$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Fun Time
Family
Vancouver WA
Apr 6, 2012

Good value

This hotel is centrally located to all San Diego attractions. The staff was very helpful. The room was nice but the walls are alittle thin. You could hear the people talking next door. The pool is small. The continental breakfast is very busy. Get there early or breakfast items could be gone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Good shopping at Old Town San Diego.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xdarthveganx
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 29, 2012

Had a great time

I was in San Diego for an academic conference. While there are certainly nicer places to stay, I was very happy with with the room for what I had to pay. Room was clean, large and then bed was super comfy. While the immediate area isn't that great, it is close to almost everything. Would totally recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mausey
Couples
St. Louis, Mo
Feb 2, 2012

Clean, comfortable, and affordable!

We were pleasantly surprised with the friendly and professional staff at this hotel. The room was clean, updated and comfortable. Close to lots of restaurants, shops, and the airport. Would definitely stay there again. Thank you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate dinner at a place called "Yummy Buffet". I know it sounds corny, but it was amazing!. Clean, beautiful and really was 'yummy"! Asian and American food, even included prime rib and baby back ribs that were delicious!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sneaky
Family
Madera,Ca.
Jan 31, 2012

Nice Family stay

Was comfortable,desk clerks were friendly and informative,not a bad place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Sea World,Air Port

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimmie911
Couples
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Weekend Getaway

The hotel was great for the price we paid. The location was awesome. We were no more than 3 miles from anything we wanted. The only complaint we have was the walls were thin. We could hear what was going on upstairs and next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bubba wood
Business
Georgia
Nov 11, 2011

OK, but...

Walls were thin. I could hear the guest next door on the phone and he complained about my TV when I got up early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jean123
Family
los angeles, ca
Nov 1, 2011

3 out of 5

The place is safe and the rooms are clean good for a short trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beia
Couples
Beaverton, OR, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Short vacation trip

The hotel is nice and would recommend this to friends and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of dining places nearby

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pawh
Couples
Napa, California, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Howard Johnson

For the money, it was excellent. Good location, large room, clean and daily housekeeping service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A really nice Costco

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
62tall
Family
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Sea World Trip

We stayed here to go to Sea World for our sons 3rd birthday and had a wonderful time. The location is great...and we enjoyed mexican food right door for dinner :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't think this restuarant is actuall part of the hotel but RIGHT in front and EXCELLENT! Tio Carlos'

Back to menu Return to top