$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
472 out of 472
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carmen Hamilton
Business
Russellville, AR
Feb 25, 2014

Wonderful place to stay

Rooms are cozy & clean... Beautiful views ... Staff very helpful & friendly ... Free airport shuttle & wifi ... Will stay here again ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDDD
Business
DC
Feb 15, 2014

Fun place

The room was decent. There were a lot of cobwebs in the room though. It is a fun place if you are going to use the pool and other activities they provide, but if not you still have to pay a hotel fee and that I didn't like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bighitter
Business
Sun Lakes Az
Feb 13, 2014

Beautiful location and hotel

First of all it's on Shelter Island next to the Bay and Marina. Secondly I like the tropical feel of the buidlings, landscaping, pool and Whirlpool. Thirdly I liked the room and slept well on the bed. The only thing that I didn't like was the water saver shower head. The breakfasts we had were very good. I would like to return when they have an outdoor concert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Gaslight district has lots of good places to eat. The wings at H--ters weren't good. The breading wasn't right and we were disappointed. The waitress was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OR Native
Business
Beaverton, OR
Feb 11, 2014

Excellent staff!

My reservation was for 3 nights, but due to weather conditions my flight was delayed for 3 more nights. The staff was very helpful, particularly Genevieve and Bill. I was able to stay for 3 more nights without a room change and the pricing was very reasonable. All the staff went out of their way to make my stay pleasant. My room was large and clean and very comfortable. The location of the hotel is nice, but it would help to have a car. There is only one bus to Shelter Island and it goes to Old Town where you need to transfer to reach any other area. When time was a factor, the hotel arranged for a cab. The hotel location is scenic with the marina on the west and San Diego harbor on the east. The harbor provides lots of interest with all the boating activities. The hotel has a nice restaurant and there are other nice restaurants within walking distance. The hotel has a lounge with local musicians plus a concert area where well known entertainers appear. The swimming pool is very large and a lovely setting. Bicycles are also available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bali Hai restaurant is a short walk and has a nice outdoor deck (with heaters when necessary) that has a spectacular view of the harbor and San Diego skyline.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann L Noisey
Business
san diego
Feb 3, 2014

noisey

Rooms not sound proofed, could hear pool gate close half the night, other room snoring, door did not close automatically had to check several times, front desk not greeting as you come or went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JxJx
Business
Seattle Wa
Feb 2, 2014

No thanks Humphreys

The additional resort fee of 9.95 a day and an additional 10.00 per day for parking were too much. I had asked when I book about additional charges and they told me there would not be any so of course when I checked out I was surprised. The hotel room itself was old, dirty and not in the best condition, the first room I was given at 10pm had fans blowing in an open doorway to dry the wet carpet, I refused the room. In the second room the door safety lock was broken and the carpet was filthy, filthy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling Expat
Business
Vienna, Austria
Jan 30, 2014

Great place to escape winter

We checked in late on a Friday night, and were given a room upgrade to a marina view suite, which was spacious and had a great little patio facing the marina - perfect for a late breakfast or afternoon drink. The kitchenette was really nice and well appointed for a hotel room. It had a full sized fridge and cooktop, and pretty good cookware and dishes. We ended up cooking dinner there one night, which was a nice break from all the restaurant meals during our vacation. The bellman/shuttle driver was also very helpful - he helped us out with bus transport to the waterfront. The pool at Humphrey's is also nice - warm enough to swim in even if a bit chilly outdoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunset ninja
Business
La Mesa, Ca
Jan 30, 2014

stay in a newer section of resort

The thermostat did not work very well and there was no hot water later in the evening. I alerted the front desk about these problems in the morning. Our room was still cold when we returned in the evening. I had the front desk have someone from maintenance called, he finally showed up 30 mins later. He said the heating system was old and would take awhile to warm the room and only if you adjusted the thermostat up till the heat came on then adjusted it back down. The blower was noisy and you had to keep adjusting the temperature. not my best stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Solar Powered
Business
Casa Grande, AZ
Jan 28, 2014

Perfect stay

Terrific hotel in great location. Staff was very helpful in getting us to a wedding on time with an early check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry Loves San Diego
Business
St. Louis MO
Jan 28, 2014

Spur of the moment

This was the best stay in San Diego I ever had. Beautiful location. You have just about everything here. I loved the backstage lounge, a band every night. The restaurant here is excellent. You can walk around in your own little paradise here. The staff was also very friendly, if you needed anything they where there. Shuttle service to and from the Airport is a plus. I will be back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant's are within a walking distance. So many places to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top