$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

3 stars
View map of 17065 West Bernardo Drive, San Diego, CA 92127

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy Kay
Couples
Rancho Bernardo, CA
Mar 20, 2013

Great for families

Was in town for a funeral and invited grandchildren over to the room. With a couch and desk chair they fit in fine. Would have liked to have chairs for the balcony, my only suggestion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of restaurants and the hotel is right off the Interstate, easy access.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RRLH
Family
NEW JERSEY
Mar 19, 2013

CONVIENT AND COMFORTABLE

STAFF VERY ACCOMADATING , AND THEY SERVE A NICE BREAKFAST . LOCATED CLOSE TO RESTAURANTS AND STORES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travels for another wed
Couples
Massachusetts
Oct 22, 2012

Good, Cheap Hotel

As with all Holiday Inns, the hotel is nothing special; there is a very basic pool, and nothing else really by way of amenities. However, the rooms were really very nice and updated - nicer than the Marriott we stayed at on the same vacation. Don't let the boring common areas fool you, the inside of the room is really much better. The staff are also very nice and helpful. The woman at the front desk was able to get me a cab when I was running late to a wedding, and held it for me when I forgot something in my room. The breakfast is not great, but it is nice to grab a piece of fruit and a muffin before you head out for the day. You do need a car in this area though, cabs come from the city and are very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thayalan Family
Family
Rancho Bernardo
Oct 1, 2012

Fantastic hotel rates in a pleasant hotel

I booked this hotel for my parents who came out to San Diego to visit me. They absolutely loved it and told me they will book again with this hotel on their next trip. Positives: The queen beds are very big and comfortable to sleep on. The sheets are also very clean. The bathroom is clean and beautifully presented with essential bathsoaps. There is a hairdryer, coffee maker and extra toilet rolls. The room has a mini fridge just below the TV. There is free WIFI connection which is fast and works well The hotel staff are very friendly and are prompt with your requests Negatives: The AC in the room was pretty loud but if you can sleep through noise then this would not be a problem The daily breakfast was a disappointment, they didn't have a variety. But if you want to eat something quick, then toast and juice will do. Overall, this hotel was a pleasant one to stay in and I would definitely recommend it! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is VONS and Barons Market nearby

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LMNOPQRST
Family
denver
Jul 9, 2012

Holiday Inn Rancho Bernardo

The only thing lacking was a bit more equipment in the gym (no weights or machines...only treadmill-type equipment..and only 3 of those) The room was spacious and "funky" in a good way. Staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
calitraveler7
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Great short weekend

I needed a place to stay for a night after attending a friend's wedding. The place was nice. There was a balcony that looked out to the parking lot and the breeze at night was perfect. The staff was great as well. They handled my check in swiftly and checking out was just as easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Moms 80th
Couples
Susanville, CA 96130, USA
Aug 12, 2011

They had to call the police on the partying guests

After driving about 12 hours, we checked in at about 8:00pm that night. My Mothers 80th birthday was the next day. At about 11:00pm, we were awakened by a girls softball team that was staying there and they had won that day. The girls started a loud party that lasted well into 2:00am. The hotel had to call the police on them. We got almost no sleep and my wife was so upset. I booked the room thru Orbits so the hotel staff were unwilling to provide any compensation from a bad night with little sleep. This was the worst hotel experience we ever had. This was not the fault of Orbits and the room price was good. The hotel had the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach is only about 15 min from this hotel and it is free.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Portland, OR
Apr 18, 2011

2 Stars Only

Positive: * nice shower * nice balcony * reasonably comfortable, firm beds Negative: * Refrigerator was broken * Microwave had a short in the cord * TV blasts volume whenever it is turned on * No heat lamp or exhaust fan in the bathroom * Noisy - a lot of traffic and a gas station/convenience store right behind the hotel * construction going on too * have to close sliding door at night because of noise (no fresh air) * you have to use your card just to use the elevator. It takes several attempts before it works. * The hallways and elevators smell musty /moldy * The people in the adjacent room were very loud -at 3AM. I could hear everything, let's just leave it at that. I needed sleep. Luckily, my 14 year old daughter slept through it. Overall....disappointing. It had the same rating as the Hilton Garden Inn, but is not anywhere near as nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Florida
Nov 10, 2010

Good

Stayed for business. Comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Reynoldsburg,Ohio
Aug 8, 2010

Wonderful last year, so so this year.

Our stay was OK. Floor very dirty ( looked as if it were covered with soot ) our feet were black. The toilet didn't want to flush had to have it plunged twice. The beds made our backs hurt, just not comfortable. I was disappointed that this stay was not as nice as last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at Vons grocery store. They have a great produce section.

Back to menu Return to top