$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nana Lavi
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 28, 2013

Sea World Trip

It was just ok, not great. The fridge in the room made a loud buzzing noise. It didn't keep us awake, but it was annoying. The wifi was really bad. We kept losing connection. Also, the toilet stopped flushing. The desk clerk came up right away and got it fixed. He was very friendly. The breakfast was fine. Not a lot of choices, but it's free. Also, I don't recommend the on sight Mexican restaurant. The food was mediocre & the server had an attitude. Very centrally located, super close to Sea World. Plenty of stores and restaurants to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cansada
Business
Orange County
Apr 8, 2013

Could not sleep!

Everything else was fine for a night stay but I had a horrible experience trying to get some good night sleep. In between the noisy neighbors we had that were up all night deciding on their trip since we could hear everything!!! and the cars and airplanes passing all night long..we had the worst night ever!!! not to mention the worst service trying to find a place that would deliver us food at 9pm..but that's not the hotels issue. I will not stay here ever again! It was not worth the price cuss of the horrible noisy area it's in. so I don't recommend it unless its the last resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proud Marine Auntie
Business
Indiana
Apr 7, 2013

Close to MCRD

Hotel was fine. It was close, comfortable and reasonable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retired siteseer
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 29, 2013

Good value for price

We found the staff to be very helpful in giving travel directions to the sites we wanted to see. After a long day site seeing, we returned and found that our key would not open the door to our room. In going to the front desk, the clerk solved the problem quickly and efficiently for us and had us back in our room within minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelling Rich
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 15, 2013

Good for night before flying

The hotel is very conveniently located to San Diego Int'l Airport. There are also many places to eat nearby. If you are traveling with alot of luggage,or elderly, it is not convenient as there are no elevators. Heating/air conditioner is the style that is on the wall below the window and blows the curtains up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DJMSD
Business
London, Ontario
Oct 15, 2012

A very dated hotel which is actually a motel.

The picture on the website was very deceiving. This hotel is VERY old. The microwave didn't work, the fridge barely worked and there was no pool. The smell of smoke in our non-smoking room was very strong. Good location close to the airport for our early flight. It would have been depressing to have stayed there for any longer than an over-night close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashleyboo
Business
All over
Oct 4, 2012

good value

Room was clean, though carpet is stained. Accommodating staff. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashleyboo
Business
All over
Oct 4, 2012

I'd stay again

No complaints, especially for the value. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beancounter1
Business
Bloomsburg,PA
Sep 25, 2012

One Night Airport

Everything was as advertised including free shuttle to airport and free breakfast. Staff was excellent and room was clean with microwave and refer. Would stay here agin. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Gas Light District

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jake From State Farm
Business
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Jun 26, 2012

convenient stay

Nice location that is convenient to a lot of items- MCRD, SEA WORLD,AIRPORT, OLDE TOWN. Room was clean and adequate sized. On site laundry was a plus. Short walk to Walgreens for sundry items- nice. Room temperature thermostat was great. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top