$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
560 reviews
Wonderful California Suite

Wonderful location, excellent amenities. The hotel exceeded our expectations. Humphreys Half Moon... See full review

  • Shesh 87
  • Jun 27, 2014
Humphreys half moon hotel

Very nice hotel! Only problem is that they had not enough towels, and couldn't get ahold of house... See full review

  • Nparker3
  • Jun 20, 2014
Easy access to San Diego attractions from Shelter Island location

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites is situated on Shelter Island, between San Diego Bay and America's Cup Harbor. The hotel is close to many of San Diego's tourist attractions and minutes from the airport. The hotel's Shelter Island location makes it equally suitable for business conferences, family vacations or weddings. The tropical island setting showcases the recently renovated suites and rooms on offer from Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites. Many rooms feature views of the marina or the city. Humphrey's Restaurant offers guests fine international cuisine along with superb views of San Diego Bay and the Marina.

Reasons to stay
  • Humphreys Concerts by the Bay – open air concerts between May and October
  • Close to SeaWorld and San Diego Zoo
  • Pool bar, spa and fitness center
Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Décor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Things to do nearby
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies and fees
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 per room/night that includes:

  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free airport, Amtrak & Cruise Terminal transfers
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.7174 -117.2244
Area served
San Diego, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
Located minutes from Sea World, San Diego Zoo and downtown San Diego.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Sea World: 3.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (560)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
560 out of 560
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mavisf
Clovis, CA
Jun 14, 2013

Above & Beyond Expectations

We usually choose a simple, inexpensive, clean place to crash for each night. We rarely use any ammenities... that was not the case here...We were skeptical to choose this facility, but is was central to ALL the locations we wanted to visit..... Legoland, Sea World, Harbor Cruises, Balboa Park, Old town, etc.... our longest drive was Legoland, about 20 minutesaway, all by freeway. Absolutely everything else was within a 10 minute or less drive. (And alot of walkiking ammenities... a free fishing pier within a 1/2 mile, nice quite harbor beaches to play in the sun, and a CONCERT venue right on the premises. Cindi Lauper was playing the night we left ... we missed boo hoo (would have been fun to listen to while enjoying the wondeful pool, with a bar available every night and jacuzzi.) We were given a complimentary upgrade that exceeded any expectataions... we stayed in a small apartment, overlooking the pool... my Grandson LOVED!!! Two Queen beds in a seperate room, 2 closets in the hallway, the bathroom with double sinks and large shower and bath in the hall way, a dinette with Full refrigerator, stovetop and microwave AND a seperate FAMILY room with TV. seating... lots of room!!...AND we were upstairs with a balcony that could be entered from the Family room or bed room. Our 2nd day, my husband was experiencing sever lower back pain, we went to the front office for directions to the nearest emergency room, and they referred us to a doctor on call.the Dr did an over the phone diagnosis, billed our insurance, and called in a couple of prescriptions... we thought for certain our stay was done. Within 6 hours, everthing was right as rain!!! Thank-you Hotel staff for a job well done.!!! The Grounds and rooms were well kept. The service excellent.... Definately a top choice if we ever get back to the San Diego area again!!! Thank-you for a wonderful visit!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

San Diego has a "Go San Diego Card" for a reasonable fee that can be purchased for 3 to 7 days fhat allows entry to most major attractions. If you plan to visit many of the major attractions, this speeds entry and can save some money, BUT Plan wisley, because a visit to a major attration every day can be grueling!!! A down day or two to start and/or end your trip may be most rewarding.... my Grandson was exhausted (8 years old after 3 days) One of the Things my Grandson had the most fun with were the "squished penny" souvenirs. Really... fro 10 dollars in quarters and 10 pennies, they can get 20 souvenirs from all over town!!! They get to choose the style they want... put the money in and pump the crank to make that penny appear!!!! What a blast he had!!!! AND THEY TAKE UP ALMOST NO ROOM

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandma9849
Rossville, ga
Jun 9, 2013

great location!

Great place to stay . Near everything. Good restaurant. Very nice bathroom. My only complaint is parking. they charge $10.00 per night and when they have a concert there is nowhere to park. They should have assigned parking for guests. This happened twice while we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you get a rental car be sure it has a gps system, This was a lifesaver for me.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Once a year vacation
Kansas, USA
Jun 3, 2013

One week vacation stay

We had a great time at Humphreys. The look and feel were great. There were several dining places with in walking distance. We felt safe walking at night. It is close to a lot of attractions. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Swim
Business
New York, New York
May 31, 2013

Enthusiastic service, beautiful grounds, peaceful location

This is the second time I have stayed at Humphrey's. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. The rooms are a little dated in decor, but very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms seem to have been updated and are very nice. They have pillows of a couple different densities on the bed so you can pick the one (or two) that are the most comfortable for you. WiFi is fast. I am a lap swimmer so I love the newly renovated pool area. It is over 25 yards long. New lounge chairs. New gardens that are beautiful. The pool is a great place to relax. The location is convenient to the airport yet overlooking part of the bay and the naval base. The restaurant is very good. I have had lunch and breakfast there. Both meals were very good yet reasonably priced. And, the restaurant overlooks the marina. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
molerat
seattle
May 30, 2013

top flight security hotel rental cop

Our stay was quite pleasant. Except for the security guards who patrol the ground. I tried to take a shortcut from the pool to my marine view room. I tried to swipe my key through the door and was "Rudely told by guard "thats restricted you cant go through that way" well ok, i understand the pool is closed at 11pm but 1st it wasn't 11pm it was 10:50pm. 2nd even if it was 11pm he could've assisted me to my room instead of being rude and treating me like a 2nd class citizen, that wanted to steal the towels or something. I wasn't planning on swimming or using the hot tub. me and my girlfriend were really tired as the room is about 1/2 a mile away if you go around. After all we were paying good money to stay there. What happened to friendliness and customer service? I feel the situation could've been resolved a lot better. I was very bothered by that as anyone would. I did not sleep well. Thanks for ruining my night "Mr. Hotel Rental Cop"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ColoradoLiraGirl
Denver, Colorado
May 26, 2013

Great experience!

We enjoyed our stay! Location is great: minutes from downtown, Sea World and San Diego Zoo. The room was clean and comfortable; staff is very friendly. We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dispatching David
Shelter Island, California
May 25, 2013

Remarkable experience!

Arrived late than expected but the wonderful front desk clerk upgraded us to a bay view suite at no extra charge. So nice of her to do. Once my wife and I got to the room, we were amazed how spacious it was. Just what we both needed after such a long day of traveling. Nice view of the bay and easy access to shops and restaurants. This was just the 1st stop of this trip but what a way to start. Really enjoyed this stay. The only negative was as we were dressing to check out the next morning, my wife noticed housekeeping had missed the previous guests apparently forgetting a pair of underpants kind of hidden behind the commode. Other than that, wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Red Hut on Rosecranns. The tomato bisque is to die for.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shevo sh
Business
Los angeles ,California
May 24, 2013

I really like this place

The view was awesome.... The staff really friendly , they up graded me to a room with a view which was fantastic :)) the bathroom floors wasn't that clean other wise everything was perfect ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole 31
San Diego
May 22, 2013

Great family fun

We are a family of 6. There was a great room with a huge flat screen TV and a pull-out sofa for our teenagers. This room had a balcony with a view, literally, over the pool area. The other bedrrom had two queens, also with a great TV. The kitchen and bath were large and well equipped. There were nice ceiling fans throughout and down comforters. The pool was large and heated with depths ranging from 2 ft- 10 ft. Also had a hot-tub and ping-pong and putting green. The other side of the hotel over looks the bay marina- beautiful at night. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel restauarant's dinner not extremely family friendly-too ecclectic of a menu and kinda pricey. Perfect for a family breakfast or lunch or for a romantic dinner.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarahannl
Los Angeles, California
May 22, 2013

Beautiful Ground and hotel

LOVE IT! It is a great place to relax and a very romantic atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top