$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

3 stars
View map of 3330 Rosecrans Street, San Diego, CA 92110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
112 reviews
Good for Price

It was the cheapest hotel I could find. Given that, it was pretty good. The room was clean, and... See full review

  • TC
  • Apr 6, 2015
Nice trip

I stayed at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World with my wife and son. Everything was good. The... See full review

  • Alex's dad 1
  • Nov 18, 2014
Book your next family adventure at this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego SeaWorld conveniently located near SeaWorld San Diego, cruise ship terminals, and San Diego International Airport with shuttle service. There is also a Shuttle service to the Marine Corp Recruit Depot for graduation events. Spend a fun-filled day swimming, sailing or fishing at Mission Beach, or experience an African Safari at the San Diego Zoo. Enjoy traditional Southwestern dishes at Tio Carlos Mexican Restaurant onsite. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with the complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax with a swim in the outdoor pool, and take advantage of the business center to stay productive. Complimentary access to nearby Golds 24 hour Gyn. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator, or request a room with bunk beds. Handicapped-accessible rooms are also available at this smoke-free lodging. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World also booked these hotels.

★★★
$89
3.1 / 5 362 reviews
★★★
$111
3.6 / 5 163 reviews
★★
$66
3.7 / 5 437 reviews
★★★
$92
4.1 / 5 122 reviews
★★★
$111
3.8 / 5 66 reviews
★★★
$71
3.6 / 5 242 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.5 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 2.9 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 3.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 3.5 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 3.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 3.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 3.6 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 3.7 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 3.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.9 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 3.9 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.4 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.2 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.8 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.9 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.5 mi
  • Legoland: 27 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,119.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RAC2
Single
N/A
Aug 13, 2015

Long weekend in San Diego

Came from the San Diego Airport at night and missed a right turn onto Rosecrans from Barnett -Lytton Rd so I went all the way to the far end at the naval station. When I came back, I found I had to make a U-turn to get to the hotel. Past midnight, but check-in guy was friendly and helpful. Didn't do the breakfasts as the breakfast room was overcrowded during the complimentary breakfast hours. Looked good though. Room was comfortable & maintained well. Easy to get to the freeways from this site & would use it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruddiger
Family
N/A
May 28, 2015

comfortable and convenient

We were in town to take our son to the zoo, and it was easy to get there from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TC
Friends
Golden
Apr 6, 2015

Good for Price

It was the cheapest hotel I could find. Given that, it was pretty good. The room was clean, and there were no problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lailani O.
Family
Chicago
Mar 3, 2015

Road trip to SD

Really enjoyed our stay at HoJo! Room was clean, location was great, bed was comfy. Liked the room had a fridge and microwave so storing food and heating was great. We are definitely staying there again when back in SD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roff
Couples
San Jose
Mar 3, 2015

Stayed 3 Nights

We stayed 3 nights here for leisure. The room was large enough for 2 people and looked clean. The staff I talked was nice and kind. The best thing was its location. It was convenient to go to any areas around San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex's dad 1
Family
Greensboro, NC
Nov 18, 2014

Nice trip

I stayed at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World with my wife and son. Everything was good. The location is convenient. A walk to the marina is pleasant. The airport is very close to the hotel, but planes did not disturb us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Harbor and marina

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iced coffee
San Diego, CA
Oct 11, 2014

Nice place

Generally good experience. Polite efficient staff. Faint smokey room smell. Could use better tv chanel info. Area has many indigents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChappyD
Couples
Glendale
Sep 22, 2014

Visit/Business

Located next to a good Mexican Restaurant is handy however the restaurant had no parking area subsequently, the spill over parking takes Motels slots. I had no evening parking in front of my room. By eleven o'clock it was open, too late to move my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Greek cuisine decilious

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike LV
Couples
Palmyra, Va
Sep 19, 2014

good location for Old Town

Stayed 4 days, close to Old Town, Airport and beaches. Great staff, clean well kept rooms. Only trouble I had was having to call tech support every time I tried to get wifi access on computer, when in room. Other than that I would recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamienick
Family
Danville, CA
Aug 26, 2014

Pretty good

Location is nice and central though you can only turn right out of hotel so have to do a U-Turn every time you go somewhere. Don't get a room on the far left down the separate drive way. It's creepy down there. Not sure why this hotel is 3 stars. We stayed at Kings Inn on Hotel circle and they are about the same except this has the free breakfast with waffles and cereal, etc. This hotel is fine if you can get a price close to or under $100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top