$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
110 reviews
Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was... See full review

  • Charminglight
  • Jun 4, 2014
great place

this was a great place and a great value. we enjoyed the room and pool, not far from many... See full review

  • dennist1
  • May 9, 2014
At the Howard Johnson San Diego Sea World you will find yourself centrally located to all of the major Landmarks and Attractions including San Diego International Airport, SAN, Marine Corps Recruit Depot, MCRD, San Diego SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Historic Old town, SDSU, USD, UCSD, Sports Arena I-Pay One Center, Coronado Island, San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal, Mission Beach, Balboa Park, Downtown San Diego and Gaslamp Quarter, SeaPort Village, Naval Sub Base, and the Cabrillo National Monument. In addition to all of these great venues you also have shopping and dining at your footsteps. Enjoy your stay at the California Green Certified and AAA 3 Diamond Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld where you will stay in a newly upgraded guest room with pillow top mattresses, microwave, refrigerator and complimentary high speed wireless internet. Start your morning at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld with the aroma of our complimentary breakfast bar and Make Your Own Belgian Waffles. Enjoy a wide variety of fresh breakfast items and an inviting breakfast room that makes you feel at home. Indulge your senses through French doors that open up to an outdoor pool area allowing you to relax and enjoy sunny San Diego. Only a few steps to Tio Carlos, our onsite Mexican Restaurant. Enjoy some authentic Mexican food and enjoy a Margarita in the lounge. Happy Hour Specials Monday through Friday 4 to 6 pm.Complimentary Airport Shuttle- 5am to 8pm - Call Hotel when you arrive. Complimentary Sea World Shuttle For Nominal Fee- 10am Departure and 5 pm Return - With 24hrs Reservation. Will not be running on July 4th. Complimentary Transportation to and from Marine Corp Recruit Depot - MCRD - for Graduations Only, Thurs- 7-9 am Departure-Pick-up 5-6pm, Fri-Departure-630-830am-Pick-up 1130-1230 pm.Cruise Ship Terminal Drop Off Shuttle is available at a fee. Please contact hotel to schedule your shuttle 1 day prior to arrival. Public Transportation is easily accessed across the street to O

Hotel Map

32.7483 -117.2075
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Oct 22, 2010

generally good

The room is good and clean. The only problem was a loud chat in a nearby room that bothered me all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sea2014
Business
seattle
Apr 13, 2014

Howard Johnson's Seaworld San Diego

Great experience- simple, clean, great value. I used car2go (smartcar) to commute into town each day for a conference, which worked out perfectly-- 15 mins or so, and cars were readily available within walking distance of the hotel (often right outside). Alternative is the trolley from old town stop, about 10-15 min walk. Free shuttle from/to the airport. Friendly and helpful staff at the desk. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Volodymyr
Fort Smith, AR
Oct 8, 2007

Good location

I thought this was a good hotel for the price considering how expensive everything is in San Diego. Within just a few miles are SeaWorld (the reason we went to San Diego), the Old Town, Balboa Park, beaches, the airport, etc. There is Walgreens next door, a mall, ATMs, gas stations?location is definitely good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They did have some renovations, particularly in bathrooms (granite and tile). Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, the fridge and microwave were definitely a plus. The room was pretty specious, so I'd add a desk with a lamp, maybe a sofa to make the room more comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. All in all, the hotel met my expectations; however, you get much more if you stay just outside of San Diego. Check out Cardiff by the Sea Comfort Inn, for example.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lighthouse, Beaches, Shopping are a short drive away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jul 23, 2007

Not enough for the money

Continental Breakfast pretty bare Location good as far as centralized The staff was very courteous and helpful pool was not nery big actually small I would get nearer to the beach next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get to beaches early as parking is limited. Took 1 hour to find a spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABBP
Washington DC
Dec 21, 2013

How do you get therte?

I stayed in the hotel on my way in and out towards Washington DC on the 1st and 15th of Dec. The shuttle from the San Diego airport only runs until 8:00 pm so in both occasion I had to take a cab. To my surprise, an in spite of making sure I mention the hotel is called Howard Johnson In San Diego Sea World , I was taken to another Howard Johnson somewhere else. Believe it or not in both occasions I had to take a second cab and the hotel did nothing to help!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 29, 2011

The good and the bad.

The room was very nice and updated. The free breakfast was fantastic. It's so close to everything...Sea World, beaches, any fast food restaurant you could want, including 2 starbucks w/in walking distance. However, the noise from the planes taking off was too much for me and the street noise from all the daytime traffic ruined the peacefulness. Won't be going back here because of the noise issue. The pool was also disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashleyboo
All over
Oct 4, 2012

good value

Room was clean, though carpet is stained. Accommodating staff. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Feb 2, 2008

My review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

The rooms were Ok. We did have a few problems, but after my husband had a fit and argued with them they did correct the issue. One of our rooms did have a small amount of money taken. We were never in the room in the day time, but when we retired at night it was comfortable and we did sleep well. The beds were fairly comfortable and the noise level was low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A small mall is located across the street with many eating places just walking distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jean123
los angeles, ca
Nov 1, 2011

3 out of 5

The place is safe and the rooms are clean good for a short trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashleyboo
All over
Oct 4, 2012

I'd stay again

No complaints, especially for the value. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search