$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

3 stars
17065 West Bernardo Drive, San Diego, CA 92127
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
39 reviews
Rancho Bernardo

We enjoyed our stay! The room was clean and the staff was beyond helpful. The breakfast was great!... See full review

  • Poppy of TAS and MICK
  • Apr 24, 2014
staff was an upgrade

front desk staff promptly moved and upgraded me when my assigned room was experiencing some... See full review

  • Firpo
  • Aug 25, 2014
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a tranquil valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its fabulous weather, beautiful golf courses and award-winning wineries. Offering amenities for both the business and vacation traveler at a great value and affordable prices, we present a host of functional features including a convenient location and spacious guest rooms. Complimentary services include: wireless high-speed Internet, hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, on-site parking, on-site fitness center, and outdoor heated pool and spa. To further enhance your stay, all guestrooms have coffee makers, two-line phones, large work desks, refrigerators, and microwaves. With multiple dining choices available, from the Elephant Bar & Restaurant (open for lunch and dinner), to our hot breakfast buffet, and a number of excellent restaurants in the area - you are sure to find something to please your palate. As the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park, we make for a great central location in San Diego County. With easy highway access, all recreational activities are within a short drive. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 20.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 20.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 20.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 20.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 20.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 20.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 20.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 20.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 20.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 20.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 21 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 21.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 21.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 21.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 22.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 22.4 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 22.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 22.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 26.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,105.2 mi

Dining

Elephant Bar & Grill
Casual dining serving salads, steak, seafood and pasta.
Miguel's Cocina
Authentic Mexican Food, family friendly with outdoor seating with fireplaces. Happy Hour Monday to Friday Join us for our award winning food, spectacular margaritas and of course, our jalapeño white sauce
Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant
Full Service Bar & Restaurant provides a rotating selection of handcrafted beer. Open Monday - Sunday, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chowman
Business
las vegas nevada
May 25, 2009

Family Reunion

WE were there to visit family. We liked the hotel and the location. Rooms were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gilbert
Dec 29, 2008

like sleeping on box springs

We were to stay 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Rancho Bernardo. We left after one night. The beds were very uncomfortable. We woke up in the middle of the night with back pain. After looking at the mattress, we saw that the box spring and the top mattress were almost identical. The mattress was made of metal coils that were hard and they got cold in the night. Another problem with the room was that the when we turned the heat on, it sounded like a jet engine. Also the tub didn't drain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Theres the North County Mall about 5 miles up the 15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville
Sep 15, 2008

family friendly

The Holiday Inn is a very comfortable, with a desk and nice comfortable chair, a good size room. The bed is quite comfortable to sleep on. They keep up with the cleaning. Nice big closest for you clothes, and the tv stand has drawers for some more clothes. Nice all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elephant Bar has very good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 23, 2008

Very Nice

This hotel was in the right spot for my business travels. It was clean and roomy. Bad points they put me in the very last room in the wing and the wireless internet had so many problems that, in essence, it didn't exist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cresskill
Jun 10, 2008

very friendly

holiday inn was comforable and the room was very big the bath room was seperated from the vanity area with a sink the location was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norco
Jun 8, 2008

OK stay

Front desk staff was friendly. The room was relatively clean but the hallways needed a good vacuuming. I noticed stains on my pillowcase in the morning and didn't know if I had spilled something on it the night before or if it was dirty the whole time. Pool was small but nicely heated. There was a wide variety of food at the breakfast buffet but it wasn't very fresh looking and only fair to the taste. Adequate parking but the spaces were extremely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to family restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vinayak
Business
Newark, NJ
May 7, 2008

Great Stay!

My double occupancy room featured a desk and chair, a comfortable sofa with a smaller coffee table. Didn't get to use the TV, but there was also a refrigerator and microwave, both of which I used. The room also had the customary iron and board which always comes in so handy on my travels. The toilets were clean and well maintained - supplies replenished with clockwork regularity. They have a complimentary breakfast which was surprisingly good too. Hot eggs with ham or bacon, waffles, potatoes, three choices of juices, coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit, porridge, hot oatmeal and dried fruit toppings. Ample parking, plenty of dining choices, even a Fedex Kinko's within a mile or so makes this such a great place to stay. Satisfaction guaranteed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 10, 2007

clean quiet, close to everything in this area

The Holiday Inn Rancho Bernardo was a surprise and delight. Although I was only there one night I found the room, surrounding area and amenities to be very clean and well taken care of. This property is just off a very busy highway and there was no sound from the road, which was a real treat. The hotel staff were superior and I will, when in this area again, stay at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a number of dining options within a very short distance from this hotel. From fast food, to aclaimed dining, so all bases are covered. It is great for families, business travelers and retired folks looking for a great deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Jun 9, 2007

Great location

This hotel is very close to the 15 (stones throw away!) and there are plenty of dining and shopping options close by for the business traveler. The Elephant Bar and Grill next door has great food at reasonable prices and there is a Kinko's/FedEx located only a block away as well as some other shops/restaurants. Nothing fancy here, Its a Holiday Inn, but the rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. I've stayed here several times on business in the Poway/San Diego area. The only complaint I would have is the last stay I had there the AC wasn't what I'd have liked (though, it was 90+ outside so getting the room to 75 was about all one could really expect). And the mini fridge in my room didn't work...management did offer to send someone right away, but since I was only there one night, I just wanted them to know. The interior hallways are extreamely hot in the summer (I noted the thermostat on my floor in the hall read 95!) but I understand cutting back on costs...really, how much time do you spend in the hallway! Overall, this is a fine hotel. Breakfast is great and the service os fine w/ a very friendly and responsive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top