$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

2 stars
1631 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
100 reviews
excellent

had a wonderful stay, the hallways are a little uneven and sideways but other than that I thought... See full review

  • CHARISMA CASH
  • May 29, 2014
nice place to stay

Friendly staff. Wish u had weekly rates. Nice clean place and fairly quiet See full review

  • dnsims123
  • Sep 8, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle off Interstate 8 near San Diego International Airport, University of San Diego and San Diego Convention Center. Spend an exciting day at SeaWorld San Diego, or explore Balboa Park with museums and the famous San Diego Zoo and Safari Park. Drive just three minutes to historic sites, museums, fiestas and restaurants in Old Town San Diego. Find family-friendly dining at many restaurants within three miles of this lodging. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and stay up to date with the complimentary newspaper and wireless Internet access. The friendly 24-hour front desk staff can help plan an exciting day. Relax in our outdoor pool and spa, stay productive in the business center, and enjoy guest laundry and on-site ATM. Comfortable guest rooms include pillow-top bedding, microwave, refrigerator and TV with HBO. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult at this smoke-free lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Legoland: 26.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G from the SEA
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 1, 2014

Dissapointed

Rooms smelled like Mold, not very clean or nice. Very old and run down. It was a bed, decent location. Could have found better just driving around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RDF51
Business
SF
Oct 23, 2014

room,

the wifi was so weak, you couldnt be online in your room, the toilet didnt refill most of the time, and the energy saver light switch over the sink didnt work right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Singel traveler
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 21, 2014

Price is good, staff friendly, but very scary rooms!

I lead this review by saying, yes I got a great price , and the front hotel clerks were very kind, but the hotel in itself was really scary. As I walked to my room each room had lighters , cigarette ashes, and butts on the ground, and what looked like spit bottles or cups for chewing tobacco all outside on each room's window seal (even though they were supposed to be non smoking rooms.) The first room they put me in had nasty dark stains on the couch, tears in the curtains, and my toilet overflowed. Again, the hotel clerk was very kind and told me he would get a repair man upstairs immediately, but after waiting I called back and he moved me to a new room, which unfortunately had the same stained decor, and a huge damaged hole in the wall. I ended up sleeping head to toe covered in fear of bed bugs. Again, I got a great deal on the room and there are many other reputable hotels beside this hotel, and a lovely restaurant up the street (The Village Inn Diner) but I won't stay at this hotel ever again. So sad, I tried to leave a tip for the maid and the clerk had no money in the drawer to break my 20.00. Also, the continental breakfast ends before 10am too I believe. If you can handle the run down state of the rooms, and the hallways with cigarettes butts and ashes, for a good price - then go for it! The staff was friendly as well, but I encourage the owners to upgrade the look of the rooms and the nasty hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be careful for too good of deals. Find the balance as usually if its too cheap there is a reason for that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swedeboy
Business
Marana, AZ
Sep 25, 2014

My stay at Howard Johnson's

The hotel is located near Sea World and the San Diego beeches. This was perfect for me. The hotel is average but the room was clean and the staff were friendly. If you seek a cheaper room in a location near to San Diego beeches and the downtown area, then this is a good option. D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I dined at a restaurant some 7 blocks west of the hotel. I do not recall the name but the food was good and the service excellent. D

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SDinsider
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 15, 2014

It's inexpensive for a reason

The staff was friendly but the room had old stains and a lot of wear and tear on the furniture. We were glad to have a working air conditioner in the room. The hotel is older and run down but it was inexpensive so it is hard to complain too much; you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dnsims123
Business
san diego
Sep 8, 2014

nice place to stay

Friendly staff. Wish u had weekly rates. Nice clean place and fairly quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ocean Ma
Business
Fresno,CA
Sep 2, 2014

last minute family getaway

Location was centrally convenient. We visited Sunset Cliffs, Coronado by ferry, and the Cabrillo National Monument. They did not provide any wash cloths and not enough bath towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sunset Cliffs has nice ocean views. Cabrillo National Monument visit before 4:00 p.m. Coronado has miles of beaches. Use a good sunscreen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KMGH
Business
LA, Ca.
Sep 1, 2014

business

noisy, room is too small. Clerk is nice. Interior is not professional decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Abrahim1984
Business
Miami, Fl
Sep 1, 2014

Great for One night

I wouldnt recommend this Hotel. For one night its ok, not for 3 nights. A/C never worked , I am from Florida and my 3 nights I sweat all over. Cheap place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelor11
Business
San Diego
Aug 31, 2014

good for the money

only problem was that there was no ice and the upstairs outside walkway is very narrow and seems to not be level

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top