$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

3 stars
4875 North Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
82 reviews
Amazing experience

Everything from the staff, amenities, cleanliness, etc. was amazing. It was the perfect location as... See full review

  • staceeee
  • Jul 24, 2014
Excellent Clean Hotel. Great Location

Hotel was very clean & nice. Staff was friendly & helpful. See full review

  • Jasonjj
  • Jun 4, 2014
Minutes from the San Diego Airport, San Diego's famous attractions and across from San Diego Bay, the Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is the perfect place for you to stay and play. Visit Sea World San Diego, only 5 minutes away; San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village & Old Town are ten minutes away. Liberty Station Conference Center and NTC Promenade are within two miles. The San Diego Convention Center is a convenient 5 mile drive along the San Diego Bay. Upcoming conventions: American Thoracic Society (May 16-19); & Nat'l Education Assn (June30-July 6); Am Water Works Assn (June 13-16). The Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside is near many sporting events in San Diego, including: Charity Cup; Pegasus Cup; Hotspurs Cup; Red Bull Air Races; San Diego Padres, & San Diego Chargers. In San Diego on business® We are close to: Northrop Grumman; Lockheed Martin; General Dynamics; SPAWAR; Point Loma Naval Base; ASW; Admiral Kidd Club; 32nd St Naval Station; FITCPAC; BAE; Boeing; ComNavBase; L-3 Communications; MCRD & Sheraton Harbor Island. Located 3 miles from the San Diego Cruise Terminal, we offer packages with long-term parking & complimentary transportation to the San Diego Cruise Ship Terminal. The Cruise Terminal services the following cruise lines: Royal Caribbean; Princess; Carnival; Celebrity; Holland America; & Norwegian. We look forward to being your home away from home when you visit San Diego. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

32.7264 -117.2234
Nearby airports
San Diego Lindbergh International Airport, (SAN), 1.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Port of San Diego: 1.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.6 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.6 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 1.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 1.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 2.6 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 2.6 mi
  • Heritage Park: 2.6 mi
  • Sea World: 2.6 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 3.9 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 4.1 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 4.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 4.3 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 4.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 4.4 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 4.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 6 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 8 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 9.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 28.2 mi
  • Legoland: 28.3 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,121.3 mi

Dining

Point Loma Cafe
Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Point Loma Cafe. The inviting menu offers a variety of selections certain to please any palate. From hearty breakfasts to delicious dinners and irresistible desserts, the Point Loma Cafe serves it all. Senior cit
Bayside Bar
For your favorite cocktails or one of our 10 draft beers and microbrews on tap, visit our Bayside Bar where 4 televisions and one 60 wide screen TV will keep you up to date with current sporting events. Enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and complimentary ho
Pizza Nova
California cuisine. Serving gourmet to traditional pizzas, specialty salads and pastas, beer and wine service in a bay view setting
Jimmys Famous American Tavern
Jimmys Famous American Tavern is a gastro tavern featuring unfussy, nostalgic American fare, as well as old and new school brews and original cocktails.
Humphrey's Restaurant
For fine dining, try the award winning Humphrey's Restaurant overlooking San Diego Bay on nearby Shelter Island. Humphrey's serves an array of seafood, beef and poultry selections as well as fantastic Sunday Champagne Brunch.
Bayside Bar
The Bayside Bar offers nightly drink specials, complimentary happy hour hors d'oeuvres for our hotel guests and a limited dining menu. Dine inside or enjoy poolside cocktail service among waterfalls and tropical palms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Nov 16, 2009

Bayside Stay

We watched a little cable TV, washed and rested. We were busy away from the hotel most of our time so we did not avail ourselves of most of the amenities we saw such as the exercise room and pool which seemed nice. It was a weekend so there was no newspaper. The staff was very friendly and super professional. We drove around the block following the scenic route signs and found real good eateries and a treasure of a park. It was great. My wife enjoyed the real glasses and cups instead of plastic. Wish we had had more time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just follow the scenic route signs in either direction from this spot and you will be somewhere beautiful in no time.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 10, 2009

Better than expected, quite location

Went to a two-day conference. Off pathway of hotels directly connected to getting on freeway. But, they did give directions to various places on checked-in pamphlet. No more than 20-30 minutes away. Looking for a quite location with cafe restuarant next door, pool, exercise room, great place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mona's Mom
Myrtle Beach SC
Oct 4, 2009

Location Good, Hotel OK

The location is central to airport, car rentals, freeways. Room size is small with old decor and carpet. Reasonably clean. No maid service one day. Staff was friendly. Shower water temperature and pressure was good. Parking was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kantu
San Diego, Ca
Sep 14, 2009

Nice but less than I had hoped for

We viewed local marine museaum and had pizza but the area didn't offer what I had thought. Next trip I would rather stay at my regular hotels in the Hilton Faily of Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the marinas and military instilation and airport with good transportation to and from available

Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Sep 14, 2009

friendly staff and close to activities

We were staying to attend the MCRD graduation. The hotle location provided easy access to the airport, MCRD, USS midway, the beaches etc. The staff was friendly and the price was fair. The free parking was a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have a new Marine and he wear his uniform you receive a discount at USS Midway.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Sep 1, 2009

Horrible Parking! Be ready to walk

We arrived late ( Around 9pm) and found one spot to park the car around the back, a ways from our "tower". After we walked around the building and made it to our room, we decided to grab something from a local fast food (Drive thru) joint down the street. We arrived back 20 minutes later and there was no parking anywhere near where we were staying. Right next to our Tower there is a pay parking lot, but it looked all run down and hardly any lighting. Not safe by any stretch of the imagination. We drove around for 20 minutes and finally found a spot way on the other side of the complex. A 15 minute walk through the pool and other gates we finally arrived at our tower and the elevator was broken. We went to the next tower and took the elevator up and then went through a couple more doors and ended up at our room. I have to add that the hallways have a bad odor to them akin to wet carpet and fish if that is possible. The rooms are nice and comfortable and we didn't hear any other guests. The room seemed clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
West Virgin
Bergenfield, NJ
Jun 30, 2009

Bad Service

I had a bad experiene at this Holiday Inn. My reservation was prepaid so I couln't cancel and go somewhere else. I HAD to stay there all 7 nights. I arrived around midnight with my boyfriend and 4 year old, 3 pieces of heavy laugage, and was given a second floor "motel room", no elevator(and no bell service of course). The room was dingy and stinky, small with the furniture chiped and a slow drain sink chiped and dirty. After complaining we were moved the next afternoon to another room. the shutle van to and from the airport don't pick you up unless you call the hotel for it. twice they "cleaned" my room yet left dirty towels hunging on the back of the bathroom door. I had traveled a lot and I feel this is where I had paid the most for the least of services. I would never go back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Town

Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Batavia, New York
Jun 28, 2009

Great Location at Great Price

I really cannot add anything to this survey. It was a nice visit to a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jun 20, 2009

A Fair Value

The hotel was convienent to Sea World and Balboa Park which includes the zoo as well as the downtown attractions. the rooms were clean but needed some updating. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

During the season go to Petco Park and take in a Padres game the Park is cool

Review of Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO - BAYSIDE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Jun 17, 2009

Bad hotel/ No water

Hotel management was terrible and a water main broke so we had no water. The house keeping service never cleaned our room the entire time. We were there for three nights. I wouldn`t recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search