$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
169 reviews
Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was... See full review

  • Charminglight
  • Jun 4, 2014
great place

this was a great place and a great value. we enjoyed the room and pool, not far from many... See full review

  • dennist1
  • May 9, 2014
At the Howard Johnson San Diego Sea World you will find yourself centrally located to all of the major Landmarks and Attractions including San Diego International Airport, SAN, Marine Corps Recruit Depot, MCRD, San Diego SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Historic Old town, SDSU, USD, UCSD, Sports Arena I-Pay One Center, Coronado Island, San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal, Mission Beach, Balboa Park, Downtown San Diego and Gaslamp Quarter, SeaPort Village, Naval Sub Base, and the Cabrillo National Monument. In addition to all of these great venues you also have shopping and dining at your footsteps. Enjoy your stay at the California Green Certified and AAA 3 Diamond Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld where you will stay in a newly upgraded guest room with pillow top mattresses, microwave, refrigerator and complimentary high speed wireless internet. Start your morning at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld with the aroma of our complimentary breakfast bar and Make Your Own Belgian Waffles. Enjoy a wide variety of fresh breakfast items and an inviting breakfast room that makes you feel at home. Indulge your senses through French doors that open up to an outdoor pool area allowing you to relax and enjoy sunny San Diego. Only a few steps to Tio Carlos, our onsite Mexican Restaurant. Enjoy some authentic Mexican food and enjoy a Margarita in the lounge. Happy Hour Specials Monday through Friday 4 to 6 pm.Complimentary Airport Shuttle- 5am to 8pm - Call Hotel when you arrive. Complimentary Sea World Shuttle For Nominal Fee- 10am Departure and 5 pm Return - With 24hrs Reservation. Will not be running on July 4th. Complimentary Transportation to and from Marine Corp Recruit Depot - MCRD - for Graduations Only, Thurs- 7-9 am Departure-Pick-up 5-6pm, Fri-Departure-630-830am-Pick-up 1130-1230 pm.Cruise Ship Terminal Drop Off Shuttle is available at a fee. Please contact hotel to schedule your shuttle 1 day prior to arrival. Public Transportation is easily accessed across the street to O

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

32.7483 -117.2075
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 15, 2008

comfortable beds

Because i travel a lot on business and stay in a number of different hotels I found the beds extremely comfortable. The room was very clean--even smelled clean. Check-in was a breeze--very helpful,pleasant clerk who worked quickly and efficiently to get a checked into our rooms at a late hour. This hotel was located for easy accessability to Sea World,Old Town, several shopping centers and had easy access to major hwys. I would most certainly recommend this facility to friends as well as stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town has several great restaurants. But if needed there is a grocery store and restaurants accross the street and at the hotel as well.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro
Oct 19, 2008

Very friendly and convenient

I stayed at Howarth Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World for one night. The hotel is conveniently located near the airport, and I used shuttle service to get there on time for my flight. The room was spacious, it was quiet around. I'd recommend a friend to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were a few shop in a walking distance from the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guestsunshine
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great hotel great trip

A very good experience. The bed is comfortable and there is free internet access. There is a free breakfast which offers waffles, bread, coffee etc. I have to say it is actually better than those big hotels. I would definitely recommend this to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 7, 2007

Family Friendly

When we were looking for a room in San Diego, we had a few things we wanted, a pool, clean and in a safe neighborhood. The Howard Johnson at Sea World (HJSW)met those criteria for the best money. I always hesitate to spend a lot of money on hotels because we just don't spend that much time in them while on vacation. They are basically a place to lay our head at night. The roons at HJSW were recently remodeled so even though the hotel was older, it was clean. The staff was friendly. The pool was a bit small, but clean. HWSW had all the amenities that we were looking for at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Route 8 and Route 5

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charminglight
Rosamond ca
Jun 4, 2014

Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was very polite and helpful. Very pleased and would go back anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to everything

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 12, 2007

very family friendly

I was very pleased since the hotel remodeled. I felt very secure with the security guide. I was close to everything.The room and bed were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It had a great bagel place across from the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown
Oct 20, 2008

Great Value

The Howard Johnson was very nice. Clean rooms. Very nice staff. Must get there early for the free breakfast. Pool is on the small size. Felt safe walking around at night time. Great location: Walking distance to a Walgreens and CVS and tons of restaurants. Right by the bus line to Old Town, and the beaches. And taking the bus is a lot cheaper than taxis, you can get an all day bus pass for only $5.00! The only thing you are not close to is down town, but you can take the bus right by the hotel to Old Town and catch the city bus that will take you right down town. Or for a little extra, you can take the Double Decker tour bus which you can hop on and off all around the down town area. This was our first trip to San Diego and we loved every moment of it!! Definetly take a Harbor Cruise to check out all of the bay and all of the Navy Military Ships.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens right down the street or CVS right across the street. Perfect if you forgot to pack something or want some snacks for the room. Both are open 24 hours AND the CVS sells liquor and alcohol:)

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las vegas, nv
Nov 10, 2010

The room was very spacious

The hotel was really nice, the bed was nice and big. everything was really clean. It was in a convenient location close to great shopping places and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right acroos the street is a shopping center that have pick up stix,baja fresh and other food places.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2008

Great Value for the Price

The Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World was a good value for the price. The continental breakfast each morning was adequately supplied. The room contained a microwave and a refrigerator which were convenient when we had left overs from eating out. The location was also within walking distance to Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great family restaurant about a 20-minute walk away. Large portions at resonible prices.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 17, 2007

More than expected

From the second I arrived, I was very impressed with the place. We were greeted with friendly service and checking in was easy. The room was very nice and spacious. The new renovations look fantastic. The location of the hotel could not have been better. Sea World was 2 miles away and Old Town was even closer. My girlfriend and I were very please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town is down the street and there are soo many restaurants to choose from.

Back to menu Return to top