$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

3 stars
4540 Mission Bay Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
8 reviews
Great

Close to Sea World and Old Town but not within walking distance of any restaurants. Breakfast was... See full review

  • Manny N.
  • Jul 9, 2014
Would stay here again

Clean spacious rooms, healthy breakfast in a spacious room with two TV's, pool, no charge for... See full review

  • Manny N.
  • Jun 28, 2014
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel. Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary full American hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room and an outdoor heated pool. Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar (MCAS), the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD). Nearby businesses are CACI, SPAWAR, Raytheon, General Atomics, Booz Allen Hamilton, Qualcomm General Dynamics, and Caterpillar. We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in America's finest city, so Stay Smart!®

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Mission Bay Park: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.1 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Belmont Park: 3.1 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 3.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 3.5 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 3.6 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 3.7 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 3.8 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 4.9 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 5.3 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 5.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 5.9 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 6.1 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 6.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 6.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 6.3 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 6.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 6.3 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 6.3 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 6.3 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 6.4 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 6.5 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 7.1 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 7.4 mi
  • PETCO Park: 7.5 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 13.2 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 23 mi
  • Legoland: 23.2 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David SS
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Very Good location and Staff is Very Friendly

We came to tour UCSD with our son, when we check-in we asked for directions to the University to the frond desk person, she was very detailed and gave us directions and great restaurant suggestions. We'll come back to this hotel when visiting our son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reville
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 30, 2013

HIE less than mediocre

An inadequate window air conditioner never kept the room dry and comfortable. Staff was unhelpful. Room was smaller than a breadbox. Not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hesfamily
Business
yakima, wa
Mar 24, 2012

nice

we enjoyed our visit. staff was freindly, facility was very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David SS
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Very Good location and Staff is Very Friendly

We came to tour UCSD with our son, when we check-in we asked for directions to the University to the frond desk person, she was very detailed and gave us directions and great restaurant suggestions. We'll come back to this hotel when visiting our son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dennis and Linda
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 18, 2013

Good value

Nice facility, great staff. The parking is tight and our room was slightly smaller than we had expected, but the hospitality of the staff made our stay great. From the staff at the front desk, the housekeeping crew, and the breakfast room staff, everyone went out of their way to be sure that we had everything just the way we wanted it. Great location for trips into San Diego. What a nice experience! We would certainly recommend this place to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olde Town was our favorite spot to visit to wander through shops and it has lots of dining options. Parking was free, admission was free, enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandpa place
Business
bufflalo new york
Oct 1, 2013

home away from home

the people there treat you like family (esp marcia) at the main lobby/smiling as they welcome you everyday. the brunch there was tops(the hostess there, i did not get her name)was friendly/well mannered/and greeded me asking if she could help.ex.-one day the only seat left was adjacant to a tv, she brought a remote to turn volume down to my satisfaction. the only neg. point was the size of the pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

central to various sights to see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaddygarnerandDaughter
Business
Olympia, wa
Apr 13, 2014

Great getaway

Courteous staff, especially Marcia. Took the time to explain to me best way to get around the area and she saved me a $30 cab ride. Great breakfast bar. Less than impressed with fitness room. Overall a nice place conveniently located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manny N.
Business
Fremont, CA
Jun 28, 2014

Would stay here again

Clean spacious rooms, healthy breakfast in a spacious room with two TV's, pool, no charge for parking. Close to sea world and Interstate 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking for large trucks is difficult but doable. Close to sea world and right off interstate 5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SEAWORLD-BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manny N.
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 9, 2014

Great

Close to Sea World and Old Town but not within walking distance of any restaurants. Breakfast was good in a spacious room with TVs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

No parking fees

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top