$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coppergirl
Business
Sonora, CA
May 8, 2012

Sea World San Diego

Overall, the hotel is what is to be expected for the price. The room was clean, had a good free breakfast and was in a good location to Sea World, Old Town, and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Fun Time
Business
Vancouver WA
Apr 6, 2012

Good value

This hotel is centrally located to all San Diego attractions. The staff was very helpful. The room was nice but the walls are alittle thin. You could hear the people talking next door. The pool is small. The continental breakfast is very busy. Get there early or breakfast items could be gone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good shopping at Old Town San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xdarthveganx
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 29, 2012

Had a great time

I was in San Diego for an academic conference. While there are certainly nicer places to stay, I was very happy with with the room for what I had to pay. Room was clean, large and then bed was super comfy. While the immediate area isn't that great, it is close to almost everything. Would totally recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mausey
Business
St. Louis, Mo
Feb 2, 2012

Clean, comfortable, and affordable!

We were pleasantly surprised with the friendly and professional staff at this hotel. The room was clean, updated and comfortable. Close to lots of restaurants, shops, and the airport. Would definitely stay there again. Thank you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate dinner at a place called "Yummy Buffet". I know it sounds corny, but it was amazing!. Clean, beautiful and really was 'yummy"! Asian and American food, even included prime rib and baby back ribs that were delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sneaky
Business
Madera,Ca.
Jan 31, 2012

Nice Family stay

Was comfortable,desk clerks were friendly and informative,not a bad place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Sea World,Air Port

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimmie911
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was great for the price we paid. The location was awesome. We were no more than 3 miles from anything we wanted. The only complaint we have was the walls were thin. We could hear what was going on upstairs and next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bubba wood
Business
Georgia
Nov 11, 2011

OK, but...

Walls were thin. I could hear the guest next door on the phone and he complained about my TV when I got up early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jean123
Business
los angeles, ca
Nov 1, 2011

3 out of 5

The place is safe and the rooms are clean good for a short trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beia
Business
Beaverton, OR, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Short vacation trip

The hotel is nice and would recommend this to friends and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of dining places nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pawh
Business
Napa, California, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Howard Johnson

For the money, it was excellent. Good location, large room, clean and daily housekeeping service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A really nice Costco

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top