$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 7, 2007

Family Friendly

When we were looking for a room in San Diego, we had a few things we wanted, a pool, clean and in a safe neighborhood. The Howard Johnson at Sea World (HJSW)met those criteria for the best money. I always hesitate to spend a lot of money on hotels because we just don't spend that much time in them while on vacation. They are basically a place to lay our head at night. The roons at HJSW were recently remodeled so even though the hotel was older, it was clean. The staff was friendly. The pool was a bit small, but clean. HWSW had all the amenities that we were looking for at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Route 8 and Route 5

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 10, 2007

Wonderfully nice rooms

I have stayed at a few newly renovated hotels but I have to say that this hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. The rooms were very clean. It's nice to have some extra room if you need it. Also it is very nice to have a microwave, ref, sitting area and a very spacious room. I will stay there again and am planning a trip back to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex's dad 1
Business
Greensboro, NC
Nov 18, 2014

Nice trip

I stayed at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World with my wife and son. Everything was good. The location is convenient. A walk to the marina is pleasant. The airport is very close to the hotel, but planes did not disturb us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Harbor and marina

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TC
Business
Golden
Apr 6, 2015

Good for Price

It was the cheapest hotel I could find. Given that, it was pretty good. The room was clean, and there were no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sea2014
Business
seattle
Apr 13, 2014

Howard Johnson's Seaworld San Diego

Great experience- simple, clean, great value. I used car2go (smartcar) to commute into town each day for a conference, which worked out perfectly-- 15 mins or so, and cars were readily available within walking distance of the hotel (often right outside). Alternative is the trolley from old town stop, about 10-15 min walk. Free shuttle from/to the airport. Friendly and helpful staff at the desk. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
62tall
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Sea World Trip

We stayed here to go to Sea World for our sons 3rd birthday and had a wonderful time. The location is great...and we enjoyed mexican food right door for dinner :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't think this restuarant is actuall part of the hotel but RIGHT in front and EXCELLENT! Tio Carlos'

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pawh
Business
Napa, California, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Howard Johnson

For the money, it was excellent. Good location, large room, clean and daily housekeeping service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A really nice Costco

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mausey
Business
St. Louis, Mo
Feb 2, 2012

Clean, comfortable, and affordable!

We were pleasantly surprised with the friendly and professional staff at this hotel. The room was clean, updated and comfortable. Close to lots of restaurants, shops, and the airport. Would definitely stay there again. Thank you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate dinner at a place called "Yummy Buffet". I know it sounds corny, but it was amazing!. Clean, beautiful and really was 'yummy"! Asian and American food, even included prime rib and baby back ribs that were delicious!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xdarthveganx
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 29, 2012

Had a great time

I was in San Diego for an academic conference. While there are certainly nicer places to stay, I was very happy with with the room for what I had to pay. Room was clean, large and then bed was super comfy. While the immediate area isn't that great, it is close to almost everything. Would totally recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coppergirl
Business
Sonora, CA
May 8, 2012

Sea World San Diego

Overall, the hotel is what is to be expected for the price. The room was clean, had a good free breakfast and was in a good location to Sea World, Old Town, and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top