$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
112 reviews
Good for Price

It was the cheapest hotel I could find. Given that, it was pretty good. The room was clean, and... See full review

  • TC
  • Apr 6, 2015
Nice trip

I stayed at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World with my wife and son. Everything was good. The... See full review

  • Alex's dad 1
  • Nov 18, 2014
Book your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego SeaWorld conveniently located near SeaWorld San Diego, cruise ship terminals, and San Diego International Airport with shuttle service. There is also a Shuttle service to the Marine Corp Recruit Depot for graduation events. Spend a fun-filled day swimming, sailing or fishing at Mission Beach, or experience an African Safari at the San Diego Zoo. Enjoy traditional Southwestern dishes at Tio Carlos Mexican Restaurant onsite. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with the complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax with a swim in the outdoor pool, and take advantage of the business center to stay productive. Complimentary access to nearby Golds 24 hour Gyn. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator, or request a room with bunk beds. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available at this smoke-free lodging. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

★★★
$89
3.1 / 5 362 reviews
★★★
$111
3.6 / 5 163 reviews
★★
$66
3.7 / 5 437 reviews
★★★
$92
4.1 / 5 122 reviews
★★★
$111
3.8 / 5 66 reviews
★★★
$71
3.6 / 5 242 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 112
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roff
Couples
San Jose
Mar 3, 2015

Stayed 3 Nights

We stayed 3 nights here for leisure. The room was large enough for 2 people and looked clean. The staff I talked was nice and kind. The best thing was its location. It was convenient to go to any areas around San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChappyD
Couples
Glendale
Sep 22, 2014

Visit/Business

Located next to a good Mexican Restaurant is handy however the restaurant had no parking area subsequently, the spill over parking takes Motels slots. I had no evening parking in front of my room. By eleven o'clock it was open, too late to move my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek cuisine decilious

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike LV
Couples
Palmyra, Va
Sep 19, 2014

good location for Old Town

Stayed 4 days, close to Old Town, Airport and beaches. Great staff, clean well kept rooms. Only trouble I had was having to call tech support every time I tried to get wifi access on computer, when in room. Other than that I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RCD713
Couples
Show Low Arizona
Aug 11, 2014

get away

The hotel is a basic hotel. Good location. The breakfast was ok. could use more fruit etc. Over all a good place to stay for the price,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paraque
Couples
30269
Jul 7, 2013

Mr

It was fine place to stay close to the airport and downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Padre David
Couples
El Sargento, BCS, Mexico
Jun 17, 2013

Central Location and Very Afordable

A clean and average hotel centrally located in the heart of San Diego. Free shuttle to and from San Diego Airport. Walking distance to major shoping centers. A good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
another name
Couples
Seattle
May 13, 2013

Parked here before our cruise

This hotel was pretty much as advertized so we can't really complain. We saw a previous review that complained of the noise. We asked for a room away from the street but did not get it. We did not hear much road noise anyway. The walls were thin enough that we could easily here the guests next door. Luckily, again no complaint as they turned in about when we did. I can not recommend the onsite Mexican restaurant. It was obviously convenient and the staff was nice but the food just was not great. We were convenient to the shopping we wanted to do. Pick up at the airport and transport to the pier were both timely and good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cansada
Couples
Orange County
Apr 8, 2013

Could not sleep!

Everything else was fine for a night stay but I had a horrible experience trying to get some good night sleep. In between the noisy neighbors we had that were up all night deciding on their trip since we could hear everything!!! and the cars and airplanes passing all night long..we had the worst night ever!!! not to mention the worst service trying to find a place that would deliver us food at 9pm..but that's not the hotels issue. I will not stay here ever again! It was not worth the price cuss of the horrible noisy area it's in. so I don't recommend it unless its the last resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DJMSD
Couples
London, Ontario
Oct 15, 2012

A very dated hotel which is actually a motel.

The picture on the website was very deceiving. This hotel is VERY old. The microwave didn't work, the fridge barely worked and there was no pool. The smell of smoke in our non-smoking room was very strong. Good location close to the airport for our early flight. It would have been depressing to have stayed there for any longer than an over-night close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beancounter1
Couples
Bloomsburg,PA
Sep 25, 2012

One Night Airport

Everything was as advertised including free shuttle to airport and free breakfast. Staff was excellent and room was clean with microwave and refer. Would stay here agin. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Gas Light District

Back to menu Return to top