$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
453 reviews
Resort at a Hotel Room Price

We weren't there long enough to take advantage of all the features, but fully enjoyed what we had... See full review

  • Mima Judy
  • Dec 5, 2014
Young married couple getaway

Hotel was awesome! Perfect location and wonderful staff. I will be happy to go back there and I... See full review

  • Very happy global trecker
  • Nov 30, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark from Millbrook
Business
Millbrook, NY
Sep 25, 2012

great location

We came from New York for a wedding at the Bali Hi so location on Shelter Island was the place to be. I think we had the best hotel in the area, but I'm only comparing it to the Island Palms, where others stayed, and it's much better, although was more expensive. suite was $220 inc tax, with airfare.. thought it was a good price.. Big rooms, full kitchen, but would prefer to have stayed in a harbor view room.. The room was dark, but quite comfortable.. 2- 42" flat screen tv's.. nice bath, double sinks, granite countertops, 2 comfortable double beds, balcony looking onto the pool area, overgrown plants.. Nice pool BTW, jacuzzi, views of the harbor if not from your room, you can walk over to a sitting area nearby... You could try to catch a first rate concert by the bay on the grounds, it looked smallish, with chairs cramped tightly together.. imagine you could get a room overlooking the concert venue, that would be amazing.. especially if the act was right.. good airport shuttle service, which is only 5-7 min away.. comp beach cruiser bicycles, around the Island, and a very pleasant way to see it. The rooms show some age, it's not contemporary, but fairly well kept, considering .. do get a room on the top floor, and like I said facing the harbor.. on the harbor side you could go for a bottom floor room, either way, you have balconys, or a porch leading out to the bay.. which is only good for viewing, since you cant walk out onto the docks.. don't get a ground floor room on the pool side. Breakfast is very good in the dining room, but service is very slow. Food in the bar, is subpar, but the entertainment was decent cover band stuff.. we did not eat in the dining room for dinner..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Island Palms 2 hotels down has half price happy hour eats, very good, and you can sit outside on a p[atio deck, which Humphrey's does not have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renee K.
Business
Washington
Sep 25, 2012

A beautiful and tropical oasis!!

The hotel is on shelter island. Shelter island is very laid back compared to downtown San Diego. You can walk to numerous restaurants and the warf from the hotel. It was the ideal location. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the poolside room was gorgeous. We sat on the patio the majority of the time. My only draw back we the bathrooms needed a little extra attention to the floors and tile grout. Other than that, it was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Humphrey's had great food and the Best western next door had a great veiw and tasty food too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Dan
Business
Paramus, New Jersey
Sep 18, 2012

Great Inn & Suites!

Stayed here for 9 days/8 nights and the overall stay was great. Don't have nothing bad to say. The only negative comment that I could think of is that if your room is near the concert stage, well then you could get annoyed with the excessive noise and so on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
April supersaver
Business
Puyallup,WA
Sep 13, 2012

September 2012 stay

We loved the lush court yard and pool. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The location was excellent. We did try the hotel restaraunt and it was very nice and the food was great as well. My only one complaint was that the room above us flooded a bathtub and a tide of water poured down into our room. The cleaning crew told us we could move but the actual staff up front gave us no discount on our room. We had a wet floor and walls to deal with for 2 days. I did not move because we needed a room next to my sister. I wish that they had been more aware of the situation and had a remedy to suit us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are great places to eat nearby and places to walk and enjoy the waterfront. Excellent location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy travelerrr
Business
Monterey ca
Sep 11, 2012

Great hotel, great views

The staff at humphreys half moon inn and suites was very nice and friendly . We enjoyed our stay very much. Nice swimming area and grounds, super clean. We would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Fashion valley was nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherry Super Traveler
Business
Batavia, Illinois
Sep 4, 2012

Would stay again!

We stayed in a mini suite which was perfect: two televisions, comfy bed, adequate living area give us more space. The grounds, pool, views are awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out the lounge during Happy Hour and after! They have live entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marshall's
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Sep 2, 2012

Perfect!!

We had a great time! Perfect, beautiful hotel with a great view! *Wish the gym was bigger though..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant was really good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxed Jim
Business
San Diego
Sep 1, 2012

Awesome Location! Close to everything!

Hotel was great! We Loved the Location, Concert every Night!, We could Lay by the pool and enjoy the Music! Room was excellent and very private! My Teenage Kids Loved it! If your going to San Diego this is the Place to Stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pomodora Italian Restaurant is a short walk, With Homemade Italian Dishes, Deserts, very reasonably priced. Best Italian Food ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oldest Sister PKS
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Aug 23, 2012

Tropical Getaway in San Diego

The Good: We were at the hotel for a girls getaway and had a great time. What we enjoyed best was the location at the marina, and our marina view room; the pool and grounds were AWESOME - very tropical, lush and well cared for. Loved the pool area and bar and availability of food service at the pool. I especially loved the Scallop and Shrimp salad - and had it several times during my stay! Bartenders - especially Kevin - were great! There were several concerts and we were able to listen to some excellent musical events while we were there. The hotel location was EXCELLENT for all we wanted to do in San Diego, and it was very close to the airport, yet we were not disturbed by any airport noise . There were plenty of restaurants, etc., close by. Room Service staff was friendly and fast. The Not-So-Good: Most of the staff was wonderful except during our check-in. We had requested an upgrade and were specific about our needs. Although we were told there was no guarantee, we were not told that it would be impossible to meet our request at all. The front desk staff were well, a bit sarcastic and we found that unpleasant at that point, especially after traveling all day. When we suggested that the view was not what we expected as we didn't want a view of the parking lot and road, we were told, "Don't look down." At any rate, we were able to get our original smaller room which was adequate but small - but with an EXCELLENT view. Fortunately, that was our only bad experience with the front desk - the other interactions were positive and pleasant. We also found the cleaning staff were so-so. Not sure if it was their fault or management. On one day of our stay, our room was not made up by 5 p.m. No clean towels or even toilet paper! We were told that the staff had until 6 p.m. to get to rooms. We found that coffee mugs or glasses were not replaced, and had to request extra towels more than once. Overall, would recommend this hotel, and would travel there again. Now I know what questions to ask when booking to avoid disappointment when checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yuki1225
Business
Osaka,Japan
Aug 16, 2012

Great view!!

This hotel is very great view. plants, ocean very natural comfortable. and they have concert hall . you can go concert in the hotel. and If you haven't chicket,you can listen concert for free!! in hotel pole!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top