$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
114 reviews
Nice trip

I stayed at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World with my wife and son. Everything was good. The... See full review

  • Alex's dad 1
  • Nov 18, 2014
Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was... See full review

  • Charminglight
  • Jun 4, 2014
Book your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego SeaWorld conveniently located near SeaWorld San Diego, cruise ship terminals, and San Diego International Airport with shuttle service. There is also a Shuttle service to the Marine Corp Recruit Depot for graduation events. Spend a fun-filled day swimming, sailing or fishing at Mission Beach, or experience an African Safari at the San Diego Zoo. Enjoy traditional Southwestern dishes at Tio Carlos Mexican Restaurant onsite. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with the complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax with a swim in the outdoor pool, and take advantage of the business center to stay productive. Complimentary access to nearby Golds 24 hour Gyn. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator, or request a room with bunk beds. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available at this smoke-free lodging. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimmie911
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was great for the price we paid. The location was awesome. We were no more than 3 miles from anything we wanted. The only complaint we have was the walls were thin. We could hear what was going on upstairs and next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 16, 2009

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

My mother and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel for the most part. It was nice having a refridgerator in the room because we decided to buy our food from a local market so we wouldn't have to eat at restaurants and fast food places. The rooms looked like they had been recently remodeled and were clean. We also had all of the basic cable channels which was nice because we did spend a lot of time in the room one day. It was quiet during the day but we had some noisy people next door to us...they talked loudly throughout the night until about 3am and we could hear their kids playing. The hotel was close to lots of great things: Ocean Beach, Target, several grocery stores, Starbucks and the freeway. Also, they had free internet access in their lobby which was helpful for looking up maps and other attractions in the area. The downside of the hotel would be the paper thin walls which made it easy to hear the people who were in the rooms next to us. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others and I would most definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Since there is a fridge in the room, you can buy lots of bottled water/drinks and food and store them in the freezer for use while in the room. This was a BIG money saver for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
otrman
Business
Cincinnati
Jan 23, 2010

Great Accommodations and Location

excellent handicap bathroom facility - convenient to freeways and only less than 10 minutes to the beach - really appreciate that the whole facility is nonsmoking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 7, 2007

Very Clean, Close to Everything

This hotel is definitely a good value for your money. The rooms were exceedingly clean. It doesn't look that great from the outside, but the staff was great. It is located near rt 8 and rt 5 so it is a short drive to all the major attractions. The neighborhood is very retail, it has pretty much every major fast food chain you can think of and also a few adult establishments. The rooms had microwaves and refrigerators so we were able to walk to the grocery and keep snacks for the kids. The pool was tiny, but it was very clean. If you are looking for a clean, cheap place to stay that is convenient to all the major San Diego attractions, this is the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Henry's grocery store across the street (similar to Whole Foods/Wild Oats). We bought healthy snacks to take with us when we were out and about for the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Feb 10, 2011

Great for the price

Room was extremely roomy, very clean, and excellent location. Was a safe area. We couldn't believe the value. Very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay again. Only problem was there was only one ice maker and it didn't work very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Funny Farm
Business
Casa Grande, Arizona
Jun 25, 2014

Clean hotel near the beach and Sea World

No complaints! Hotel was very clean, had all the amenities we needed, and very centrally located. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I am hard to please with the cleanliness factor but this met my standards. The free breakfast was actually pretty good. The only thing I was missing was a hot tub but the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take the back exit out of the hotel and then take side streets out onto Sports Arena Blvd instead of exiting the hotel on the busy Rosecrans street and having to do a U-turn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChappyD
Business
Glendale
Sep 22, 2014

Visit/Business

Located next to a good Mexican Restaurant is handy however the restaurant had no parking area subsequently, the spill over parking takes Motels slots. I had no evening parking in front of my room. By eleven o'clock it was open, too late to move my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek cuisine decilious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike LV
Business
Palmyra, Va
Sep 19, 2014

good location for Old Town

Stayed 4 days, close to Old Town, Airport and beaches. Great staff, clean well kept rooms. Only trouble I had was having to call tech support every time I tried to get wifi access on computer, when in room. Other than that I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
International Voyager
Business
Seattle, Washington
Mar 11, 2014

Good for quick turnaround

We got in late and had to leave early the next morning for our connecting international flight. The staff was great, quick check-in and check-out, and the hotel shuttle was on-time & easy. Overall, a great "layover" hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sbro
Business
Andover, MN
Apr 4, 2014

Howard Johnson

Hotel was ok, staff was very friendly and the bed was comfortable. There was no info in the room if you could call room service and papers on the floor when we checked in. It was in a great location and the room was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
San Diego, CA
May 17, 2011

Great location, prefect for family

We had gone for a small family trip to San Diego and chose Howard for it's perfect location and proximity to sea world. They have a shuttle service that takes you to and from sea world, airport and MSRD. The rooms were clean, staff was helpful and the continental breakfast was alright. However, there are many places to eat at and also a grocery store nearby. It's a great place to stay for a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top