$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
453 reviews
Resort at a Hotel Room Price

We weren't there long enough to take advantage of all the features, but fully enjoyed what we had... See full review

  • Mima Judy
  • Dec 5, 2014
Young married couple getaway

Hotel was awesome! Perfect location and wonderful staff. I will be happy to go back there and I... See full review

  • Very happy global trecker
  • Nov 30, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WI 2 CA
Business
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Nov 18, 2012

Easy, relaxing, beautiful vacation.

This hotel was wonderful. The hotel was beautiful, our room was clean and comfortable (free WiFi, too), the staff was VERY friendly and helpful, and the location was the best part - Shelter Island (really a peninsula) is quieter and slower but very close to so many attractions in San Diego. They even offered free bicycle use, which was awesome, though we never did get around to using them (everything we wanted to visit required driving). Prior to this, we had gone to DisneyWorld for 6 years in a row, as a work conference was held there every year, so we were isolated from having to make travel arrangements: Disney Magic Express bus to/from the airport, stayed in a hotel on park grounds, etc. That was always so easy that I had some trepidation booking this trip. Any fears were unfounded. This vacation was very easy, and that is due to this wonderful hotel and the friendly people we encountered here, and virtually everywhere in San Diego. We didn't want to go home when the trip was over. We stayed for a week and visited Disneyland (fun, but it doesn't compare to DisneyWorld), the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Coronado, Silver Strand Beach, Laguna Beach, Old Town, La Jolla, a bunch of malls (I have a 13-year old daughter), the Fender guitar factory in Corona, and lots of restaurants and beaches. I think our best times were just driving up Highway 1, enjoying the scenery and stopping at beaches and little shops along the way. As far as "cons," our hotel room was small (we booked one of the basic rooms), and we could hear people in other rooms easily - I could hear someone in another room's phone conversation. Also, we had plans to tour LA while we were in CA, but those didn't pan out so well, largely because the congested drive from SD to LA takes so much time. Also, for you shoppers, don't expect bargains. At least we found none. The view at the hotel restaurant was spectacular, but the food was just ok. Our dining experiences varied radically, since we didn't know where to go, but it was never boring, and that's a good thing! Oh yeah, it cost $10/day to park our rental car in the hotel parking lot. Overall, as small-town Midwesterners whose prior vacation experiences have largely been hand-held, Disney vacations, this was very easy. We booked the whole thing through Orb*** - flights, room, rental car, all for one price. We flew into SD, took an airport shuttle to the rental car facility, picked up our car (little orange Kia Soul, which I thought was appropriately little, sporty/quirky and fun) and followed their directions to our hotel, and for the rest of the week, we just bummed around, using my iPhone as a GPS, seeing sights and relaxing. I can't think of an easier, more enjoyable way for a newcomer to visit San Diego than this. We'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the attractions (Disney, SeaWorld, SD Zoo, LegoLand, etc.). CA (driving up the coast, checking out the shops and beaches, swimming in the ocean, etc.) is so much more fun - and it's cheaper! Both my 13-year old daughter and I felt the most fun we had was just bumming around, checking out this beautiful state and so many interesting, friendly people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet Pops
Business
Southfield,Mi
Nov 13, 2012

god romantic setting

Second visit.We were able to check in early.Room was clean and comfortable.The club was closed due to renovations I missed that. Excellent location,many activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jimmys famous tavern, great staff,food portions,price and tastes good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bjoyful21
Business
Knoxville, TN
Nov 10, 2012

Fantastic place to stay!

My husband and I stayed at Humphreys for four nights and loved every minute of it. We had two meals at their adjoining restaurant, and the food was incredible. A little pricey, but worth it. Humphreys also has a stage with many seasonal concerts. We had considered buying tickets to see NeedToBreathe and ended up deciding against is... which was fine, since we could hear the concert from our room! That was money saved! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family traveler 1
Business
Yucaipa, California
Nov 8, 2012

Nice hotel

This hotel was nice and we got a good rate that's only reason I gave it a four on value, but if I had to pay full price it would probably be below average. Location is very nice right across the street from the harbor. Only real complaint is the hotel is near the airport and an occasional airplane fly over which was very loud by the way. But it only happened twice in our three day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Me and Rea vacation
Business
Ventura
Nov 3, 2012

Humphrey's Half Moon

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and professional front desk staff. The location of the Inn suited us perfectly with the harbor promenade adjacent to the hotel for our morning jog. We stayed in downtown San Diego on prior trips and found it a little too congested and noisy. There are several dining establishments within walking distance of Humphreys. The room was clean although a little dated. We will definitely stay at Humphreys again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at the Red Sail for breakfast. Good food, Good service, Good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grey Ghost
Business
Gilbert, Arizona
Nov 3, 2012

Very pleased!

I was a little apprehensive of Humphreys because I know it has been around a long time. We had eaten in the restaurant in the past and were very happy it but never stayed in the rooms. Humphreys exceeded our expectations! It was a super value, even with a concert playing right next to our room the second night. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is without a doubt the main attraction of Humphreys. Close to just about anywhere you need to go in San Diego and a beach right across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to one of the top fish restaurants in San Diego... Point Loma Seafood!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel n mike the travelers
Business
San Diego
Nov 1, 2012

GREAT TIME

San Diego an Half Moon was great. The guy that picked us up at the airport was very nice. The luxury Junior suite was nice an you can see the bay across the street from our room. A lot of nice restaurants in the area in walking distance. As soon as they remodel the other suites we will be back. Hopefully we can catch a concert also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike just hanging out
Business
Phoenix
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Escape

Truly a great place to stay. My room was exactly what I expected; updated, clean, with all the extras. The property is beautifully maintained. Lots of attention to landscape, you walk into a beautiful hidden tropical garden. Good location just minutes from everything San Diego has to offer. Close to Sea World, the zoo, the harbor. Check out some of the cool local places on and off the island most within walking distance. Humphrey's has a great rep for music, the backstage lounge is not to be missed for live music in the evenings. The staff could not be better. Definite 5 star rating for staff at back stage. The staff's dedication to guests is most impressive. Major kudos to all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

After checking out Humphryes great eats and music take a short walk to Harbor Town Pub if your there on a weekend for football and hang with the locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PokesFan
Business
Cheyenne, WY
Oct 9, 2012

Weekend away from kids

We chose this hotel for it's amenities and location. The location was great for us with easy access to local attractions and nice views of the bay. Our hotel room had a ground level patio which was nice for morning coffee and evening drinks, but large overgrown foliage obscured any views we may have had of the bay and city. Still nice to have. Our room was comfortable but we had to put cushions around the door to keep out the light and muffle sounds from the nightly concerts held at the hotel. Room was newly remodeled, but still seemed a bit dark and dingy. The pool area was large and comfortable with mature landscaping. We were able to walk to nearby restaurants for dinner. Mexican place up the street was superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Historical lighthouse nearby was a pleasant surprise! Short drive from the hotel, nice views of the ocean, a little historical information on early San Diego, only $5 admission to the Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kk35042
Business
sweet home alabama
Oct 4, 2012

Good value - LOVED the free bicycle rentals

This is an older motel / inn with very nice tropical gardens. Lots of amenities you would not expect like the free bike rentals and lobby computers to print your boarding pass. Beds were comfortable, bathroom looked to be newly renovated. There was some dust on the ceiling fan above the bed and the tile needed to be scrubbed in the bath. We didn't get a chance to eat at the motel restaurant but ate at Brigantine's 2 times, and it was excellent. It's nice to walk to dinner and they have a great happy hour. Try their fish taco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top