$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Horton Grand Hotel

3 stars
View map of 311 Island Ave., San Diego, CA 92101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Horton Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr O MD
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 18, 2014

Ideal Location

Small quaint hotel walking distance from several restaurants and conference center. Great deal for the money, clean rooms with comfortable beds. No gym for workouts. You can get your exercise walking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cold weather girl
Business
Anchorage AK
Nov 17, 2014

Fantastic nearby conference hotel

I had a huge conference at a nearby hotel and for half the price I stayed at the Horton Grand Hotel in the Gaslamp District. This gave me a pleasant walk to and from the conference with plenty of choice for meals. The hotel was clean, unique, friendly and the rooms and the whole hotel had decor and furniture of the time period, yet very comfortable. The window displays along the elevator ride next the courtyard are a must, even if you are staying on the ground floor. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the eateries map given out at the hotel. Some really good breakfast and dinner options marked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mustangpony
Business
San Diego
Nov 16, 2014

Comfortable stay

When arriving to the hotel, I was greeted by the friendly valet staff. Check-in was easy. However, I requested a room with the best view available and received a room with a view of the dumpster trash. Other than the poor view, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaguarshark311
Business
San Pedro ,ca
Nov 11, 2014

Worth it

Beautiful hotel, great location, but rooms are small? Bathrooms are great if you lived in 1940. Loud club across the street so choose room accordingly.. Great bar downstairs.. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharon F
Business
Beaverton,MI
Nov 2, 2014

Great location!

Room was very small but nice. I have allergies & that smell of the old wood bothered me ,sprayed fabreeze ,which helped some . Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Had a great lunch at the Grant Hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied Guest123
Business
Atlanta
Oct 19, 2014

Great Find

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I like to stay at non-chain hotels, and sometimes find these to be very unkept and disappointing. This hotel, however, exceeded my expectations. Everything about it was so quaint. My room had a fireplace, balcony and king bed. The shower head wasn't working so I did have to take a bath which prevented me from giving this a perfect score. Other than that, everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mjkisala
Business
Bermuda
Oct 8, 2014

A hidden Gem with 5 star staff

Such a wonderful quaint hotel in the most ideal location in the gas lamp district. The staff was so friendly at check-in it made my short stay such a pleasant surprise. Room was very fun. Super comfortable bed with fireplace and balcony. I couldn't be happier. I will definitely stay here again if in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownie Sweetie
Business
San Diego, California
Oct 7, 2014

A comfortable and attractive retreat.

The location and comfort of this hotel were excellent as were the staff. A most helpful and pleasant concierge started us on our way to a most interesting and enjoyable 3 days. Took the trolley ride which gave us a great overview, visited the zoo, the Westfield Mall and museums on the waterfront. Local restaurants were also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf offered great seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dani Wynne
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 7, 2014

Great Location!

This hotel is ADORABLE! I loved the room and that it came with a balcony. Their courtyard is really cute and perfect for having a drink in the afternoon or reading a book. My only complaints were the noise at night (VERY thin windows) and the cobwebs on the balcony. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Horton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexi's Dad
Business
Long Beach, Ca
Oct 6, 2014

great time

Good experience. Grand room was superb. Only draw back is that the hotel map on the door didn't indicate where the ice machine was located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top