$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

2 stars
View map of 1631 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
102 reviews
Work

It is exactly what I expected. For the value it is comparable in its services provided. I would... See full review

  • Chrisrbusby
  • Feb 9, 2015
excellent

had a wonderful stay, the hallways are a little uneven and sideways but other than that I thought... See full review

  • CHARISMA CASH
  • May 29, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle off Interstate 8 near San Diego International Airport, University of San Diego and San Diego Convention Center. Spend an exciting day at SeaWorld San Diego, or explore Balboa Park with museums and the famous San Diego Zoo and Safari Park. Drive just three minutes to historic sites, museums, fiestas and restaurants in Old Town San Diego. Find family-friendly dining at many restaurants within three miles of this lodging. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and stay up to date with the complimentary newspaper and wireless Internet access. The friendly 24-hour front desk staff can help plan an exciting day. Relax in our outdoor pool and spa, stay productive in the business center, and enjoy guest laundry and on-site ATM. Comfortable guest rooms include pillow-top bedding, microwave, refrigerator and TV with HBO. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult at this smoke-free lodging.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.8 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 1 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 1 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 2.4 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.4 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.5 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2.6 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.7 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.3 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.7 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.8 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.3 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 4.7 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 5.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.4 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 25.3 mi
  • Legoland: 26.8 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alicia
Business
N/A
Jul 18, 2015

Do not spend your money

We stayed here for just a short family vacation. Not a place I will ever want my kids to stay again. When we first got to the hotel to check in it was around 4pm and our check in time was 2pm, they told me there was only one room available but it did not have a bathroom door. When I asked how long it would be the clerk said he couldn't give me a time because he can't make the maids work any faster. When I came back about an hour later they did have a room ready but it was a really gross room. The room smelled like smake even though it was a non smoking room. Beds are very hard. There were ants crawling on the wall in the shower. There was mold/mildew growing on the wall in the bathroom. The door did not seem like it shut all the way. And it took at least 5 minutes to get it open every time we came back to the room. The room where they have their breakfast is really small and really cramped to get breakfast. Not much available to eat. All the pastries were gone and we were there about 8am. Coffee was cold and not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nataly
Business
Somerton
May 26, 2015

Memorial weekend

The room wasn't too bad! The bed was comfortable and a great size for 2 people. It wasn't worth the $200 that I paid, but no other hotel was available for the holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
working man
Business
bakersfield
May 10, 2015

work

older rooms very well kept grounds seem to be safe, clean rooms friendly staff good value for the price for the area. tv is not a flat screen but works good there is a microwave small refrigerator and coffee pot hair dryers , iron with board in room I have stayed in other motels in area this one seems to be the best for price and location. Would recommend to friends and stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michelle K.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Had Bed Bugs!!

I had bed bugs in my room, even after a thorough search I didn't know until 2am the first night! No one was available at the desk until 7am. So I had to stay in my car the first night. They moved me to a different room FAR away from that one for the other 2 nights stay. Needless to say I was reimbursed for my whole stay and I know they cannot control bed bugs. But for no one to be available in the middle of the night is not good. Cleanliness was not great. Breakfast was stale and limited. I would not recommend this place unless you are on a very tight budget and don't mind the possibility of getting woke up in the middle of the night by bed bugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cinwil
Business
san diego
Feb 20, 2015

overnight stay

i stayed here for two nights, the price was cheap, so i guess i cant expect too much. you get what you pay for. its an older hotel and hasnt had any renovations done to it, in a very, very long time. the staff was friendly, and they have a continental breakfast that i never ate at, however i heard another guest complaining that all the food was gone and it hadnt been open for breakfast very long. the one thing that concerned me was all of the police activity in the middle of the night. not sure why there were so many police officers and all of there police cars in the parking lot early in the morning,but i was told this happens on a regular basis at the howard johnsons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrisrbusby
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Work

It is exactly what I expected. For the value it is comparable in its services provided. I would stay there again if need be. In a city like this, sometimes cost is the most attractive part of the stay. It was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandpa R
Business
West Jordan
Feb 9, 2015

Great trip lousy hotel

1st room ceiling leaked from a broken pipe. 1st and 2nd rooms had broken furniture, intermittent success with wifi and an unpleasant smell. The wifi worked off and on, mostly off. The free breakfast was lousy, mini Danish, cereal and juice was all they offered. We went to the store to buy breakfast and kept it in our fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit San Diego but not Howard Johnsons

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G from the SEA
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 1, 2014

Dissapointed

Rooms smelled like Mold, not very clean or nice. Very old and run down. It was a bed, decent location. Could have found better just driving around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommiemom
Business
Perris ca
Nov 21, 2014

I have had better

The room was small and simple. I have stayed at other Howard Johnsons and they were way cleaner. This one seemed like a druggy hotel in my opinion. Like I said I have had better but the location was great right off the fwy. Still the room felt nasty. Very disappointed. Not like the pictures at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tacos el Gordo off the 8 fwy and h st. Mmmmm so good

Review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Hotel Circle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RDF51
Business
SF
Oct 23, 2014

room,

the wifi was so weak, you couldnt be online in your room, the toilet didnt refill most of the time, and the energy saver light switch over the sink didnt work right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top