$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
464 reviews
Best hotel ever!

This was by far the nicest place we have ever stayed and we will return. See full review

  • Oceanlover12
  • Feb 20, 2015
great family get a way

Hotel staff were great the room was very comfortable and clean. The beds were so comfortable it was... See full review

  • Robert C.
  • Feb 12, 2015
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (464)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
464 out of 464
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike just hanging out
Phoenix
Oct 23, 2012

Wonderful Escape

Truly a great place to stay. My room was exactly what I expected; updated, clean, with all the extras. The property is beautifully maintained. Lots of attention to landscape, you walk into a beautiful hidden tropical garden. Good location just minutes from everything San Diego has to offer. Close to Sea World, the zoo, the harbor. Check out some of the cool local places on and off the island most within walking distance. Humphrey's has a great rep for music, the backstage lounge is not to be missed for live music in the evenings. The staff could not be better. Definite 5 star rating for staff at back stage. The staff's dedication to guests is most impressive. Major kudos to all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

After checking out Humphryes great eats and music take a short walk to Harbor Town Pub if your there on a weekend for football and hang with the locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Odaa
Business
Palm Desert, CA, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Humphreys is a little slice of Hawaii

What a neat place and the location provides a million dollar view of the city lights and silhouettes. We particularly enjoyed our eveings on the patio among the plam trees overlooking the pool, too cool...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bali Hai on the bay - check it out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vegasvacay
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Great hotel!!

I LOVED our stay at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn. The room was very nice, upgraded, and clean. The hotel is centrally located on shelter Island which has an awesome view of Downtown San Diego. I was able to watch the sunrise--GORGEOUS. When I come back to San Diego I will definitely be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sid the Squid
Business
Santa Cruz, Ca.
May 26, 2012

Loved It!!!

This was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. The suite was huge and the gardens were gorgeous! We will definitely be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good restaurants nearby within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stasica
Business
Westchester, NY
Jul 12, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

Beautiful Hotel and our package included vouchers for dining in the restaurant where the food was delicious and view was spectacular! Really great value here! You'll be happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newly Engaged Couple
Business
Garland, Texas
Jul 16, 2012

Fantastic Weekend Vacation

My fiance and I stayed here for the comic-con 2012 weekend. We enjoyed our stay very much. Couldn't get any better than this. Views of the marina, the pool at night looked amazing, room service was great, the staff were really nice. It was just an amazing weekend away from home. We will definitely come back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smilin Dave
Business
Chicago
Jul 28, 2012

Charming place, perfect location

Perfect base for a family trip to San Diego. The zoo, Seaworld, La Jolla, Midway, Cabrillo, Coronado, downtown; most are within 10-15 minutes (closer to 30 for La Jolla or Coronado) and yet on Shelter Island you feel like you're a million miles from it all. The hotel is a little dated, but impeccably clean and it really reminds you of an old school tropical resort. It costed very little to upgrade to a Marina View Suite and it was a very spacious room with a separate bedroom so the teenagers could sleep in while mom and dad enjoy the morning. The pool is open until 11pm which is great, but another reason to get a marina view iso pool view if you like a little more seclusion and privacy. The pool is huge and beautiful (although at night or early in the am when it gets cooler, you would like the water a couple clicks warmer) and there are pretty places to walk around shelter island. Last night, we floated in the pool and listened to Sheryl Crow playing a concert 100 feet away; very nice! Brunch at their restaurant, while pricey, was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a good breakfast on the cheap ('cause there is more than enough to spend $ on in San Diego...) walk back on Shelter Island Drive to Marvelous Muffins. The muffins and donuts are good, and the spinach/cheese or ham/cheese croissants are really great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ricksters
Business
San Diego, California
Jul 30, 2012

Birthday Getaway

Very nice and comfortable! Perfect location..... Very family friendly and awesome pool and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel has live bands and concerts on-site

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twiglet26
Business
New York, New York
Aug 1, 2012

San Diego is my sweetheart <3

This visit was my very first one for San Diego and I have to say....I am in love! How could I not be after staying on Shelter Island at the Humphreys Moon Inn & Suites....what a beautiful hotel! What a perfect & gorgeous location in San Diego! I felt like I was back in Hawaii! My room was pristine and soooo comfortable. I even had a view of the downtown San Diego skyline! Where else could I listen to a live Yanni concert whilst sitting in the hot tub drinking a cocktail! PERFECTION! All of the staff I came in contact with were super nice and very helpful....I will definitely be back to this romantic place next trip! Thank you Humphreys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss out on the happy hour in the Humphreys music lounge at sunset! It overlooks the gorgeous San Diego harbor!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxed Jim
Business
San Diego
Sep 1, 2012

Awesome Location! Close to everything!

Hotel was great! We Loved the Location, Concert every Night!, We could Lay by the pool and enjoy the Music! Room was excellent and very private! My Teenage Kids Loved it! If your going to San Diego this is the Place to Stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pomodora Italian Restaurant is a short walk, With Homemade Italian Dishes, Deserts, very reasonably priced. Best Italian Food ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherry Super Traveler
Business
Batavia, Illinois
Sep 4, 2012

Would stay again!

We stayed in a mini suite which was perfect: two televisions, comfy bed, adequate living area give us more space. The grounds, pool, views are awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out the lounge during Happy Hour and after! They have live entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top