$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2303 Shelter Island Dr., San Diego, CA 92106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
496 reviews
Very nice

Very nice hotel, location and price for San Diego California See full review

  • Lilia B.
  • Jun 23, 2015
Great family vacation

The hotel was beautiful staff was Great. The hotel had a great pool ping-pong and golf for the kids... See full review

  • William A.
  • Jun 16, 2015

At Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites in San Diego, guests can enjoy a tropically landscaped spa and swimming pool, poolside ping pong and bar, an on-site fitness center and bicycle rentals. Free wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel, and guest laundry facilities, as well as a dry cleaning services, are convenient amenities for those planning longer stays. Guests can also take advantage of discount attraction tickets, and customized trip planning at the front desk. The waterfront location is appealing to those who wish to fish or partake in water sports, and the stylish event facilities can accommodate special functions such as weddings, banquets and anniversaries.

Rooms

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites offers 182 rooms, including 54 suites that boast incredible views of the nearby marina and San Diego Bay. Decor is Mediterranean in style and each room comes standard with a flat-screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave and in-room safe. All suites include private patios or balconies. Guests receive complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access.

Highlights

The hotel is situated on secluded Shelter Island, just minutes away from all that San Diego has to offer. It is close to popular attractions and landmarks such as the San Diego Zoo, sparkling beaches, the downtown Gaslamp Quarter, the San Diego Convention Center, the USS Midway Museum and SeaWorld. With its modern global cuisine that combines Mediterranean, Gulf Coast and Caribbean flavors, the award-winning Humphreys Restaurant is a must-try. Live music is provided at the Humphreys Backstage LIVE lounge, voted as the area's best live music club. The hotel is also a popular venue for many international and world-renowned concerts held at Humphreys Concerts By the Bay.

Nearby attractions
    • Seaport Village  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • SeaWorld  (5.0 mi/8.0 km)
    • Mission Beach  (6.0 mi/10.0 km)
    • San Diego Zoo  (8.2 mi/10.0 km)
Policies
  • Parking is available for $14 USD per night.
Starting July 1, Humphrey's will be implementing a passport fee of $9.95 USD per room/night that includes:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Free business center services including Boarding Pass Printing
  • Free two-hour bike rentals
  • Free entrance to our Backstage Live Music Lounge
  • Free dining offers in our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Additional discounted selections at our restaurant, lounge and pool bar
  • Discounts and special offers to local attractions and businesses. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites Rooms

Tropical View Guestroom
Newly renovated Tropical View Guest Rooms offer all of the luxurious amenities and features of our Premier Guest Rooms and more. These beautiful rooms overlook tropical pool and gardens. First floor rooms offer direct access to our private pool and tropical gardens through furnished patios. One king or two queen beds.
Premier Guestroom
Premiere category showcases all new furniture including headboards, wood bed frames and crisp new duvet covers, plush pillows and cozy throw blankets, with one king or two queen size beds. They all offer a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker plus a 42" flat screen LCD TV.
Luxury Junior Suite
To indulge in a bit more space in lavish style, consider our newly renovated Luxury Junior Suites. These unique and accommodating suites are perfect for up to 4 people. Relax, unpack and make yourself at home in 450 square feet of living space that features a furnished patio/balcony, a king bed, sleeper sofa in the sitting area, mini refrigerator and microwave.
Garden View Suite
Our newly appointed View Suites offer over 700 square feet of living space, comfortably accommodating up to six people. Each suite comes equipped with a kitchen and separate living room with sleeper sofa. The private bedroom includes a generous dressing area, two queen beds and a list of luxurious amenities. Marina View Suites overlook our private marina and are just steps away from the water, while our Garden View Suites are surrounded by swaying palms and lush, tropical gardens.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.8 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.8 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.1 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.3 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.4 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5.6 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8.6 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 12.1 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.8 mi
  • Legoland: 28.9 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.6 mi

Dining

Humphrey's Restaurant
Humphreys by the Bay waterfront restaurant is consistently rated among the best in San Diego. Our chef presents Modern Global Cuisine at it's finest. The extensive wine list has received the Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator for three consecutive years. Your dining experience is perfected by the breathtaking views of the sailboats anchored in the marina, sunsets and city lights sparkling across San Diego Bay. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. 6:30am to 9pm Sun-Thurs and 6:30am to 10pm Fri & Sat. Humphreys award-winning Sunday Brunch Buffet is every Sunday from 10am to 2pm.
Humphrey's Backstage Live
After dinner, enjoy a nightcap or take a spin around the dance floor at Humphreys Backstage Live, voted "Best place to dance in San Diego". Every night features exciting live music with San Diego's hottest bands. Happy Hour 5pm to 7pm daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
496 out of 496
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Praising Paula
Boulder, CO
Jan 5, 2013

Exceptional all around!

We were met by friendly, helpful staff; even the room cleaners were friendly. Beautiful view of the marina, and the inside rooms had a wonderful Polynesian view and of the pool. We hope to stay there again! It made our San Diego vacation complete. In the computer room there were helps as to what to see and maps to print. Shelter Island was a relaxing vacation as well, watching the ships come in and out of the harbor, people fishing, and people sailing and canoeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Filippi's in Little Italy was fantastic, authentic Italian food just like my mother-in-law's. You can share a meal; it's about double the size one person can eat. Go early; the line forms in the Italian deli.

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yin C.
Business
N/A
Jun 28, 2015

Not a 3 star hotel

This is a old establishment with remodel. Broken AC on both room I stayed at. Noisy foot step for Downstair room. OLD OLD and old motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lilia B.
Business
N/A
Jun 23, 2015

Very nice

Very nice hotel, location and price for San Diego California

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo W.
Business
N/A
Jun 19, 2015

Awesome Hotel!

I went to this hotel during CiscoLive, it was away from the rest of the hotels and right in the harbor. It was great waking up everyday to boats coming and going. Only issue was wifi was EXTREMELY spotty and would drop, also cell service for ATT was not the best (not hotels fault).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William A.
Business
N/A
Jun 16, 2015

Great family vacation

The hotel was beautiful staff was Great. The hotel had a great pool ping-pong and golf for the kids to do. The views and the concert by the bay was great the restaurant at Humphreys was excellent and the view of the harbor was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda M.
Business
N/A
Jun 4, 2015

Great employees!

The employees here are so nice and helpful! The hotel itself has almost a tropic feel to it, and the rooms are set up more like little cabins than a traditional hotel. The location was great for getting downtown or to Old Town. We enjoyed it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Megan
Business
N/A
May 31, 2015

Great Stay

I stayed here in March and it was absolutely perfect! The location was nice because it was away from the crowded city but still very close to everything. The staff was wonderful and very willing to help with any questions I had during my stay. I will for sure be making this my choice hotel every time I come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff H.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

Family Trip

A little disappointed in some of the guests, they looked to be locals that were loud and obnoxious brining their own alcohol to the pool and staying up late. Had to call security on one occasion. My experience would have been overall very good if it was not for the bad behaving guest on multiple nights. They need to police better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego traveler13
Business
N/A
May 14, 2015

Overbite stay

The check in was easy, the front desk was helpful getting our rooms close by, getting a cab set for the early morning to get to the airport and suggesting a food place. Rooms could have been a bit cleaner, no TV (out of order) , I like to watch a little TV before bed, couldn't get internet to work and phones were on & off. Staff was always helpful. Like the view and the park a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel F.
Business
N/A
May 7, 2015

Awesome place for anniversary

Hotel was nice, didn't really utilize the amenities because we were always gone. Pool and hot tub was nice but pool bar was closed! Didn't go to Humphrey back stage bar.... Didn't really want to listen to R&B or Blues Overall good vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Humphreys Half Moon Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego traveler13
Business
N/A
May 2, 2015

Nice relaxing trip

We had a great time, relaxing by the pool & on our terrace. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Walked right across the street to the park by the water. Our 2nd stay there & plan to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top