$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
427 reviews
Best Trip Ever!!!

This was Hands Down the best stay ever!!! We will definitely be back and will continue to use you... See full review

  • Randall and Nicole Evans
  • Aug 31, 2014
Great Experience

Great experience and location. Room was great and very clean. See full review

  • TiLee
  • Aug 10, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.The property also provides parking at additional cost.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay - open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (427)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
427 out of 427
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USD Mom
Sacramento, Ca.
May 26, 2010

Beautiful!

The grounds were beautiful. We had two amazing parrots perched just outside our room. There was also a pond with fish, turtles and ducks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington
Sep 8, 2009

I recommend this hotel

What a beautiful place! It was like walking into a tropical paradise. The pool was nice and there was a bar by it. Lots of towels and chairs. There is even a ping pong table. We were upgraded to a suite that was much like an apartment. It had a full kitchen and tons of room. The beds and bedding were fantastic and the towels were thick and soft. There were even robes. The room was a bit dark. The lighting all came from lamps. The room was very clean and the hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bali Hi is a 5 minute walk away. They overlook the harbor with a fabulous view. The menu has a lot to choose from. The Chicken of the Gods is very yummy. (about $25 per person w/o drinks)

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sophia mcgee
Orlando, Florida
Jan 22, 2013

Great hotel

Stayed three nights, great location. Ideal for a warm weekend getaway. Only negative thing I can say is that the bed was hard as a rock and we woke up sore the next morning. But the staff was great, awesome amenities, and great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Half off all drinks every night from 5-7!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hilde2
Gig Harbor WA
Apr 1, 2014

Excellent hotel

Great for families. Grounds, pool, jacuzzi, water features all very inviting. No breakfast included which would have been a nice feature to have, especially for families. Room was comfortable, clean, and bed was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Con Pane Rustic Breads & Bakery. Mexican Mocha delicious. Various healthy breakfasts plus yummy cinnamon rolls & other pastries. On way to airport or various San Diego attractions! In the Liberty Station area with easy access from Harbor Drive or Rosecrans.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
badgerbrian
Madison, WI
Jan 16, 2011

Beautiful location, great hotel

After spending four nights at the San Diego Hilton Bayside for work, we were looking for something a bit more bohemian, and we found it at Humphrey's. Not to knock the Hilton--it was very nice, service was good, etc., however, Humphrey's had a much needed laid-back vibe compared to the Hilton, and we had a glorious view of the San Diego city skyline from our room at Humphrey's. And the grounds of Humphrey's was very cool--lots of trees and green space. One side of our hotel there was a marina, and on the other side was the beach/skyline. Humphrey's restaurant was good as well--food was good and the service was excellent, but more formal than we expected. The kind, helpful woman at the front desk recommended a restaurant for lunch that was a short walk from the hotel, and we enjoyed it so much that we ate there twice in two days! The restaurant is Brigatine's, and they serve the best fish tacos we've ever had! Great casual restaurant, food & service outstanding. The staff at Humphrey's was very helpful and friendly--couldn't imagine better service. There were also a ton of different restaurant options within walking distance of the hotel. We really liked the room as well--we had a junior suite, which had a separate sitting area w/a large flat-screen, couch/fold-out bed, fridge, microwave, wet bar. There's plenty to do in the area if you're so inclined, but we weren't--just lots of R & R for this stay. We only had two days after our work was finished, so we took long walks along the beach/waterfront, and ate--that was pretty much it. There was a small art fair at the park across the street on the Saturday we checked in. I noticed a place to rent bikes, and as far as getting to tourist destinations from Humphrey's you would need a car, bike or taxi, but that wasn't on our agenda--I'm sure there are hotels closer to Sea World, Gaslamp Quarter (our Hilton was across the street) or Old Town, but those places weren't on our itinerary, so we really liked our hotel choice--first time staying there, but I would stay again in a heartbeat. The only disappointment we experienced was that we weren't there during concert season--Humphrey's has an outdoor concert venue right in the middle of the hotel grounds, and I'd definitely like to return and stay when a band is there that we'd like to see--otherwise, we thought Humphrey's was fantastic overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brigatine's had a varied menu, all reasonably priced, fresh seafood, great service! Tell the front desk you're going to eat there, and they just might have a free appetizer coupon for Brigatine's, which we used for an incredible plate of coconut shrimp!

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minneapolis Mom
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 31, 2014

Midwest traveler

Loved the location. Quiet with a nice view. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MandM Travels
Victoria BC Canada
Dec 4, 2012

60th Birthday Vacation

We would definitely stay at this hotel again!! It was better than we ever expected. The surrounding area was beautiful and we found using the bus and trolley to explore the city was very easy and the people were so friendly. We totally enjoyed our stay in San Diego

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T-travel
Business
Toronto
Feb 14, 2011

Great stay near the airport

Needed just a one night stay near the airport and wanted some San Diego flavour. Humphrey's delivered. Nice grounds with pool, free internet access, free shuttle to the aiport. Clean good sized room, large tv, friendly staff. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Internet access code didn't work at first as it said the network was full, but a call to the front desk got me a new code and it worked.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ61
Ft Wayne, IN
Nov 20, 2011

Stay at Humphreys

Great location with park strip and sidewalk that ran along one side of the bay. The restaurant had a gorgeous view. Pool area was nice, but the hot tub had stains that made it appear dirty. The room smelled funny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tallulah
San Antonio, TX
May 25, 2011

Good times!

The hotel was beautiful and the staff was really nice. Great restaurant for breakfast. We would have liked more vegetarian options, however. My biggest complaint would be the lack of transportation, we had to take cabs everywhere which got to be quite expensive. More info on the bus schedule or the trolley would definitely help. Otherwise a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search