$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
113 reviews
Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was... See full review

  • Charminglight
  • Jun 4, 2014
great place

this was a great place and a great value. we enjoyed the room and pool, not far from many... See full review

  • dennist1
  • May 9, 2014
At the Howard Johnson San Diego Sea World you will find yourself centrally located to all of the major Landmarks and Attractions including San Diego International Airport, SAN, Marine Corps Recruit Depot, MCRD, San Diego SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Historic Old town, SDSU, USD, UCSD, Sports Arena I-Pay One Center, Coronado Island, San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal, Mission Beach, Balboa Park, Downtown San Diego and Gaslamp Quarter, SeaPort Village, Naval Sub Base, and the Cabrillo National Monument. In addition to all of these great venues you also have shopping and dining at your footsteps. Enjoy your stay at the California Green Certified and AAA 3 Diamond Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld where you will stay in a newly upgraded guest room with pillow top mattresses, microwave, refrigerator and complimentary high speed wireless internet. Start your morning at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld with the aroma of our complimentary breakfast bar and Make Your Own Belgian Waffles. Enjoy a wide variety of fresh breakfast items and an inviting breakfast room that makes you feel at home. Indulge your senses through French doors that open up to an outdoor pool area allowing you to relax and enjoy sunny San Diego. Only a few steps to Tio Carlos, our onsite Mexican Restaurant. Enjoy some authentic Mexican food and enjoy a Margarita in the lounge. Happy Hour Specials Monday through Friday 4 to 6 pm.Complimentary Airport Shuttle- 5am to 8pm - Call Hotel when you arrive. Complimentary Sea World Shuttle For Nominal Fee- 10am Departure and 5 pm Return - With 24hrs Reservation. Will not be running on July 4th. Complimentary Transportation to and from Marine Corp Recruit Depot - MCRD - for Graduations Only, Thurs- 7-9 am Departure-Pick-up 5-6pm, Fri-Departure-630-830am-Pick-up 1130-1230 pm.Cruise Ship Terminal Drop Off Shuttle is available at a fee. Please contact hotel to schedule your shuttle 1 day prior to arrival. Public Transportation is easily accessed across the street to O

Hotel Map

32.7483 -117.2075
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 113
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChappyD
Business
Glendale
Sep 22, 2014

Visit/Business

Located next to a good Mexican Restaurant is handy however the restaurant had no parking area subsequently, the spill over parking takes Motels slots. I had no evening parking in front of my room. By eleven o'clock it was open, too late to move my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek cuisine decilious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike LV
Business
Palmyra, Va
Sep 19, 2014

good location for Old Town

Stayed 4 days, close to Old Town, Airport and beaches. Great staff, clean well kept rooms. Only trouble I had was having to call tech support every time I tried to get wifi access on computer, when in room. Other than that I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paraque
Business
30269
Jul 7, 2013

Mr

It was fine place to stay close to the airport and downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Padre David
Business
El Sargento, BCS, Mexico
Jun 17, 2013

Central Location and Very Afordable

A clean and average hotel centrally located in the heart of San Diego. Free shuttle to and from San Diego Airport. Walking distance to major shoping centers. A good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
another name
Business
Seattle
May 13, 2013

Parked here before our cruise

This hotel was pretty much as advertized so we can't really complain. We saw a previous review that complained of the noise. We asked for a room away from the street but did not get it. We did not hear much road noise anyway. The walls were thin enough that we could easily here the guests next door. Luckily, again no complaint as they turned in about when we did. I can not recommend the onsite Mexican restaurant. It was obviously convenient and the staff was nice but the food just was not great. We were convenient to the shopping we wanted to do. Pick up at the airport and transport to the pier were both timely and good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cansada
Business
Orange County
Apr 8, 2013

Could not sleep!

Everything else was fine for a night stay but I had a horrible experience trying to get some good night sleep. In between the noisy neighbors we had that were up all night deciding on their trip since we could hear everything!!! and the cars and airplanes passing all night long..we had the worst night ever!!! not to mention the worst service trying to find a place that would deliver us food at 9pm..but that's not the hotels issue. I will not stay here ever again! It was not worth the price cuss of the horrible noisy area it's in. so I don't recommend it unless its the last resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retired siteseer
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 29, 2013

Good value for price

We found the staff to be very helpful in giving travel directions to the sites we wanted to see. After a long day site seeing, we returned and found that our key would not open the door to our room. In going to the front desk, the clerk solved the problem quickly and efficiently for us and had us back in our room within minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DJMSD
Business
London, Ontario
Oct 15, 2012

A very dated hotel which is actually a motel.

The picture on the website was very deceiving. This hotel is VERY old. The microwave didn't work, the fridge barely worked and there was no pool. The smell of smoke in our non-smoking room was very strong. Good location close to the airport for our early flight. It would have been depressing to have stayed there for any longer than an over-night close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beancounter1
Business
Bloomsburg,PA
Sep 25, 2012

One Night Airport

Everything was as advertised including free shuttle to airport and free breakfast. Staff was excellent and room was clean with microwave and refer. Would stay here agin. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Gas Light District

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Las Vegas, Nevada
May 16, 2012

Great hotel

The hotel was great, staff was friendly and the location was close to Sea World and centally located to other great places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea World is a great attraction for families, and children will have a blast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top