$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 14, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

3 stars
17065 West Bernardo Drive, San Diego, CA 92127
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
39 reviews
Rancho Bernardo

We enjoyed our stay! The room was clean and the staff was beyond helpful. The breakfast was great!... See full review

  • Poppy of TAS and MICK
  • Apr 24, 2014
staff was an upgrade

front desk staff promptly moved and upgraded me when my assigned room was experiencing some... See full review

  • Firpo
  • Aug 25, 2014
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a tranquil valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its fabulous weather, beautiful golf courses and award-winning wineries. Offering amenities for both the business and vacation traveler at a great value and affordable prices, we present a host of functional features including a convenient location and spacious guest rooms. Complimentary services include: wireless high-speed Internet, hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, on-site parking, on-site fitness center, and outdoor heated pool and spa. To further enhance your stay, all guestrooms have coffee makers, two-line phones, large work desks, refrigerators, and microwaves. With multiple dining choices available, from the Elephant Bar & Restaurant (open for lunch and dinner), to our hot breakfast buffet, and a number of excellent restaurants in the area - you are sure to find something to please your palate. As the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park, we make for a great central location in San Diego County. With easy highway access, all recreational activities are within a short drive. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

33.0249 -117.081
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport - Lindberg Field, (SAN), 26.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Sea World: 20 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Sea World: 20 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 20.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 20.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 20.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 20.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 20.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 20.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 20.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 20.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 20.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 21 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 21.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 21.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 21.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 22.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 22.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 22.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 22.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 22.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 26.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,105.2 mi

Dining

Elephant Bar & Grill
Casual dining serving salads, steak, seafood and pasta.
Miguel's Cocina
Authentic Mexican Food, family friendly with outdoor seating with fireplaces. Happy Hour Monday to Friday Join us for our award winning food, spectacular margaritas and of course, our jalapeño white sauce
Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant
Full Service Bar & Restaurant provides a rotating selection of handcrafted beer. Open Monday - Sunday, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DPK
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 1, 2010

Excellent Service

The hotel was clean, easily accessible and the front desk service was top notch and very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is a very short drive to the San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PITTSBURGH
Jul 29, 2009

Holiday Inn SAN DIEGO-RANCHO BERNARDO

LOVE THE HOTEL, BUT LAST TIME WE WERE THERE THE BREAKFAST BUFFET WAS INCLUDED. IT WAS NOT INCLUDED THIS TIME. STAFF TOLE ME THEY HAD TO CUT BACK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ELEPHANT BAR IN NEXT PARKING LOT, CAN WALK TO IT, HAS VERY GOOD FOOD, CAN CALL AHEAD AND PICK UP TO TAKE TO YOUR ROOM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LaValle, WI
Jun 29, 2009

Pleasant Experience

Great location for visiting family in Rancho Bernardo area! Hotel is conveniently located off I-15. Appreciated minifridge and microwave in room. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, responded promptly to any of our concerns. Beds were on the firm side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach
Mar 29, 2010

quick get away

good responsive staff. Nice work out room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

plenty of choices to eat at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calitraveler7
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great short weekend

I needed a place to stay for a night after attending a friend's wedding. The place was nice. There was a balcony that looked out to the parking lot and the breeze at night was perfect. The staff was great as well. They handled my check in swiftly and checking out was just as easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
riverside, Ca.
Jul 3, 2010

Great hotel for the price

I like the fact that they have free hot breakfast. location was really good. Only took 30 minutes to get to Sea World.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chowman
Business
las vegas nevada
May 25, 2009

Family Reunion

WE were there to visit family. We liked the hotel and the location. Rooms were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westminster,Ca
Feb 15, 2010

Great place to stay.

Very quite, rooms were large and clean. Close to the frwy. for easy on and off but we didn't hear any frwy. noise. Staff friendly. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yle1980
Business
West Covina, ca
Aug 24, 2014

Nice place

It was nice to hv family time together and good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firpo
Business
St Paul minnesota
Aug 25, 2014

staff was an upgrade

front desk staff promptly moved and upgraded me when my assigned room was experiencing some air-conditioner problems. Could have simply moved me to a comparable room but chose to make my experience "good stuff"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top