$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
446 reviews
Great Experience

Great experience and location. Room was great and very clean. See full review

  • TiLee
  • Aug 10, 2014
Amazing

Best hotel in the area. Great rooms, awesome service and staff. The mango margaritas by the pool... See full review

  • ial86
  • Jul 12, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (446)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
446 out of 446
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike just hanging out
Phoenix
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Escape

Truly a great place to stay. My room was exactly what I expected; updated, clean, with all the extras. The property is beautifully maintained. Lots of attention to landscape, you walk into a beautiful hidden tropical garden. Good location just minutes from everything San Diego has to offer. Close to Sea World, the zoo, the harbor. Check out some of the cool local places on and off the island most within walking distance. Humphrey's has a great rep for music, the backstage lounge is not to be missed for live music in the evenings. The staff could not be better. Definite 5 star rating for staff at back stage. The staff's dedication to guests is most impressive. Major kudos to all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

After checking out Humphryes great eats and music take a short walk to Harbor Town Pub if your there on a weekend for football and hang with the locals.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vincent
Not Provided
May 5, 2009

Great location-friendly helpful

Great location-friendly helpful staff-great experience-love to stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 21, 2009

Great place to stay. Atmosphere

Great place to stay. Atmosphere makes you feel like your away from it all compared to hotel circle or across the bay in downtown San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie
Not Provided
May 27, 2009

This was a perfect place for our

This was a perfect place for our stay in San Diego. Our son graduated from college and we had family come in so we rented two junior suites (next to each other over looking the bay) PERFECT. The room set up is great as you can have conversation in the front of the room and if someone wants to go lay down that is totally do able. The grounds are well kept and the walking path around the water was wonderful. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and will definately stay there again in future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 1, 2009

A wonderful stay and a sad bac

A wonderful stay and a sad back-home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corrine
Not Provided
Sep 25, 2009

We have recently returned home

We have recently returned home having spent 3 weeks touring around in the USA. We stayed at the Humphrey's Half Moon Inn in San Diego. Lovely hotel, beautiful setting. Very comfortable rooms and very comfortable beds. Lovely big swimming pool. We enjoyed a relaxing few days here. We were on a room only basis however there are a few eating places within walking distance. It is a little way out. I would recommend hiring a car if you are staying longer than a few days. We used a taxi to get to Sea World and Mission beach. The reception staff could do with perhaps offering a friendly smile on arrival. The hotel has a courtesy bus to and from the airport. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego and would stay there again should I visit San Diego in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elizabeth
Not Provided
Sep 4, 2009

The woman at the front desk was

The woman at the front desk was quite unfriendly when we were checking in. Otherwise, the stay was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan
Not Provided
Aug 10, 2009

Great size suites and wonderful

Great size suites and wonderful setting and facilities. Grounds and pool are wonderful - real resort feel. Kitchen and some facilities looking a bit "tired" - but all work. Excellent food in the restaurant, and good service all round. Only problem was a lot of noise from neighbouring suite late on our last night - not the hotel's fault though. Fantastic hot deal on price from [website].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 23, 2009

Great hotel, especially for fa

Great hotel, especially for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandon
Not Provided
Jun 21, 2009

We had a great time! The room

We had a great time! The room was spotless and the food was wonderful!! We plan on going back. We do recommend asking for a recently renovated room though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Absolute Crazy Lady
Nebraska, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Excellent

We had been in San Diego five years ago for our oldest sons MCRD Marine graduation and was very unsatisfied with our hotel. This trip was for our youngest sons MCRD Marine graduation and we can not say enough about the wonderful accommodations at the Humphrey's Half Moon inn & Suites. We were treated like royalty and they did everything they could to take care of us. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search