$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
113 reviews
Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was... See full review

  • Charminglight
  • Jun 4, 2014
great place

this was a great place and a great value. we enjoyed the room and pool, not far from many... See full review

  • dennist1
  • May 9, 2014
Book your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego SeaWorld conveniently located near SeaWorld San Diego, cruise ship terminals, and San Diego International Airport with shuttle service. Spend a fun-filled day swimming, sailing or fishing at Mission Beach, or experience an African Safari at the San Diego Zoo. Enjoy traditional Southwestern dishes at Tio Carlos Mexican Restaurant onsite. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with the complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax with a swim in the outdoor pool, and take advantage of the business center to stay productive. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator, or request a room with bunk beds. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available at this smoke-free lodging. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

32.7483 -117.2075
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Sea World: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 4, 2008

Great

We came up for our son's graduation at MCRD. The motel was very close to the base and the staff was very friendly. Had directions for us to everywhere we wanted to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Both the Old Town district and Gas Lamp district were very nice and a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown
Oct 20, 2008

Great Value

The Howard Johnson was very nice. Clean rooms. Very nice staff. Must get there early for the free breakfast. Pool is on the small size. Felt safe walking around at night time. Great location: Walking distance to a Walgreens and CVS and tons of restaurants. Right by the bus line to Old Town, and the beaches. And taking the bus is a lot cheaper than taxis, you can get an all day bus pass for only $5.00! The only thing you are not close to is down town, but you can take the bus right by the hotel to Old Town and catch the city bus that will take you right down town. Or for a little extra, you can take the Double Decker tour bus which you can hop on and off all around the down town area. This was our first trip to San Diego and we loved every moment of it!! Definetly take a Harbor Cruise to check out all of the bay and all of the Navy Military Ships.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens right down the street or CVS right across the street. Perfect if you forgot to pack something or want some snacks for the room. Both are open 24 hours AND the CVS sells liquor and alcohol:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 12, 2007

very family friendly

I was very pleased since the hotel remodeled. I felt very secure with the security guide. I was close to everything.The room and bed were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It had a great bagel place across from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 7, 2007

Family Friendly

When we were looking for a room in San Diego, we had a few things we wanted, a pool, clean and in a safe neighborhood. The Howard Johnson at Sea World (HJSW)met those criteria for the best money. I always hesitate to spend a lot of money on hotels because we just don't spend that much time in them while on vacation. They are basically a place to lay our head at night. The roons at HJSW were recently remodeled so even though the hotel was older, it was clean. The staff was friendly. The pool was a bit small, but clean. HWSW had all the amenities that we were looking for at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to Route 8 and Route 5

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 10, 2007

Wonderfully nice rooms

I have stayed at a few newly renovated hotels but I have to say that this hotel is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. The rooms were very clean. It's nice to have some extra room if you need it. Also it is very nice to have a microwave, ref, sitting area and a very spacious room. I will stay there again and am planning a trip back to San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sea2014
Business
seattle
Apr 13, 2014

Howard Johnson's Seaworld San Diego

Great experience- simple, clean, great value. I used car2go (smartcar) to commute into town each day for a conference, which worked out perfectly-- 15 mins or so, and cars were readily available within walking distance of the hotel (often right outside). Alternative is the trolley from old town stop, about 10-15 min walk. Free shuttle from/to the airport. Friendly and helpful staff at the desk. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 11, 2007

Very good location

The location was very good for the location's I visited. Close to the airport, downtown San Diego and Beaches. The first room we were given had the filthiest carpets I have encountered with a hotel. My companion and I were truly uncomfortable going barefoot on that floor. Then we were moved to a second room which was more acceptable, except that the walls are VERY thin. The first night there was a large party next door, which kept us awake most of the night, then you could overhear children crying through the walls the other nights. We left for the day on our adventures and when we returned at 5pm our room had not been cleaned, the maid finally knocked on our door around 5:30, which i told her not to clean the room since we were already back. We went to dinner came back and one bed had been made after I asked them not to clean the room that night. Other than the location, I was very disappointed with the overall experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seenitall
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Pleasant stay

We thought it was a good value based on other hotels we had stayed at in Southern California. You're only minutes away from the SD attractions and there are plenty of restaurants and stores in the area if you need anything. The staff was very nice and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Loved having the fridge and microwave since we were trying to avoid eating out every meal. Tv had more than average # of channels. Bathroom lighting could have been better but hardly a complaint. Close to airport which is connvenient, and airplane noise was not an issue at all. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
62tall
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Sea World Trip

We stayed here to go to Sea World for our sons 3rd birthday and had a wonderful time. The location is great...and we enjoyed mexican food right door for dinner :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't think this restuarant is actuall part of the hotel but RIGHT in front and EXCELLENT! Tio Carlos'

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pawh
Business
Napa, California, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Howard Johnson

For the money, it was excellent. Good location, large room, clean and daily housekeeping service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A really nice Costco

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top