$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

3 stars
17065 W. BERNARDO DRIVE, SAN DIEGO, CA 92127
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
65 reviews
Rancho Bernardo

We enjoyed our stay! The room was clean and the staff was beyond helpful. The breakfast was great!... See full review

  • Poppy of TAS and MICK
  • Apr 24, 2014
Great for families

Was in town for a funeral and invited grandchildren over to the room. With a couch and desk chair... See full review

  • Nancy Kay
  • Mar 20, 2013
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a tranquil valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its fabulous weather, beautiful golf courses and award-winning wineries. Offering amenities for both the business and vacation traveler at a great value and affordable prices, we present a host of functional features including a convenient location and spacious guest rooms. Complimentary services include: wireless high-speed Internet, hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, on-site parking, on-site fitness center, and outdoor heated pool and spa. To further enhance your stay, all guestrooms have coffee makers, two-line phones, large work desks, refrigerators, and microwaves. With multiple dining choices available, from the Elephant Bar & Restaurant (open for lunch and dinner), to our hot breakfast buffet, and a number of excellent restaurants in the area - you are sure to find something to please your palate. As the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park, we make for a great central location in San Diego County. With easy highway access, all recreational activities are within a short drive. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.0249 -117.081
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport - Lindberg Field, (SAN), 26.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Sea World: 20 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Sea World: 20 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 20.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 20.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 20.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 20.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 20.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 20.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 20.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 20.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 20.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 21 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 21.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 21.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 21.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 22.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 22.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 22.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 22.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 22.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 26.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,105.2 mi

Dining

Elephant Bar & Grill
Casual dining serving salads, steak, seafood and pasta.
Miguel's Cocina
Authentic Mexican Food, family friendly with outdoor seating with fireplaces. Happy Hour Monday to Friday Join us for our award winning food, spectacular margaritas and of course, our jalapeño white sauce

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie Mame
Los Angeles, CA
May 26, 2013

Good for short stays

It's pretty much what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The room was clean; the bed was comfortable; the water pressure could have been better. It's close to the freeway, and was perfectly serviceable for the one night we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bernard'O restaurant. Weird location; great food and wine.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 15, 2009

Not recommended

The hotel is right by a busy freeway. People were yelling and screaming at the pool until after midnight. It was so loud that I could not sleep and ended up checking out and finding another hotel. The staff takes your i.d. and hands you a key - doesn't tell you where the room is, where to park, have a nice stay - nothing. The hotel is not very clean. This place may be a little less expensive than some other hotels, but IT IS NOT WORTH THE PRICE DISCOUNT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilbert
Dec 29, 2008

like sleeping on box springs

We were to stay 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Rancho Bernardo. We left after one night. The beds were very uncomfortable. We woke up in the middle of the night with back pain. After looking at the mattress, we saw that the box spring and the top mattress were almost identical. The mattress was made of metal coils that were hard and they got cold in the night. Another problem with the room was that the when we turned the heat on, it sounded like a jet engine. Also the tub didn't drain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Theres the North County Mall about 5 miles up the 15.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Comic Con Professional
LA
Jul 25, 2010

Horrible horrible hotel

In addition to the hotel being generally unkempt and gross and generally smelling of mildew, we had to deal with a room with a leaky A/C unit. This caused our carpet to get wet. We told the people at the front desk about it, but all they had done when we came back from our day's activities was put towels on the ground. The next day the problem was worse. Unfortunately we had a strict schedule to adhere to and were only at the hotel between the hours of 1am and 7am, so we could never speak to a manager and didn't have time to anyway. They should have comped us or moved us to a CLEAN room. This is a health hazard and safety risk! I was utterly disgusted and disappointed by this. The staff was unwilling and/or uninterested in doing anything more...so disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Moms 80th
Susanville, CA 96130, USA
Aug 12, 2011

They had to call the police on the partying guests

After driving about 12 hours, we checked in at about 8:00pm that night. My Mothers 80th birthday was the next day. At about 11:00pm, we were awakened by a girls softball team that was staying there and they had won that day. The girls started a loud party that lasted well into 2:00am. The hotel had to call the police on them. We got almost no sleep and my wife was so upset. I booked the room thru Orbits so the hotel staff were unwilling to provide any compensation from a bad night with little sleep. This was the worst hotel experience we ever had. This was not the fault of Orbits and the room price was good. The hotel had the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach is only about 15 min from this hotel and it is free.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Moms 80th
Susanville, CA 96130, USA
Aug 12, 2011

They had to call the police on the partying guests

After driving about 12 hours, we checked in at about 8:00pm that night. My Mothers 80th birthday was the next day. At about 11:00pm, we were awakened by a girls softball team that was staying there and they had won that day. The girls started a loud party that lasted well into 2:00am. The hotel had to call the police on them. We got almost no sleep and my wife was so upset. I booked the room thru Orbits so the hotel staff were unwilling to provide any compensation from a bad night with little sleep. This was the worst hotel experience we ever had. This was not the fault of Orbits and the room price was good. The hotel had the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach is only about 15 min from this hotel and it is free.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilbert
Dec 29, 2008

like sleeping on box springs

We were to stay 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Rancho Bernardo. We left after one night. The beds were very uncomfortable. We woke up in the middle of the night with back pain. After looking at the mattress, we saw that the box spring and the top mattress were almost identical. The mattress was made of metal coils that were hard and they got cold in the night. Another problem with the room was that the when we turned the heat on, it sounded like a jet engine. Also the tub didn't drain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Theres the North County Mall about 5 miles up the 15.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 15, 2009

Not recommended

The hotel is right by a busy freeway. People were yelling and screaming at the pool until after midnight. It was so loud that I could not sleep and ended up checking out and finding another hotel. The staff takes your i.d. and hands you a key - doesn't tell you where the room is, where to park, have a nice stay - nothing. The hotel is not very clean. This place may be a little less expensive than some other hotels, but IT IS NOT WORTH THE PRICE DISCOUNT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Comic Con Professional
LA
Jul 25, 2010

Horrible horrible hotel

In addition to the hotel being generally unkempt and gross and generally smelling of mildew, we had to deal with a room with a leaky A/C unit. This caused our carpet to get wet. We told the people at the front desk about it, but all they had done when we came back from our day's activities was put towels on the ground. The next day the problem was worse. Unfortunately we had a strict schedule to adhere to and were only at the hotel between the hours of 1am and 7am, so we could never speak to a manager and didn't have time to anyway. They should have comped us or moved us to a CLEAN room. This is a health hazard and safety risk! I was utterly disgusted and disappointed by this. The staff was unwilling and/or uninterested in doing anything more...so disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jun 30, 2009

San Diego Holiday Inn

Staff was very courteous and polite. They did great job. Hotel itself seemed old, outdated, and basically of a lower quality than expected from Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several restaurants close by.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Apr 18, 2011

2 Stars Only

Positive: * nice shower * nice balcony * reasonably comfortable, firm beds Negative: * Refrigerator was broken * Microwave had a short in the cord * TV blasts volume whenever it is turned on * No heat lamp or exhaust fan in the bathroom * Noisy - a lot of traffic and a gas station/convenience store right behind the hotel * construction going on too * have to close sliding door at night because of noise (no fresh air) * you have to use your card just to use the elevator. It takes several attempts before it works. * The hallways and elevators smell musty /moldy * The people in the adjacent room were very loud -at 3AM. I could hear everything, let's just leave it at that. I needed sleep. Luckily, my 14 year old daughter slept through it. Overall....disappointing. It had the same rating as the Hilton Garden Inn, but is not anywhere near as nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top