$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
110 reviews
Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was... See full review

  • Charminglight
  • Jun 4, 2014
great place

this was a great place and a great value. we enjoyed the room and pool, not far from many... See full review

  • dennist1
  • May 9, 2014
At the Howard Johnson San Diego Sea World you will find yourself centrally located to all of the major Landmarks and Attractions including San Diego International Airport, SAN, Marine Corps Recruit Depot, MCRD, San Diego SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Historic Old town, SDSU, USD, UCSD, Sports Arena I-Pay One Center, Coronado Island, San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal, Mission Beach, Balboa Park, Downtown San Diego and Gaslamp Quarter, SeaPort Village, Naval Sub Base, and the Cabrillo National Monument. In addition to all of these great venues you also have shopping and dining at your footsteps. Enjoy your stay at the California Green Certified and AAA 3 Diamond Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld where you will stay in a newly upgraded guest room with pillow top mattresses, microwave, refrigerator and complimentary high speed wireless internet. Start your morning at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld with the aroma of our complimentary breakfast bar and Make Your Own Belgian Waffles. Enjoy a wide variety of fresh breakfast items and an inviting breakfast room that makes you feel at home. Indulge your senses through French doors that open up to an outdoor pool area allowing you to relax and enjoy sunny San Diego. Only a few steps to Tio Carlos, our onsite Mexican Restaurant. Enjoy some authentic Mexican food and enjoy a Margarita in the lounge. Happy Hour Specials Monday through Friday 4 to 6 pm.Complimentary Airport Shuttle- 5am to 8pm - Call Hotel when you arrive. Complimentary Sea World Shuttle For Nominal Fee- 10am Departure and 5 pm Return - With 24hrs Reservation. Will not be running on July 4th. Complimentary Transportation to and from Marine Corp Recruit Depot - MCRD - for Graduations Only, Thurs- 7-9 am Departure-Pick-up 5-6pm, Fri-Departure-630-830am-Pick-up 1130-1230 pm.Cruise Ship Terminal Drop Off Shuttle is available at a fee. Please contact hotel to schedule your shuttle 1 day prior to arrival. Public Transportation is easily accessed across the street to O

Hotel Map

32.7483 -117.2075
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las vegas, nv
Nov 10, 2010

The room was very spacious

The hotel was really nice, the bed was nice and big. everything was really clean. It was in a convenient location close to great shopping places and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right acroos the street is a shopping center that have pick up stix,baja fresh and other food places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Apr 22, 2008

Great Value for the Price

The Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World was a good value for the price. The continental breakfast each morning was adequately supplied. The room contained a microwave and a refrigerator which were convenient when we had left overs from eating out. The location was also within walking distance to Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great family restaurant about a 20-minute walk away. Large portions at resonible prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 17, 2007

More than expected

From the second I arrived, I was very impressed with the place. We were greeted with friendly service and checking in was easy. The room was very nice and spacious. The new renovations look fantastic. The location of the hotel could not have been better. Sea World was 2 miles away and Old Town was even closer. My girlfriend and I were very please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town is down the street and there are soo many restaurants to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2007

Family friendly

Stay was great , except there was a surpise charge at the end of $1 per day for using the safe lock in the hotel room. They do have a notice at checkin which mentions that , but I would have thought that it should be complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Loma Mission Bay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 12, 2007

very family friendly

I was very pleased since the hotel remodeled. I felt very secure with the security guide. I was close to everything.The room and bed were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It had a great bagel place across from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Feb 10, 2011

Great for the price

Room was extremely roomy, very clean, and excellent location. Was a safe area. We couldn't believe the value. Very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay again. Only problem was there was only one ice maker and it didn't work very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jsen
Seattle, WA
Jun 20, 2011

Good value and location for the price

Nice hotel, good for the price and it is very close to the sea world. the 1st room we got smelled like someone smoked inside the room, went to the front desk and they changed it right away. It was pretty hard to adjust the air con, either high AC or no AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure to book the free shuttle and buy the discounted zoo ticket

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seenitall
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Pleasant stay

We thought it was a good value based on other hotels we had stayed at in Southern California. You're only minutes away from the SD attractions and there are plenty of restaurants and stores in the area if you need anything. The staff was very nice and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Loved having the fridge and microwave since we were trying to avoid eating out every meal. Tv had more than average # of channels. Bathroom lighting could have been better but hardly a complaint. Close to airport which is connvenient, and airplane noise was not an issue at all. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boulder, CO
Apr 19, 2011

Good and cheap

The staff was friendly, everything was easy. They provided us with a crib, which was great. The place was clean and simple - not fancy, but we didn't care. It was convenient to everything we wanted to do -- it seemed like everything was 20 minutes away, no matter how far! And the neighborhood was safe. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Pretty good Mexican food attached to the hotel -- try the carnitas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mausey
St. Louis, Mo
Feb 2, 2012

Clean, comfortable, and affordable!

We were pleasantly surprised with the friendly and professional staff at this hotel. The room was clean, updated and comfortable. Close to lots of restaurants, shops, and the airport. Would definitely stay there again. Thank you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate dinner at a place called "Yummy Buffet". I know it sounds corny, but it was amazing!. Clean, beautiful and really was 'yummy"! Asian and American food, even included prime rib and baby back ribs that were delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search