$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FluffyG
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 25, 2011

Just okay

Location is very nice. Close to San Diego Zoo and San Diego Seaworld. One staff seems doesn't know much about their hotel. I asked them about the TV if it's cable or not, and how come some channel isn't there, he asked me back, 'what channel listing?'. I told them the one on top of their TV, and he still doesn't have any clue. The AC control on the wall at room 114 is very loose. If you wiggle it around a little bit, the AC is dead. When you closed the door too loud, the AC is dead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's bunch of eateries around there. Just walk around. You'll see Thai, Viet, Chinese, Burgers, Taco Bell, CVS, Target, grocery store, etc. Even stripmall.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bells,TN
Jun 7, 2011

Clean and comfortable

Came to san Diego to see the zoo and SeaWorld. The room was close to both places and the beach, nothing special about the hotel but it was clean and the staff was friendly. And there was plenty of restaurants near buy the area seemed a little seedy but surprising it was quiet at night. So if you're here to enjoy what san Diego has to offer and just sleep and maybe watch a little TV at night this hotel is worth a try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
at large
Dec 13, 2010

Ho Jo, SW

I stayed here last year and liked it enough to come back. Different room this time. Pretty musty smelling on entry. That said, the maid service is great and the rest the staff very helpful as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Wa
Jan 28, 2011

good deal

Got this hotel because it was in walking distance to a vehicle repair facility. Friendly and helpful staff, large room and all the ammenities. Good value for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rugby Referee
Business
Los Feliz
Jun 28, 2009

Nothing Flashy - A Solid SD Choice

This is one of any number of Hotels in the Sports Arena area. Gotta face the facts that Downtown and Mission Bay are just too pricey. The area's not much to look at. The rooms are fine, nothing special. On the plus side, they are central to everything, very friendly and the restaurant is quite good. The morning breakfast seemed popular for the families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is as close as you can get to Mission Bay/Sea World at an affordable price. For me, that meant Robb Field/Ocean Beach.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brea, CA
Jul 7, 2011

Worth the few extra dollars

I wanted to find a hotel near Sea World that wasn't too expensive because we were only going to be there one night. This hotel was very clean and despite what others have said it's not loud at all. Yes planes are flying by but we couldn't hear it from our room at all. I didn't mind paying a little bit extra for a more comfortable room. The room was a surprisingly nice size with a mini fridge, pullout couch and microwave to boot. I was overall very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some of the best restaurants around are Karl Strauss, Phil's BBQ, and Woodstocks Pizza. Enjoy!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 29, 2011

The good and the bad.

The room was very nice and updated. The free breakfast was fantastic. It's so close to everything...Sea World, beaches, any fast food restaurant you could want, including 2 starbucks w/in walking distance. However, the noise from the planes taking off was too much for me and the street noise from all the daytime traffic ruined the peacefulness. Won't be going back here because of the noise issue. The pool was also disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
codasign[@]
Oct 5, 2010

great deal

We stayed over night before heading to the airport to return home. The hotel was very close to the San Diego airport and in a location with easy access to restaurants and shopping. The complimentary continental breakfast was an excellent way to start my travels. The only thing that would have made my stay most enjoyable, was if the room didn't have that "stale air" smell upon first entering the room. After a few minutes of airing out the room, the smell was gone. I am very happy with my experience at the Howard Johnsonand will be staying there again the next time I visit San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go down Midway and you'll find many places to eat.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo, HI
Nov 2, 2008

Get what you paid for

This hotel is exactly what you paid for. Nothing fancy.....room is ok but the door was hard to open...and there is not elevator to the 2nd floor. But for te price....what can you ask for. At least the breakfast was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like strip bars...this is a good location. But it's not for me.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PattiMc
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 13, 2011

Good value

This was probably a very nice hotel in its day, but today is just a touch "old". However, that being said, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or more helpful. I would have liked protein served with the continental breakfast (eggs were available, but typically weren't put out unless requested; and no peanut butter for the toast). But other than that, it was a very good place located within walking distance of restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top