$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
464 reviews
Best hotel ever!

This was by far the nicest place we have ever stayed and we will return. See full review

  • Oceanlover12
  • Feb 20, 2015
great family get a way

Hotel staff were great the room was very comfortable and clean. The beds were so comfortable it was... See full review

  • Robert C.
  • Feb 12, 2015
Nestled in lush tropical gardens on Shelter Island, overlooking San Diego Bay and a private marina you feel like you are in paradise. This quaint hotel offers all the amenities of a luxury resort with a gourmet restaurant, nightly entertainment and happy hour, spa services and an exercise facility. The spacious 182 rooms and suites welcome you with muted Mediterranean decor, and display a large array of amenities. Complimentary shuttle is available for arriving and departing guests only to the airport, Amtrak, and San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. Shuttle service is limted, based on availability,and is subject to change.

Parking is available at a charge of $14/night.

Passport Fee $9.95 per room/night includes: FREE High Speed Wireless Internet FREE Airport, Amtrak & Cruise Terminal Transfers FREE Business Center including Boarding Pass Printing FREE Two Hour Bike Rentals FREE Entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge FREE Dining offers in our Restaurant, Lounge and Pool Bar Additional Discounted selections at our Restaurant, Lounge and Pool Bar Discounts and Special Offers to local attractions and businesses

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (464)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
464 out of 464
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solar Powered
Business
Casa Grande, AZ
Jan 28, 2014

Perfect stay

Terrific hotel in great location. Staff was very helpful in getting us to a wedding on time with an early check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry Loves San Diego
Business
St. Louis MO
Jan 28, 2014

Spur of the moment

This was the best stay in San Diego I ever had. Beautiful location. You have just about everything here. I loved the backstage lounge, a band every night. The restaurant here is excellent. You can walk around in your own little paradise here. The staff was also very friendly, if you needed anything they where there. Shuttle service to and from the Airport is a plus. I will be back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant's are within a walking distance. So many places to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colebank 14
Business
Seattle, Wa
Jan 27, 2014

Great Hotel

We found this hotel to be very pleasant and very quiet, which was just what we were looking for. It was in a great location and the grounds were spectacular. Once you were inside the courtyard, you'd think you're in Hawaii. The hot tub and swimming pool were fantastic as well. I'd definitely come back here in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Molin3
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 26, 2014

Great deal, great place!

I was able to purchase this room with a discount, which made this stay affordable. It was a beautiful hotel, absolutely loved the room and the view outside with all the greenery! The location was great in reference to the Airport, especially since they have a free shuttle service to the Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Polar
Business
El Centro
Jan 20, 2014

Great room

Love coming to Humphreys. Great location and incredible happy hour with good food and music. doesn't get any better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunny NN
Business
New York
Jan 13, 2014

great place to stay

very delicate and nice room. right in front of water. good restaurants around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Ma
Business
San Diego
Jan 12, 2014

A great place

I spent way to much time looking for a room in the San Diego area for a couple of nights. I kept ending up at Humphrey's but would read a poor review and look elsewhere. This place was perfect in all areas. I had a small room that faced the parking lot but the area was beautiful. The grounds were very nice and the room was clean and modern. The shower was nice and the bathroom was clean. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucydog1
Business
Tallahassee
Jan 9, 2014

Nice getaway

Unfortunately, we only were able to stay for one night. We booked this room to be close to the airport. That said, the room was great, amazing views, friendly staff, and great recommendations for places to eat. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tennisgirl12
Business
BC, Canada
Jan 9, 2014

You will love it

First time in SD, and this hotel was just perfect.Just min.away from airport with free shuttle it is on Shelter Island ,very quiet and great views onto Marina.Rooms have fridge,coffeemaker and microwave and Ralphs is 5 min drive on Rosecrans where you can buy food. Rosecrans is a main Rd that gets you everywhere.Restaurant is very good too and the entertainment as well. Gardens and Pool /Hot Tub beautiful .Beds are comfortable and so are the different pillows from hard to soft. The only recommendation we had is that they go a bit greener with washing towels as they wash everything after one use.They did tell me though that they recycle and lights are on timers. Mexican restaurant 5 min walk up the road is good.The location was the best part though , took only 15 min drive to sea world, 29 min to the zoo, 15 min to old town,20 min to Coronado island,45 min to Safari park (a MUST)but do rent a car as you would waste too much time with public transportation and it is cheaper.One week cost us 160,00 incl.gas 1/2 tank).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location and quiet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quillo
Business
St Cloud, MN
Dec 30, 2013

great

My girlfriend and I were thrilled by the view. The staff were always happy to help. Great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

get a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top