$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
169 reviews
Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was... See full review

  • Charminglight
  • Jun 4, 2014
great place

this was a great place and a great value. we enjoyed the room and pool, not far from many... See full review

  • dennist1
  • May 9, 2014
At the Howard Johnson San Diego Sea World you will find yourself centrally located to all of the major Landmarks and Attractions including San Diego International Airport, SAN, Marine Corps Recruit Depot, MCRD, San Diego SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Historic Old town, SDSU, USD, UCSD, Sports Arena I-Pay One Center, Coronado Island, San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal, Mission Beach, Balboa Park, Downtown San Diego and Gaslamp Quarter, SeaPort Village, Naval Sub Base, and the Cabrillo National Monument. In addition to all of these great venues you also have shopping and dining at your footsteps. Enjoy your stay at the California Green Certified and AAA 3 Diamond Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld where you will stay in a newly upgraded guest room with pillow top mattresses, microwave, refrigerator and complimentary high speed wireless internet. Start your morning at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld with the aroma of our complimentary breakfast bar and Make Your Own Belgian Waffles. Enjoy a wide variety of fresh breakfast items and an inviting breakfast room that makes you feel at home. Indulge your senses through French doors that open up to an outdoor pool area allowing you to relax and enjoy sunny San Diego. Only a few steps to Tio Carlos, our onsite Mexican Restaurant. Enjoy some authentic Mexican food and enjoy a Margarita in the lounge. Happy Hour Specials Monday through Friday 4 to 6 pm.Complimentary Airport Shuttle- 5am to 8pm - Call Hotel when you arrive. Complimentary Sea World Shuttle For Nominal Fee- 10am Departure and 5 pm Return - With 24hrs Reservation. Will not be running on July 4th. Complimentary Transportation to and from Marine Corp Recruit Depot - MCRD - for Graduations Only, Thurs- 7-9 am Departure-Pick-up 5-6pm, Fri-Departure-630-830am-Pick-up 1130-1230 pm.Cruise Ship Terminal Drop Off Shuttle is available at a fee. Please contact hotel to schedule your shuttle 1 day prior to arrival. Public Transportation is easily accessed across the street to O

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

32.7483 -117.2075
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Las Vegas, Nevada
May 16, 2012

Great hotel

The hotel was great, staff was friendly and the location was close to Sea World and centally located to other great places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sea World is a great attraction for families, and children will have a blast.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 8, 2009

Howard Johnson stay

Staff was very friendly, helpful. I appreciated the room service available, liked that it was connected to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
62tall
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Sea World Trip

We stayed here to go to Sea World for our sons 3rd birthday and had a wonderful time. The location is great...and we enjoyed mexican food right door for dinner :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't think this restuarant is actuall part of the hotel but RIGHT in front and EXCELLENT! Tio Carlos'

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Obibob3698
Business
Granada Hills, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Furniture

The table in the room was located in an inconvenient place and had cross pieces on all four sides making it uncomfortable for work or pushing the chair in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Funny Farm
Casa Grande, Arizona
Jun 25, 2014

Clean hotel near the beach and Sea World

No complaints! Hotel was very clean, had all the amenities we needed, and very centrally located. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I am hard to please with the cleanliness factor but this met my standards. The free breakfast was actually pretty good. The only thing I was missing was a hot tub but the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take the back exit out of the hotel and then take side streets out onto Sports Arena Blvd instead of exiting the hotel on the busy Rosecrans street and having to do a U-turn.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Mar 17, 2011

Great Value

I found this Hotel to be a great value. It's located by many food options and stores, the room was surprisingly big and I found all staff to be very friendly. I think anyone traveling to San Diego would be more then satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy CJ!
Chicago, IL
Jul 14, 2009

Good Stay!

Chose this hotel for the location for what we needed to do. We know the name of the hotel has been around a long time, and the price that Orbitz was able to secure it for us was too good to pass by! It was clean and very nice! The staff was friendly because they called the room just to welcome us and to tell us who to call if there was anything we would need. It was refreshing! I needed more pillows and they were prompt and courteous in getting them to me. I was very pleased and we will choose again if we are in that particular area again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to major San Diego attractions with shuttle service available.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Volodymyr
Fort Smith, AR
Oct 8, 2007

Good location

I thought this was a good hotel for the price considering how expensive everything is in San Diego. Within just a few miles are SeaWorld (the reason we went to San Diego), the Old Town, Balboa Park, beaches, the airport, etc. There is Walgreens next door, a mall, ATMs, gas stations?location is definitely good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They did have some renovations, particularly in bathrooms (granite and tile). Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, the fridge and microwave were definitely a plus. The room was pretty specious, so I'd add a desk with a lamp, maybe a sofa to make the room more comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. All in all, the hotel met my expectations; however, you get much more if you stay just outside of San Diego. Check out Cardiff by the Sea Comfort Inn, for example.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lighthouse, Beaches, Shopping are a short drive away

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beancounter1
Bloomsburg,PA
Sep 25, 2012

One Night Airport

Everything was as advertised including free shuttle to airport and free breakfast. Staff was excellent and room was clean with microwave and refer. Would stay here agin. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Gas Light District

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Trieste, ITALY
Aug 3, 2011

Very nice hotel at an affordable price!!

We travelled with our two grown up children (21, 23). The room was very spacious and very beautiful as well as for the bathroom that had the marble counter. The breakfast was also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The mexican restaurant close to the hotel. Very good food and good price.

Back to menu Return to top