$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

3 stars
View map of 17065 West Bernardo Drive, San Diego, CA 92127

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 15, 2009

Not recommended

The hotel is right by a busy freeway. People were yelling and screaming at the pool until after midnight. It was so loud that I could not sleep and ended up checking out and finding another hotel. The staff takes your i.d. and hands you a key - doesn't tell you where the room is, where to park, have a nice stay - nothing. The hotel is not very clean. This place may be a little less expensive than some other hotels, but IT IS NOT WORTH THE PRICE DISCOUNT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rhinophil
Business
Moorpark, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Good value. Quiet relaxing stay.

I had a good two nights stay. I used the hotel as a base to attend three Cubs-Padres games. It is a 18 mile drive from the hotel to QualCom Stadium where you can park free and take the trolley to Petco park. The hotel was extremely quiet, which surprised me as it is near I-15. The weekend rates were reasonable and the staff was friendly. The convenient indoor parking structure for tower guests is a nice perk. The morning breakfast buffet was mediocre at best. There is a Starbucks within easy walking distance. I also found a Cocos Restaurant about a mile away that served an excellent breakfast. The room was clean but the bed was uncomfortable for me. Despite that, I would definitely stay here again if rates were comparable to this visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I had a great breakfast at the nearby Cocos Restaurant. It's about a mile away on the East side of I-15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chowman
Business
las vegas nevada
May 25, 2009

Family Reunion

WE were there to visit family. We liked the hotel and the location. Rooms were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gilbert
Dec 29, 2008

like sleeping on box springs

We were to stay 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Rancho Bernardo. We left after one night. The beds were very uncomfortable. We woke up in the middle of the night with back pain. After looking at the mattress, we saw that the box spring and the top mattress were almost identical. The mattress was made of metal coils that were hard and they got cold in the night. Another problem with the room was that the when we turned the heat on, it sounded like a jet engine. Also the tub didn't drain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Theres the North County Mall about 5 miles up the 15.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville
Sep 15, 2008

family friendly

The Holiday Inn is a very comfortable, with a desk and nice comfortable chair, a good size room. The bed is quite comfortable to sleep on. They keep up with the cleaning. Nice big closest for you clothes, and the tv stand has drawers for some more clothes. Nice all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elephant Bar has very good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 23, 2008

Very Nice

This hotel was in the right spot for my business travels. It was clean and roomy. Bad points they put me in the very last room in the wing and the wireless internet had so many problems that, in essence, it didn't exist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cresskill
Jun 10, 2008

very friendly

holiday inn was comforable and the room was very big the bath room was seperated from the vanity area with a sink the location was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norco
Jun 8, 2008

OK stay

Front desk staff was friendly. The room was relatively clean but the hallways needed a good vacuuming. I noticed stains on my pillowcase in the morning and didn't know if I had spilled something on it the night before or if it was dirty the whole time. Pool was small but nicely heated. There was a wide variety of food at the breakfast buffet but it wasn't very fresh looking and only fair to the taste. Adequate parking but the spaces were extremely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to family restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vinayak
Business
Newark, NJ
May 7, 2008

Great Stay!

My double occupancy room featured a desk and chair, a comfortable sofa with a smaller coffee table. Didn't get to use the TV, but there was also a refrigerator and microwave, both of which I used. The room also had the customary iron and board which always comes in so handy on my travels. The toilets were clean and well maintained - supplies replenished with clockwork regularity. They have a complimentary breakfast which was surprisingly good too. Hot eggs with ham or bacon, waffles, potatoes, three choices of juices, coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit, porridge, hot oatmeal and dried fruit toppings. Ample parking, plenty of dining choices, even a Fedex Kinko's within a mile or so makes this such a great place to stay. Satisfaction guaranteed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 10, 2007

clean quiet, close to everything in this area

The Holiday Inn Rancho Bernardo was a surprise and delight. Although I was only there one night I found the room, surrounding area and amenities to be very clean and well taken care of. This property is just off a very busy highway and there was no sound from the road, which was a real treat. The hotel staff were superior and I will, when in this area again, stay at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a number of dining options within a very short distance from this hotel. From fast food, to aclaimed dining, so all bases are covered. It is great for families, business travelers and retired folks looking for a great deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top