Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
110 reviews
Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was... See full review

  • Charminglight
  • Jun 4, 2014
great place

this was a great place and a great value. we enjoyed the room and pool, not far from many... See full review

  • dennist1
  • May 9, 2014
At the Howard Johnson San Diego Sea World you will find yourself centrally located to all of the major Landmarks and Attractions including San Diego International Airport, SAN, Marine Corps Recruit Depot, MCRD, San Diego SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, Historic Old town, SDSU, USD, UCSD, Sports Arena I-Pay One Center, Coronado Island, San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal, Mission Beach, Balboa Park, Downtown San Diego and Gaslamp Quarter, SeaPort Village, Naval Sub Base, and the Cabrillo National Monument. In addition to all of these great venues you also have shopping and dining at your footsteps. Enjoy your stay at the California Green Certified and AAA 3 Diamond Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld where you will stay in a newly upgraded guest room with pillow top mattresses, microwave, refrigerator and complimentary high speed wireless internet. Start your morning at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld with the aroma of our complimentary breakfast bar and Make Your Own Belgian Waffles. Enjoy a wide variety of fresh breakfast items and an inviting breakfast room that makes you feel at home. Indulge your senses through French doors that open up to an outdoor pool area allowing you to relax and enjoy sunny San Diego. Only a few steps to Tio Carlos, our onsite Mexican Restaurant. Enjoy some authentic Mexican food and enjoy a Margarita in the lounge. Happy Hour Specials Monday through Friday 4 to 6 pm.Complimentary Airport Shuttle- 5am to 8pm - Call Hotel when you arrive. Complimentary Sea World Shuttle For Nominal Fee- 10am Departure and 5 pm Return - With 24hrs Reservation. Will not be running on July 4th. Complimentary Transportation to and from Marine Corp Recruit Depot - MCRD - for Graduations Only, Thurs- 7-9 am Departure-Pick-up 5-6pm, Fri-Departure-630-830am-Pick-up 1130-1230 pm.Cruise Ship Terminal Drop Off Shuttle is available at a fee. Please contact hotel to schedule your shuttle 1 day prior to arrival. Public Transportation is easily accessed across the street to O

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

32.7483 -117.2075
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Central Highlands, AZ
Feb 22, 2011

Probably Best Stay on Rosecrans

We switched our reservations from an 'upscale' motel to the Howard Johnson's and were apprehensive about the $200 a night downgrade. We were blown away with the up to date maintenance of the place. Even though the breakfast was not a 'complete' meal like the others, we appreciated the $600 savings more. Accommodations,cleaning crew,receptionist are all excellent. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For fresh fruit and other healthy snacks try Henry's across the way!!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mesa, AZ
Oct 5, 2010

Great Hotel

Our stay was great!! The front desk attendant was very courteous and helpful. The room was bigger than most with a really nice refrig, microwave, all housed in a nice cabinet with extra storage. The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast. Nice eating area with tables. If you don't like it there is a Starbucks, Jamba Juice, and Einstein bros bagels directly across the street. Location was great with plenty of restaurants and grocery stores close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Downey, CA.
Feb 1, 2010

Excellent!!

Overall I was very impressed with the room, very clean and modern. Next time I'm in San Diego, I will definitely stay here again. I also loved how all the attractions are nearby! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro
Oct 19, 2008

Very friendly and convenient

I stayed at Howarth Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World for one night. The hotel is conveniently located near the airport, and I used shuttle service to get there on time for my flight. The room was spacious, it was quiet around. I'd recommend a friend to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were a few shop in a walking distance from the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 28, 2007

good value

Good value hotel. Clean, good dining options nearby. Comfortable room, friendly desk staff. Very busy street, but for the money a fine place overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esmerelda86
Charlottesville, VA
Nov 27, 2013

A pleasant stay

I needed a place to stay overnight to catch an early flight in the morning that didn't cost an arm and a leg. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and larger than I expected. I heard a few planes going overhead, but I being near the airport, that will happen. By the time I went to bed, I no longer heard planes or vehicle traffic (and I was near the street). I had a good night sleep and an easy, early morning checkout. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 7, 2007

Family Friendly

When we were looking for a room in San Diego, we had a few things we wanted, a pool, clean and in a safe neighborhood. The Howard Johnson at Sea World (HJSW)met those criteria for the best money. I always hesitate to spend a lot of money on hotels because we just don't spend that much time in them while on vacation. They are basically a place to lay our head at night. The roons at HJSW were recently remodeled so even though the hotel was older, it was clean. The staff was friendly. The pool was a bit small, but clean. HWSW had all the amenities that we were looking for at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Route 8 and Route 5

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 24, 2008

Great place to stay

The Howard Johnson was very nice and relaxing for us. The staff was very friendly and the schedule for all the shuttles and over to MCRD was very easy to follow.They explained everything of when the shuttle will leave and return,and the last time it runs for the day. They were doing renovation on the hotel and they were very nice of start and stop times for our comfort. If we were ever in San Diego again we would stay there without question!! Very nice place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of little stores and coffee shops right across from the hotel,and down farther Target home depot,to many to mention.We did do a lot of quick shopping at Walgreens a block away.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimmie911
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was great for the price we paid. The location was awesome. We were no more than 3 miles from anything we wanted. The only complaint we have was the walls were thin. We could hear what was going on upstairs and next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 10, 2007

Wonderfully nice rooms

I have stayed at a few newly renovated hotels but I have to say that this hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. The rooms were very clean. It's nice to have some extra room if you need it. Also it is very nice to have a microwave, ref, sitting area and a very spacious room. I will stay there again and am planning a trip back to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top