$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sneaky
Business
Madera,Ca.
Jan 31, 2012

Nice Family stay

Was comfortable,desk clerks were friendly and informative,not a bad place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Sea World,Air Port

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Fun Time
Business
Vancouver WA
Apr 6, 2012

Good value

This hotel is centrally located to all San Diego attractions. The staff was very helpful. The room was nice but the walls are alittle thin. You could hear the people talking next door. The pool is small. The continental breakfast is very busy. Get there early or breakfast items could be gone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good shopping at Old Town San Diego.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashleyboo
Business
All over
Oct 4, 2012

good value

Room was clean, though carpet is stained. Accommodating staff. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashleyboo
Business
All over
Oct 4, 2012

I'd stay again

No complaints, especially for the value. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proud Marine Auntie
Business
Indiana
Apr 7, 2013

Close to MCRD

Hotel was fine. It was close, comfortable and reasonable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
another name
Business
Seattle
May 13, 2013

Parked here before our cruise

This hotel was pretty much as advertized so we can't really complain. We saw a previous review that complained of the noise. We asked for a room away from the street but did not get it. We did not hear much road noise anyway. The walls were thin enough that we could easily here the guests next door. Luckily, again no complaint as they turned in about when we did. I can not recommend the onsite Mexican restaurant. It was obviously convenient and the staff was nice but the food just was not great. We were convenient to the shopping we wanted to do. Pick up at the airport and transport to the pier were both timely and good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosie81
Business
san diego, ca
Jun 20, 2013

It was pretty standard

It was pretty standard. great location. decent hotel. everything else was pretty average. nothing bad though...just nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Padre David
Business
El Sargento, BCS, Mexico
Jun 17, 2013

Central Location and Very Afordable

A clean and average hotel centrally located in the heart of San Diego. Free shuttle to and from San Diego Airport. Walking distance to major shoping centers. A good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paraque
Business
30269
Jul 7, 2013

Mr

It was fine place to stay close to the airport and downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABBP
Business
Washington DC
Dec 21, 2013

How do you get therte?

I stayed in the hotel on my way in and out towards Washington DC on the 1st and 15th of Dec. The shuttle from the San Diego airport only runs until 8:00 pm so in both occasion I had to take a cab. To my surprise, an in spite of making sure I mention the hotel is called Howard Johnson In San Diego Sea World , I was taken to another Howard Johnson somewhere else. Believe it or not in both occasions I had to take a second cab and the hotel did nothing to help!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top