$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
114 reviews
Nice trip

I stayed at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World with my wife and son. Everything was good. The... See full review

  • Alex's dad 1
  • Nov 18, 2014
Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was... See full review

  • Charminglight
  • Jun 4, 2014
Book your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego SeaWorld conveniently located near SeaWorld San Diego, cruise ship terminals, and San Diego International Airport with shuttle service. There is also a Shuttle service to the Marine Corp Recruit Depot for graduation events. Spend a fun-filled day swimming, sailing or fishing at Mission Beach, or experience an African Safari at the San Diego Zoo. Enjoy traditional Southwestern dishes at Tio Carlos Mexican Restaurant onsite. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with the complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax with a swim in the outdoor pool, and take advantage of the business center to stay productive. Complimentary access to nearby Golds 24 hour Gyn. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator, or request a room with bunk beds. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available at this smoke-free lodging. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guestsunshine
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great hotel great trip

A very good experience. The bed is comfortable and there is free internet access. There is a free breakfast which offers waffles, bread, coffee etc. I have to say it is actually better than those big hotels. I would definitely recommend this to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex's dad 1
Business
Greensboro, NC
Nov 18, 2014

Nice trip

I stayed at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World with my wife and son. Everything was good. The location is convenient. A walk to the marina is pleasant. The airport is very close to the hotel, but planes did not disturb us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Harbor and marina

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iced coffee
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 11, 2014

Nice place

Generally good experience. Polite efficient staff. Faint smokey room smell. Could use better tv chanel info. Area has many indigents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChappyD
Business
Glendale
Sep 22, 2014

Visit/Business

Located next to a good Mexican Restaurant is handy however the restaurant had no parking area subsequently, the spill over parking takes Motels slots. I had no evening parking in front of my room. By eleven o'clock it was open, too late to move my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek cuisine decilious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike LV
Business
Palmyra, Va
Sep 19, 2014

good location for Old Town

Stayed 4 days, close to Old Town, Airport and beaches. Great staff, clean well kept rooms. Only trouble I had was having to call tech support every time I tried to get wifi access on computer, when in room. Other than that I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamienick
Business
Danville, CA
Aug 26, 2014

Pretty good

Location is nice and central though you can only turn right out of hotel so have to do a U-Turn every time you go somewhere. Don't get a room on the far left down the separate drive way. It's creepy down there. Not sure why this hotel is 3 stars. We stayed at Kings Inn on Hotel circle and they are about the same except this has the free breakfast with waffles and cereal, etc. This hotel is fine if you can get a price close to or under $100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roy Bel
Business
San Jose
Jun 29, 2014

over priced for what you get.

We stayed here with friends and children for a week in San Diego. Best I can say for the place is it was a place to sleep at night. The rooms were clean and not too much noise from the roads outside but not much else. The "pool" is only about as big as one of those above ground pools you can buy at target. This was a bit of a disappointment for the kids. The breakfast was pretty average, not bad but hardly worth the hotel price. You can get better in San Diego for less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZ Funny Farm
Business
Casa Grande, Arizona
Jun 25, 2014

Clean hotel near the beach and Sea World

No complaints! Hotel was very clean, had all the amenities we needed, and very centrally located. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I am hard to please with the cleanliness factor but this met my standards. The free breakfast was actually pretty good. The only thing I was missing was a hot tub but the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take the back exit out of the hotel and then take side streets out onto Sports Arena Blvd instead of exiting the hotel on the busy Rosecrans street and having to do a U-turn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Education Traveler
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 4, 2014

Airport stopover

I stayed at this hotel because I had an earlier morning flight out of San Diego airport. They provided a free shuttle and the room was big, clean and nice for an airport hotel. However, the location wasn't any closer to the airport than most other hotels in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charminglight
Business
Rosamond ca
Jun 4, 2014

Loved it!

It's was great!! Me and my family were very comfortable. We had everything we needed. The staff was very polite and helpful. Very pleased and would go back anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Obibob3698
Business
Granada Hills, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Furniture

The table in the room was located in an inconvenient place and had cross pieces on all four sides making it uncomfortable for work or pushing the chair in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top