$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
otrman
Business
Cincinnati
Jan 23, 2010

Great Accommodations and Location

excellent handicap bathroom facility - convenient to freeways and only less than 10 minutes to the beach - really appreciate that the whole facility is nonsmoking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Nov 16, 2009

great price, great location

stayed 3 nights at this hotel. it was very clean for its price. beds are comfy.locations is great its 3 minutes away from sea world, 5 minutes from quartz gaslamp. shops are all over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johne3797
Business
San Diego
Sep 13, 2009

Great for Families of MCRD Graduates

This hotel was perfect for the purpose of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 8, 2009

Howard Johnson stay

Staff was very friendly, helpful. I appreciated the room service available, liked that it was connected to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darwin's butler
Business
Ventura County
Sep 1, 2009

Hotel is great for the price

If you are looking for a clean, unpretentious place to stay and don't want to spend a lot of money, this is it. Coffee maker, iron and board, clean, comfy, TV, free wi-fi. More than worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy CJ!
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 14, 2009

Good Stay!

Chose this hotel for the location for what we needed to do. We know the name of the hotel has been around a long time, and the price that Orbitz was able to secure it for us was too good to pass by! It was clean and very nice! The staff was friendly because they called the room just to welcome us and to tell us who to call if there was anything we would need. It was refreshing! I needed more pillows and they were prompt and courteous in getting them to me. I was very pleased and we will choose again if we are in that particular area again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to major San Diego attractions with shuttle service available.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rugby Referee
Business
Los Feliz
Jun 28, 2009

Nothing Flashy - A Solid SD Choice

This is one of any number of Hotels in the Sports Arena area. Gotta face the facts that Downtown and Mission Bay are just too pricey. The area's not much to look at. The rooms are fine, nothing special. On the plus side, they are central to everything, very friendly and the restaurant is quite good. The morning breakfast seemed popular for the families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is as close as you can get to Mission Bay/Sea World at an affordable price. For me, that meant Robb Field/Ocean Beach.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 16, 2009

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

My mother and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel for the most part. It was nice having a refridgerator in the room because we decided to buy our food from a local market so we wouldn't have to eat at restaurants and fast food places. The rooms looked like they had been recently remodeled and were clean. We also had all of the basic cable channels which was nice because we did spend a lot of time in the room one day. It was quiet during the day but we had some noisy people next door to us...they talked loudly throughout the night until about 3am and we could hear their kids playing. The hotel was close to lots of great things: Ocean Beach, Target, several grocery stores, Starbucks and the freeway. Also, they had free internet access in their lobby which was helpful for looking up maps and other attractions in the area. The downside of the hotel would be the paper thin walls which made it easy to hear the people who were in the rooms next to us. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others and I would most definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Since there is a fridge in the room, you can buy lots of bottled water/drinks and food and store them in the freezer for use while in the room. This was a BIG money saver for us.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ingolstadt Germany
May 8, 2009

Good service for a good price

Goosd big rooms for a fair price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hilo, HI
Nov 2, 2008

Get what you paid for

This hotel is exactly what you paid for. Nothing fancy.....room is ok but the door was hard to open...and there is not elevator to the 2nd floor. But for te price....what can you ask for. At least the breakfast was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like strip bars...this is a good location. But it's not for me.

Back to menu Return to top