

An enjoyable getaway for wife and me

Must admit, I was a little apprehensive about what we would find once we got to Humphreys. No problem. A fine place. We upgraded our room to a second floor room which gave us a great view of downtown San Diego and boats of all sizes in the bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Point Blank is a small bar/restaurant between Humphreys and Rosecrans Dr. Lots of good food at a reasonable price. We ate there several times. Also, high class musical entertainment at Humphreys (Lyle Lovett, Allison Kraus, Yanni). I would recommend you check before your visit to get the schedule and tickets. A two night Cheryl Crow concert during our stay was sold out before we got there and became aware of the concert series.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smilin Dave
Business
Chicago
Jul 28, 2012

Charming place, perfect location

Perfect base for a family trip to San Diego. The zoo, Seaworld, La Jolla, Midway, Cabrillo, Coronado, downtown; most are within 10-15 minutes (closer to 30 for La Jolla or Coronado) and yet on Shelter Island you feel like you're a million miles from it all. The hotel is a little dated, but impeccably clean and it really reminds you of an old school tropical resort. It costed very little to upgrade to a Marina View Suite and it was a very spacious room with a separate bedroom so the teenagers could sleep in while mom and dad enjoy the morning. The pool is open until 11pm which is great, but another reason to get a marina view iso pool view if you like a little more seclusion and privacy. The pool is huge and beautiful (although at night or early in the am when it gets cooler, you would like the water a couple clicks warmer) and there are pretty places to walk around shelter island. Last night, we floated in the pool and listened to Sheryl Crow playing a concert 100 feet away; very nice! Brunch at their restaurant, while pricey, was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a good breakfast on the cheap ('cause there is more than enough to spend $ on in San Diego...) walk back on Shelter Island Drive to Marvelous Muffins. The muffins and donuts are good, and the spinach/cheese or ham/cheese croissants are really great.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ce Mac
Business
San Diego, California
Jul 25, 2012

Wonderful family vacation spot

My family and I (6) stayed at the Humphrey's Half Moon Inn for our July vacation. The rooms were gorgeous with high oak wood ceilings, ceiling fans, and the windows had beautiful oak shudders. The staff was very professonal and friendly and made us feel like we were staying at an hotel on a tropical island. We enjoyed the beautiful large pool, bike riding around the bay, table tennis, and playing golf. We had the time of our lives those 5 days and we look forward to going back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pomodoro: A restuarant not far from the Humphreys that has the best italian food we had ever eaten!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bmicah
Business
las vegas
Jul 22, 2012

Great Family gateaway

cozy, family friendly, nice cxoncert venue,that almost look like gilligan island. Great pool.Restaurant is good,but a little pricey. Need a car if you wanna go to the beaches.over all a lovely place. I'd not mind booking this hotel again. It is also close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean the meat cutter
Business
oklahoma
Jul 20, 2012

great hotel

First time in San Diego and I feel the hotel was very good value for the money. The island did not have a very good beach area but nice beaches were not very far away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the beaches were great.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Timex12
Business
Indiana
Jul 17, 2012

Not real impressed

The good: The staff was very nice. The bed was very nice to sleep in. I liked the coffee, microwave, and fridge in room. The bad: Mold in the bathroom shower. Ceiling damage from water in bathroom. Bath fan did not remove the moisture from the bathroom. I had to call maintenance on the TV and it still did not work right. The A/C went out but maint. fixed it right away. It is gated parking and they charge 10.00 a night to park there. The door seemed hollow. I could hear everything outside my door. Overall, I was not impressed for what I paid for the room and will not be back. 3-star fits .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at the Eggery.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newly Engaged Couple
Business
Garland, Texas
Jul 16, 2012

Fantastic Weekend Vacation

My fiance and I stayed here for the comic-con 2012 weekend. We enjoyed our stay very much. Couldn't get any better than this. Views of the marina, the pool at night looked amazing, room service was great, the staff were really nice. It was just an amazing weekend away from home. We will definitely come back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lex301
Business
Humphrey
Jul 14, 2012

Hotel review

The rooms need updating but hotel was very accommodating to all our needs .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top