$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimmie911
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was great for the price we paid. The location was awesome. We were no more than 3 miles from anything we wanted. The only complaint we have was the walls were thin. We could hear what was going on upstairs and next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 16, 2009

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

My mother and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel for the most part. It was nice having a refridgerator in the room because we decided to buy our food from a local market so we wouldn't have to eat at restaurants and fast food places. The rooms looked like they had been recently remodeled and were clean. We also had all of the basic cable channels which was nice because we did spend a lot of time in the room one day. It was quiet during the day but we had some noisy people next door to us...they talked loudly throughout the night until about 3am and we could hear their kids playing. The hotel was close to lots of great things: Ocean Beach, Target, several grocery stores, Starbucks and the freeway. Also, they had free internet access in their lobby which was helpful for looking up maps and other attractions in the area. The downside of the hotel would be the paper thin walls which made it easy to hear the people who were in the rooms next to us. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others and I would most definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Since there is a fridge in the room, you can buy lots of bottled water/drinks and food and store them in the freezer for use while in the room. This was a BIG money saver for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
otrman
Business
Cincinnati
Jan 23, 2010

Great Accommodations and Location

excellent handicap bathroom facility - convenient to freeways and only less than 10 minutes to the beach - really appreciate that the whole facility is nonsmoking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 7, 2007

Very Clean, Close to Everything

This hotel is definitely a good value for your money. The rooms were exceedingly clean. It doesn't look that great from the outside, but the staff was great. It is located near rt 8 and rt 5 so it is a short drive to all the major attractions. The neighborhood is very retail, it has pretty much every major fast food chain you can think of and also a few adult establishments. The rooms had microwaves and refrigerators so we were able to walk to the grocery and keep snacks for the kids. The pool was tiny, but it was very clean. If you are looking for a clean, cheap place to stay that is convenient to all the major San Diego attractions, this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Henry's grocery store across the street (similar to Whole Foods/Wild Oats). We bought healthy snacks to take with us when we were out and about for the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Feb 10, 2011

Great for the price

Room was extremely roomy, very clean, and excellent location. Was a safe area. We couldn't believe the value. Very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay again. Only problem was there was only one ice maker and it didn't work very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Funny Farm
Business
Casa Grande, Arizona
Jun 25, 2014

Clean hotel near the beach and Sea World

No complaints! Hotel was very clean, had all the amenities we needed, and very centrally located. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I am hard to please with the cleanliness factor but this met my standards. The free breakfast was actually pretty good. The only thing I was missing was a hot tub but the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take the back exit out of the hotel and then take side streets out onto Sports Arena Blvd instead of exiting the hotel on the busy Rosecrans street and having to do a U-turn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChappyD
Business
Glendale
Sep 22, 2014

Visit/Business

Located next to a good Mexican Restaurant is handy however the restaurant had no parking area subsequently, the spill over parking takes Motels slots. I had no evening parking in front of my room. By eleven o'clock it was open, too late to move my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek cuisine decilious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike LV
Business
Palmyra, Va
Sep 19, 2014

good location for Old Town

Stayed 4 days, close to Old Town, Airport and beaches. Great staff, clean well kept rooms. Only trouble I had was having to call tech support every time I tried to get wifi access on computer, when in room. Other than that I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seenitall
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Pleasant stay

We thought it was a good value based on other hotels we had stayed at in Southern California. You're only minutes away from the SD attractions and there are plenty of restaurants and stores in the area if you need anything. The staff was very nice and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Loved having the fridge and microwave since we were trying to avoid eating out every meal. Tv had more than average # of channels. Bathroom lighting could have been better but hardly a complaint. Close to airport which is connvenient, and airplane noise was not an issue at all. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lailani O.
Business
Chicago
Mar 3, 2015

Road trip to SD

Really enjoyed our stay at HoJo! Room was clean, location was great, bed was comfy. Liked the room had a fridge and microwave so storing food and heating was great. We are definitely staying there again when back in SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roff
Business
San Jose
Mar 3, 2015

Stayed 3 Nights

We stayed 3 nights here for leisure. The room was large enough for 2 people and looked clean. The staff I talked was nice and kind. The best thing was its location. It was convenient to go to any areas around San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top