$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2015 Check-out: Sep 27, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

3 stars
View map of 17065 West Bernardo Drive, San Diego, CA 92127

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
43 reviews
Great family trip

I thought the hotel was decent. I loved the breakfast in the morning. Especially before a long day... See full review

  • Beautiful blonde
  • Aug 17, 2015
Nice

Booked this last minute during comic con which was about half an hr away from one of the trolley... See full review

  • V2005
  • Jul 17, 2015
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a tranquil valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its fabulous weather, beautiful golf courses and award-winning wineries. Offering amenities for both the business and vacation traveler at a great value and affordable prices, we present a host of functional features including a convenient location and spacious guest rooms. Complimentary services include: wireless high-speed Internet, hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, on-site parking, on-site fitness center, and outdoor heated pool and spa. To further enhance your stay, all guestrooms have coffee makers, two-line phones, large work desks, refrigerators, and microwaves. With multiple dining choices available, from the Elephant Bar & Restaurant (open for lunch and dinner), to our hot breakfast buffet, and a number of excellent restaurants in the area - you are sure to find something to please your palate. As the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park, we make for a great central location in San Diego County. With easy highway access, all recreational activities are within a short drive. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO also booked these hotels.

★★★
$103
4.2 / 5 37 reviews
★★
$67
3.2 / 5 34 reviews
★★
$67
3.0 / 5 29 reviews
★★★
$89
4.2 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$102
3.6 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$97
4.0 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$114
3.7 / 5 29 reviews
★★
$129
4.0 / 5 5 reviews

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 20.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 20.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 20.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 20.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 20.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 20.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 20.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 20.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 20.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 20.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 21 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 21.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 21.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 21.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 22.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 22.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 22.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 22.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 26.7 mi
  • Viejas Arena: 2,105.2 mi

Dining

Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant
Full Service Bar & Restaurant provides a rotating selection of handcrafted beer. Open Monday - Sunday, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thayalan Family
Family
Rancho Bernardo
Oct 1, 2012

Fantastic hotel rates in a pleasant hotel

I booked this hotel for my parents who came out to San Diego to visit me. They absolutely loved it and told me they will book again with this hotel on their next trip. Positives: The queen beds are very big and comfortable to sleep on. The sheets are also very clean. The bathroom is clean and beautifully presented with essential bathsoaps. There is a hairdryer, coffee maker and extra toilet rolls. The room has a mini fridge just below the TV. There is free WIFI connection which is fast and works well The hotel staff are very friendly and are prompt with your requests Negatives: The AC in the room was pretty loud but if you can sleep through noise then this would not be a problem The daily breakfast was a disappointment, they didn't have a variety. But if you want to eat something quick, then toast and juice will do. Overall, this hotel was a pleasant one to stay in and I would definitely recommend it! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is VONS and Barons Market nearby

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Poppy of TAS and MICK
Couples
Sicklerville NJ
Apr 24, 2014

Rancho Bernardo

We enjoyed our stay! The room was clean and the staff was beyond helpful. The breakfast was great! We will stay there again when we visit our family who lives nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy Kay
Couples
Rancho Bernardo, CA
Mar 20, 2013

Great for families

Was in town for a funeral and invited grandchildren over to the room. With a couch and desk chair they fit in fine. Would have liked to have chairs for the balcony, my only suggestion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of restaurants and the hotel is right off the Interstate, easy access.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Jacksonville
Sep 15, 2008

family friendly

The Holiday Inn is a very comfortable, with a desk and nice comfortable chair, a good size room. The bed is quite comfortable to sleep on. They keep up with the cleaning. Nice big closest for you clothes, and the tv stand has drawers for some more clothes. Nice all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elephant Bar has very good food.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 23, 2008

Very Nice

This hotel was in the right spot for my business travels. It was clean and roomy. Bad points they put me in the very last room in the wing and the wireless internet had so many problems that, in essence, it didn't exist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Sep 10, 2007

clean quiet, close to everything in this area

The Holiday Inn Rancho Bernardo was a surprise and delight. Although I was only there one night I found the room, surrounding area and amenities to be very clean and well taken care of. This property is just off a very busy highway and there was no sound from the road, which was a real treat. The hotel staff were superior and I will, when in this area again, stay at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a number of dining options within a very short distance from this hotel. From fast food, to aclaimed dining, so all bases are covered. It is great for families, business travelers and retired folks looking for a great deal.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cresskill
Jun 10, 2008

very friendly

holiday inn was comforable and the room was very big the bath room was seperated from the vanity area with a sink the location was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vinayak
Business
Newark, NJ
May 7, 2008

Great Stay!

My double occupancy room featured a desk and chair, a comfortable sofa with a smaller coffee table. Didn't get to use the TV, but there was also a refrigerator and microwave, both of which I used. The room also had the customary iron and board which always comes in so handy on my travels. The toilets were clean and well maintained - supplies replenished with clockwork regularity. They have a complimentary breakfast which was surprisingly good too. Hot eggs with ham or bacon, waffles, potatoes, three choices of juices, coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit, porridge, hot oatmeal and dried fruit toppings. Ample parking, plenty of dining choices, even a Fedex Kinko's within a mile or so makes this such a great place to stay. Satisfaction guaranteed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta
May 9, 2010

Wonderful experience, excellent customer

we required special attention and care, and the staff was very accomodating. The room was clean and maid service efficient. Staff very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Elephant Bar next dolor is a nice place. Good service, good atmosphere, good menu

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
V2005
Single
N/A
Jul 17, 2015

Nice

Booked this last minute during comic con which was about half an hr away from one of the trolley centers. The room was clean, free wifi, hbo, etc. the only complaint I have is the parking area which itself was packed and felt very squishy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alvin P.
Family
N/A
Jul 17, 2015

Family Trip

Cool place to stay. Our room is very clean and staffs are very nice. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top