$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
464 reviews
Best hotel ever!

This was by far the nicest place we have ever stayed and we will return. See full review

  • Oceanlover12
  • Feb 20, 2015
great family get a way

Hotel staff were great the room was very comfortable and clean. The beds were so comfortable it was... See full review

  • Robert C.
  • Feb 12, 2015
Nestled in lush tropical gardens on Shelter Island, overlooking San Diego Bay and a private marina you feel like you are in paradise. This quaint hotel offers all the amenities of a luxury resort with a gourmet restaurant, nightly entertainment and happy hour, spa services and an exercise facility. The spacious 182 rooms and suites welcome you with muted Mediterranean decor, and display a large array of amenities. Complimentary shuttle is available for arriving and departing guests only to the airport, Amtrak, and San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. Shuttle service is limted, based on availability,and is subject to change.

Parking is available at a charge of $14/night.

Passport Fee $9.95 per room/night includes: FREE High Speed Wireless Internet FREE Airport, Amtrak & Cruise Terminal Transfers FREE Business Center including Boarding Pass Printing FREE Two Hour Bike Rentals FREE Entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge FREE Dining offers in our Restaurant, Lounge and Pool Bar Additional Discounted selections at our Restaurant, Lounge and Pool Bar Discounts and Special Offers to local attractions and businesses

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (464)

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
464 out of 464
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Praising Paula
Boulder, CO
Jan 5, 2013

Exceptional all around!

We were met by friendly, helpful staff; even the room cleaners were friendly. Beautiful view of the marina, and the inside rooms had a wonderful Polynesian view and of the pool. We hope to stay there again! It made our San Diego vacation complete. In the computer room there were helps as to what to see and maps to print. Shelter Island was a relaxing vacation as well, watching the ships come in and out of the harbor, people fishing, and people sailing and canoeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Filippi's in Little Italy was fantastic, authentic Italian food just like my mother-in-law's. You can share a meal; it's about double the size one person can eat. Go early; the line forms in the Italian deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mlwebste
Business
Paso Robles
Feb 20, 2015

Great Place by the Marina

Awesome hotel walking distance to some nice restaurants near the Marina. Beautiful atmosphere. Nice pool. Fun for concerts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oceanlover12
Business
Apache Junction
Feb 20, 2015

Best hotel ever!

This was by far the nicest place we have ever stayed and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
btownbobby
Business
Bakersfield
Feb 12, 2015

great location

It was pricey for what we got. Not anything special. The bath tub filled up with dirty water coming up from the drain. The staff were informed and promised to get a maintenance man there to fix the problem. More than an hour later it was too later and we wanted to sleep so we finally called and cancelled the repair after no one showed up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert C.
Business
N/A
Feb 12, 2015

great family get a way

Hotel staff were great the room was very comfortable and clean. The beds were so comfortable it was so relaxing it almost made me not want to get out of bed in the mornings. The pool was very nice. The only downfall for the whole trip was the cost toeat in the hotel restaurant, that you almost needed to take out a loan for but the food was good, pricey, but good. I'm planning another trip to San Diego this spring and I plan to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim Karen
Business
Layton
Feb 9, 2015

couples getaway

This hotel is a great get away but had to pay to park on they lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
victor H.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

great location

place was clean great location. It had many places to eat close by and excellent walking jogging places .... Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

enjoy the views and local places to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goldie
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Very nice 2 night stay

The hotel grounds and pool were very pretty. The exterior needs a bit of an update. Parking was an issue as we stayed during the summer and the concerts were going on. The junior suite we were in was very roomy and clean. Our room overlooked the concert venue so we had the added benefit of being able to hear the concert. For someone who wanted quiet or to go to bed early it might not be the best choice. There are limited activities and restaurants on Shelter Island and there is always the traffic issues driving into San Diego. The hotel restaurant was very nice and the staff was very friendly. The food was good and was priced like most restaurants in San Diego. All in all we had a nice stay. Not blown away, but a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CD13
Business
Houston
Jan 21, 2015

Perfect quiet getaway

The hotel was very nice including all of the staff. We stayed 3 nights in a 1st floor room with a patio that had a view of the pool area. It was perfect for coffee in the morning. The view from the outdoor stage and restaurant was beautiful, overlooking the dock with all the boats and views of mountains in the background. It was great being close to everything in San Diego but not staying right downtown. At 25 and 31, we were some of the younger visitors at the hotel, but that made for a very quiet, pleasant, and relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ab traveler
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Very nice place

Its a gret place in a perfect spot. The staff is very nice, plus there a very good restaurant bar, if you can book to see a show at the concert venue in the hotel. You got to know that parking has an additional fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raymond G.
Business
Rancho Cucamonga
Jan 9, 2015

Awesome Location with great staff!!!

This hotel is awesome, my fiance and I start here often alone or with our daughter. Beautiful landscape. Private beach/bay within walking distance with fire pits. Free bike rentals are great to explore shelter island. I would recommend for anyone. I'd live there if they let me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The mai tai at Bali Hai are the strongest drinks you will ever have and during happy hour they are $5 and go up $1 till the end of happy hour great deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top