$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
455 out of 455
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thanks Mom
Family
Nebraska
Mar 15, 2014

Sisters Trip

Oh my gosh!! This wonderful hotel exceeded our expectations x100!! The minute we arrived at the airport and called for shuttle service to the minute we were dropped back off to return home, we were treated with friendliness, kindness, helpfulness!!! The hotel was perfectly located, centrally to all we wanted to see and do. We were upgraded to a water view of the beautiful marina, the room was always clean! The pool and hot tub were amazing... so peaceful and clean! A great outdoor atmosphere! And staff was super helpful, in places to go, places to eat, renting a car, etc! We will be back for sure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Coronado Island... its a must!!!! :)

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandro77
Couples
Washington DC
Mar 1, 2014

Nice and relaxing place

Nice place if you want to relax. It is located in shelter Island, which is not too far from Downtown and the historical center of San Diego. It is a 10 minutes driving, so a car would be ideal if you want to get around San Diego. Shelter Island is a quiet and peaceful place, so it is ideal if you are in San Diego with your family. Rooms are clean and specious. The staff was very friendly and the hotel offers a number of discount for activities such a massage, bike ride, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDDD
Family
DC
Feb 15, 2014

Fun place

The room was decent. There were a lot of cobwebs in the room though. It is a fun place if you are going to use the pool and other activities they provide, but if not you still have to pay a hotel fee and that I didn't like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bighitter
Friends
Sun Lakes Az
Feb 13, 2014

Beautiful location and hotel

First of all it's on Shelter Island next to the Bay and Marina. Secondly I like the tropical feel of the buidlings, landscaping, pool and Whirlpool. Thirdly I liked the room and slept well on the bed. The only thing that I didn't like was the water saver shower head. The breakfasts we had were very good. I would like to return when they have an outdoor concert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Gaslight district has lots of good places to eat. The wings at H--ters weren't good. The breading wasn't right and we were disappointed. The waitress was very good.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OR Native
Friends
Beaverton, OR
Feb 11, 2014

Excellent staff!

My reservation was for 3 nights, but due to weather conditions my flight was delayed for 3 more nights. The staff was very helpful, particularly Genevieve and Bill. I was able to stay for 3 more nights without a room change and the pricing was very reasonable. All the staff went out of their way to make my stay pleasant. My room was large and clean and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is nice, but it would help to have a car. There is only one bus to Shelter Island and it goes to Old Town where you need to transfer to reach any other area. When time was a factor, the hotel arranged for a cab. The hotel location is scenic with the marina on the west and San Diego harbor on the east. The harbor provides lots of interest with all the boating activities. The hotel has a nice restaurant and there are other nice restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has a lounge with local musicians plus a concert area where well known entertainers appear. The swimming pool is very large and a lovely setting. Bicycles are also available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bali Hai restaurant is a short walk and has a nice outdoor deck (with heaters when necessary) that has a spectacular view of the harbor and San Diego skyline.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann L Noisey
Couples
san diego
Feb 3, 2014

noisey

Rooms not sound proofed, could hear pool gate close half the night, other room snoring, door did not close automatically had to check several times, front desk not greeting as you come or went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JxJx
Family
Seattle Wa
Feb 2, 2014

No thanks Humphreys

The additional resort fee of 9.95 a day and an additional 10.00 per day for parking were too much. I had asked when I book about additional charges and they told me there would not be any so of course when I checked out I was surprised. The hotel room itself was old, dirty and not in the best condition, the first room I was given at 10pm had fans blowing in an open doorway to dry the wet carpet, I refused the room. In the second room the door safety lock was broken and the carpet was filthy, filthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling Expat
Couples
Vienna, Austria
Jan 30, 2014

Great place to escape winter

We checked in late on a Friday night, and were given a room upgrade to a marina view suite, which was spacious and had a great little patio facing the marina - perfect for a late breakfast or afternoon drink. The kitchenette was really nice and well appointed for a hotel room. It had a full sized fridge and cooktop, and pretty good cookware and dishes. We ended up cooking dinner there one night, which was a nice break from all the restaurant meals during our vacation. The bellman/shuttle driver was also very helpful - he helped us out with bus transport to the waterfront. The pool at Humphrey's is also nice - warm enough to swim in even if a bit chilly outdoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunset ninja
Couples
La Mesa, Ca
Jan 30, 2014

stay in a newer section of resort

The thermostat did not work very well and there was no hot water later in the evening. I alerted the front desk about these problems in the morning. Our room was still cold when we returned in the evening. I had the front desk have someone from maintenance called, he finally showed up 30 mins later. He said the heating system was old and would take awhile to warm the room and only if you adjusted the thermostat up till the heat came on then adjusted it back down. The blower was noisy and you had to keep adjusting the temperature. not my best stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solar Powered
Couples
Casa Grande, AZ
Jan 28, 2014

Perfect stay

Terrific hotel in great location. Staff was very helpful in getting us to a wedding on time with an early check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top