$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
438 reviews
Beautiful !!!!!!

What a wonderful experience! The staff went above and beyond, the tropical room was fabulous, right... See full review

  • Oceanlover12
  • Sep 20, 2014
Incredible getaway

From the moment we arrived at the hotel it was a very special experience. The staff was very... See full review

  • Bearra
  • Sep 17, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (438)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
438 out of 438
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thunderbird
Business
ft lauderdale fl
Nov 13, 2011

great time

we were very pleased with our stay. the location is the most ideal for proximity to all venues. we had aroom facing the bay with a terrace we were able to watch the ships come and go. the restaurants were very good and the staff couldnt be nicer. the lounge was a great diversion. all in all our trip was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

stars and stripes use 11 was the most fantastic experience 3 hour cruise on the americas cup sailboat dont miss this thrill you will not regret it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JodieB
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 6, 2011

Fabulous Hotel

The hotel is lovely - right across the street from the bay and in front of a yacht marina. The rooms are very nice, and the staff is wonderful. The pool and spa are great. All around a wonderful hotel. We will definitely stay there again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

This hotel has these great outdoor concerts all year long. A lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A and J
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Tropical Paradise

Have been coming to Humphreys for years for their concerts. First time as a hotel guest. Good sized room, clean, quiet. Large pool and hot tub. I work out - fitness room small but adequate to get the job done with a great view of the marina. Close to some great local dining and easy access to all of San Diego. Avoid the hustle and crowds of being in the heart of the city or tourist zones - stay at Humphreys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Local favorite - Old Venice Italian Restaurant. Around the corner from the hotel. Menu includes old favorites and their own dishes. Big portions so come hungry. Solid wine list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Addicted to Travel
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jan 1, 2012

Great vacation spot!

The staff was friendly and welcoming. Before I arrived, I called to make sure they knew I would be arriving late, and the girl who answered the phone was extremely friendly and helpful. Room service was prompt, and all staff I came in contact with went out of their way to help me with whatever I needed. The room was clean and comfortable. I will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seaport Village, the Gaslamp District, Balboa Park and Coronado Island are all within short driving distance. You must check them out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midwest Explorers
Business
Kansas, USA
Jan 15, 2012

October Getaway to San Diego

Our family of 4 stayed here during our trip to San Diego, it was great! We stayed in the Oversized Garden View Suite and really enjoyed the opportunity to have the kitchen and make breakfast and snacks everyday. During our stay there were two different concerts but we didn't find they interfered with our enjoyment of the facility. Our boys really enjoyed the pool and we enjoyed the jacuzzi. We also enjoyed the coy ponds and two macaws. The grounds are beautifuly kept and we look forward to a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Would highly recommend the USS Midway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jo BlackHorse
Business
Newcomb, NM 87455, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Made my Bussiness Trip 2x's BETTER!

It's like your own little piece of paradise, the area is beautiful, the people are so willing to help you with anything, very clean! I am recommending this place to all my family members and friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The bay is right here on location, the boats, walk ways and paths are gorgeous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Qasidah
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Excellent hotel

Most of all, the hotel was very beautifully designed with strong tropical feature, but it was also very modern. I could see that they tried to make every corner of the hotel -rooms, garden, architectures, etc.- look as exotic as possible. The room was clean and their daily cleaning service was satisfying, too. The staffs were friendly and helpful. There is a beautiful swimming pool (including a hot pool). They also provided late-night band concert and Jazz night. You need to pay $10 per night for parking. I had a car, so unfortunately, I don't know about the public transportation around the hotel. San Diego is not a very big city, so every touristic spot takes 15-25 minutes by car. Lastly, the hotel is on Shelter Island and the bay at the island is worth checking out, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P. Gold
Business
Eugene, OR, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Perfect alternative to conference hotel

I felt sorry for my colleagues stuck in the sterile Sheraton hotels on Harbor Island for our professional meeting. Just 4 miles away, Shelter Island felt like another world. Not quite the South Pacific, but the palms trees clicking in the breeze as I sat on my lanai made it seem close. Great food, great staff, fabulous views. My two suggestions: Brighter lights in the hall closet area and don't forget the dust bunnies in the corners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the complimentary bikes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Odaa
Business
Palm Desert, CA, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Humphreys is a little slice of Hawaii

What a neat place and the location provides a million dollar view of the city lights and silhouettes. We particularly enjoyed our eveings on the patio among the plam trees overlooking the pool, too cool...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bali Hai on the bay - check it out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vegasvacay
Business
Michigan, USA
Apr 27, 2012

Great hotel!!

I LOVED our stay at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn. The room was very nice, upgraded, and clean. The hotel is centrally located on shelter Island which has an awesome view of Downtown San Diego. I was able to watch the sunrise--GORGEOUS. When I come back to San Diego I will definitely be staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top