$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimmie911
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was great for the price we paid. The location was awesome. We were no more than 3 miles from anything we wanted. The only complaint we have was the walls were thin. We could hear what was going on upstairs and next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 18, 2008

Great location!

The hotels location was very convienient and close to everything and anything you could imagine. The neighborhood behind the hotel was little to be desired. The room was clean. It was decorated nice and modern but had a very musty smell. Check-in was a breeze and the people were very nice. We didn't want the maids to clean our room while we were gone so they just brought us extra towels when we were there. Overall it was nice and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tj Maxx, grocery store, Starbucks, Einstein bagel, and Jamba juice were all across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Apr 19, 2011

Good and cheap

The staff was friendly, everything was easy. They provided us with a crib, which was great. The place was clean and simple - not fancy, but we didn't care. It was convenient to everything we wanted to do -- it seemed like everything was 20 minutes away, no matter how far! And the neighborhood was safe. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pretty good Mexican food attached to the hotel -- try the carnitas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ingolstadt Germany
May 8, 2009

Good service for a good price

Goosd big rooms for a fair price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Volodymyr
Business
Fort Smith, AR
Oct 8, 2007

Good location

I thought this was a good hotel for the price considering how expensive everything is in San Diego. Within just a few miles are SeaWorld (the reason we went to San Diego), the Old Town, Balboa Park, beaches, the airport, etc. There is Walgreens next door, a mall, ATMs, gas stations?location is definitely good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They did have some renovations, particularly in bathrooms (granite and tile). Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, the fridge and microwave were definitely a plus. The room was pretty specious, so I'd add a desk with a lamp, maybe a sofa to make the room more comfortable. Breakfast was adequate. All in all, the hotel met my expectations; however, you get much more if you stay just outside of San Diego. Check out Cardiff by the Sea Comfort Inn, for example.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lighthouse, Beaches, Shopping are a short drive away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 16, 2009

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

My mother and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel for the most part. It was nice having a refridgerator in the room because we decided to buy our food from a local market so we wouldn't have to eat at restaurants and fast food places. The rooms looked like they had been recently remodeled and were clean. We also had all of the basic cable channels which was nice because we did spend a lot of time in the room one day. It was quiet during the day but we had some noisy people next door to us...they talked loudly throughout the night until about 3am and we could hear their kids playing. The hotel was close to lots of great things: Ocean Beach, Target, several grocery stores, Starbucks and the freeway. Also, they had free internet access in their lobby which was helpful for looking up maps and other attractions in the area. The downside of the hotel would be the paper thin walls which made it easy to hear the people who were in the rooms next to us. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others and I would most definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Since there is a fridge in the room, you can buy lots of bottled water/drinks and food and store them in the freezer for use while in the room. This was a BIG money saver for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
otrman
Business
Cincinnati
Jan 23, 2010

Great Accommodations and Location

excellent handicap bathroom facility - convenient to freeways and only less than 10 minutes to the beach - really appreciate that the whole facility is nonsmoking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 7, 2007

Very Clean, Close to Everything

This hotel is definitely a good value for your money. The rooms were exceedingly clean. It doesn't look that great from the outside, but the staff was great. It is located near rt 8 and rt 5 so it is a short drive to all the major attractions. The neighborhood is very retail, it has pretty much every major fast food chain you can think of and also a few adult establishments. The rooms had microwaves and refrigerators so we were able to walk to the grocery and keep snacks for the kids. The pool was tiny, but it was very clean. If you are looking for a clean, cheap place to stay that is convenient to all the major San Diego attractions, this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Henry's grocery store across the street (similar to Whole Foods/Wild Oats). We bought healthy snacks to take with us when we were out and about for the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Feb 10, 2011

Great for the price

Room was extremely roomy, very clean, and excellent location. Was a safe area. We couldn't believe the value. Very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay again. Only problem was there was only one ice maker and it didn't work very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Funny Farm
Business
Casa Grande, Arizona
Jun 25, 2014

Clean hotel near the beach and Sea World

No complaints! Hotel was very clean, had all the amenities we needed, and very centrally located. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I am hard to please with the cleanliness factor but this met my standards. The free breakfast was actually pretty good. The only thing I was missing was a hot tub but the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take the back exit out of the hotel and then take side streets out onto Sports Arena Blvd instead of exiting the hotel on the busy Rosecrans street and having to do a U-turn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChappyD
Business
Glendale
Sep 22, 2014

Visit/Business

Located next to a good Mexican Restaurant is handy however the restaurant had no parking area subsequently, the spill over parking takes Motels slots. I had no evening parking in front of my room. By eleven o'clock it was open, too late to move my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek cuisine decilious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top