$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
112 reviews
Good for Price

It was the cheapest hotel I could find. Given that, it was pretty good. The room was clean, and... See full review

  • TC
  • Apr 6, 2015
Nice trip

I stayed at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World with my wife and son. Everything was good. The... See full review

  • Alex's dad 1
  • Nov 18, 2014
Book your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego SeaWorld conveniently located near SeaWorld San Diego, cruise ship terminals, and San Diego International Airport with shuttle service. There is also a Shuttle service to the Marine Corp Recruit Depot for graduation events. Spend a fun-filled day swimming, sailing or fishing at Mission Beach, or experience an African Safari at the San Diego Zoo. Enjoy traditional Southwestern dishes at Tio Carlos Mexican Restaurant onsite. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with the complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax with a swim in the outdoor pool, and take advantage of the business center to stay productive. Complimentary access to nearby Golds 24 hour Gyn. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator, or request a room with bunk beds. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available at this smoke-free lodging. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

★★★
$89
3.1 / 5 362 reviews
★★★
$111
3.6 / 5 163 reviews
★★
$66
3.7 / 5 437 reviews
★★★
$92
4.1 / 5 122 reviews
★★★
$111
3.8 / 5 66 reviews
★★★
$71
3.6 / 5 242 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 112
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charminglight
Family
Rosamond ca
Jun 4, 2014

Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was very polite and helpful. Very pleased and would go back anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to everything

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dennist1
Family
melba id
May 9, 2014

great place

this was a great place and a great value. we enjoyed the room and pool, not far from many activities and restaurants. we also liked the shuttle to sea world. would and will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Mesa, AZ
Oct 5, 2010

Great Hotel

Our stay was great!! The front desk attendant was very courteous and helpful. The room was bigger than most with a really nice refrig, microwave, all housed in a nice cabinet with extra storage. The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast. Nice eating area with tables. If you don't like it there is a Starbucks, Jamba Juice, and Einstein bros bagels directly across the street. Location was great with plenty of restaurants and grocery stores close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Downey, CA.
Feb 1, 2010

Excellent!!

Overall I was very impressed with the room, very clean and modern. Next time I'm in San Diego, I will definitely stay here again. I also loved how all the attractions are nearby! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
sea world
Jun 19, 2011

family vacation

more of a varity for breakfast would be nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jun 15, 2008

comfortable beds

Because i travel a lot on business and stay in a number of different hotels I found the beds extremely comfortable. The room was very clean--even smelled clean. Check-in was a breeze--very helpful,pleasant clerk who worked quickly and efficiently to get a checked into our rooms at a late hour. This hotel was located for easy accessability to Sea World,Old Town, several shopping centers and had easy access to major hwys. I would most certainly recommend this facility to friends as well as stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town has several great restaurants. But if needed there is a grocery store and restaurants accross the street and at the hotel as well.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2007

Family friendly

Stay was great , except there was a surpise charge at the end of $1 per day for using the safe lock in the hotel room. They do have a notice at checkin which mentions that , but I would have thought that it should be complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Loma Mission Bay

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
tn
Jun 19, 2011

California Vacation

hotel staff was great!! [...]was on the desk when we got there. Very helpful!! [...]was also very informative. [...]was willing to go that x-tra mile to ensure our stay was comfortable. All the staff were great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus line,trolley line & train stations are very easy access to almost everything you need to do--shopping,dining,attractions, & etc

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Aug 7, 2007

Family Friendly

When we were looking for a room in San Diego, we had a few things we wanted, a pool, clean and in a safe neighborhood. The Howard Johnson at Sea World (HJSW)met those criteria for the best money. I always hesitate to spend a lot of money on hotels because we just don't spend that much time in them while on vacation. They are basically a place to lay our head at night. The roons at HJSW were recently remodeled so even though the hotel was older, it was clean. The staff was friendly. The pool was a bit small, but clean. HWSW had all the amenities that we were looking for at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Route 8 and Route 5

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex's dad 1
Family
Greensboro, NC
Nov 18, 2014

Nice trip

I stayed at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World with my wife and son. Everything was good. The location is convenient. A walk to the marina is pleasant. The airport is very close to the hotel, but planes did not disturb us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Harbor and marina

Back to menu Return to top