$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
495 out of 495
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bjoyful21
Knoxville, TN
Nov 10, 2012

Fantastic place to stay!

My husband and I stayed at Humphreys for four nights and loved every minute of it. We had two meals at their adjoining restaurant, and the food was incredible. A little pricey, but worth it. Humphreys also has a stage with many seasonal concerts. We had considered buying tickets to see NeedToBreathe and ended up deciding against is... which was fine, since we could hear the concert from our room! That was money saved! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry Loves San Diego
Business
St. Louis MO
Jan 28, 2014

Spur of the moment

This was the best stay in San Diego I ever had. Beautiful location. You have just about everything here. I loved the backstage lounge, a band every night. The restaurant here is excellent. You can walk around in your own little paradise here. The staff was also very friendly, if you needed anything they where there. Shuttle service to and from the Airport is a plus. I will be back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant's are within a walking distance. So many places to choose from.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling Expat
Business
Vienna, Austria
Jan 30, 2014

Great place to escape winter

We checked in late on a Friday night, and were given a room upgrade to a marina view suite, which was spacious and had a great little patio facing the marina - perfect for a late breakfast or afternoon drink. The kitchenette was really nice and well appointed for a hotel room. It had a full sized fridge and cooktop, and pretty good cookware and dishes. We ended up cooking dinner there one night, which was a nice break from all the restaurant meals during our vacation. The bellman/shuttle driver was also very helpful - he helped us out with bus transport to the waterfront. The pool at Humphrey's is also nice - warm enough to swim in even if a bit chilly outdoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bighitter
Business
Sun Lakes Az
Feb 13, 2014

Beautiful location and hotel

First of all it's on Shelter Island next to the Bay and Marina. Secondly I like the tropical feel of the buidlings, landscaping, pool and Whirlpool. Thirdly I liked the room and slept well on the bed. The only thing that I didn't like was the water saver shower head. The breakfasts we had were very good. I would like to return when they have an outdoor concert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Gaslight district has lots of good places to eat. The wings at H--ters weren't good. The breading wasn't right and we were disappointed. The waitress was very good.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OR Native
Business
Beaverton, OR
Feb 11, 2014

Excellent staff!

My reservation was for 3 nights, but due to weather conditions my flight was delayed for 3 more nights. The staff was very helpful, particularly Genevieve and Bill. I was able to stay for 3 more nights without a room change and the pricing was very reasonable. All the staff went out of their way to make my stay pleasant. My room was large and clean and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is nice, but it would help to have a car. There is only one bus to Shelter Island and it goes to Old Town where you need to transfer to reach any other area. When time was a factor, the hotel arranged for a cab. The hotel location is scenic with the marina on the west and San Diego harbor on the east. The harbor provides lots of interest with all the boating activities. The hotel has a nice restaurant and there are other nice restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has a lounge with local musicians plus a concert area where well known entertainers appear. The swimming pool is very large and a lovely setting. Bicycles are also available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bali Hai restaurant is a short walk and has a nice outdoor deck (with heaters when necessary) that has a spectacular view of the harbor and San Diego skyline.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDDD
Business
DC
Feb 15, 2014

Fun place

The room was decent. There were a lot of cobwebs in the room though. It is a fun place if you are going to use the pool and other activities they provide, but if not you still have to pay a hotel fee and that I didn't like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandro77
Business
Washington DC
Mar 1, 2014

Nice and relaxing place

Nice place if you want to relax. It is located in shelter Island, which is not too far from Downtown and the historical center of San Diego. It is a 10 minutes driving, so a car would be ideal if you want to get around San Diego. Shelter Island is a quiet and peaceful place, so it is ideal if you are in San Diego with your family. Rooms are clean and specious. The staff was very friendly and the hotel offers a number of discount for activities such a massage, bike ride, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ava132
Business
buena park, california
Mar 7, 2014

Very nice

This is an old hotel/motel so it has an odor but it's not unpleasant. The beds are wonderful. Very good mattress and I have a very bad back. The restaurant is outstanding. The prices are very good and the food is excellent. However, be prepared for a wait. They/re not super fast. I was told that they don't allow dogs but I saw two of them there. We didn't use the pool or spa but it looked wonderful, very big and clean. One problem-we were downstairs and we could hear all the running and jumping upstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Actve Couple
Business
Seattle Wa.
Mar 17, 2014

Good value and lots to keep you busy!

The grounds were beatiful and well maintained. Bldgs. are old and need updating, but comfortable and clean. Amenities were many and very available. We spent a week and enjoyed every minute. The prices in the restaurant at the resort are tipically California!! Good to have a vehicle so you can "shop around".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great entertainment each night for which the resort picks up the cover charge.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
memartin
Business
denver,colorado
Mar 22, 2014

beautiful, clean and relaxing.

We really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful views and staff was great. Good restaurant with great music. Only issue was the $9.95 dollar charge per day for the passport coupon book. Big negative there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scottish Bill
Business
Scotland
Mar 21, 2014

Our stay

We really enjoyed our stay with you. We rang from the airport and the shuttle arrived within minutes. We had mislaid one of our bags and Bill the Bellman was very accommodating. He dropped me back to the airport and waited for me. That was a great relief for us as we were not familiar with the area or the procedures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top