$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 13, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

3 stars
17065 West Bernardo Drive, San Diego, CA 92127
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
Rancho Bernardo

We enjoyed our stay! The room was clean and the staff was beyond helpful. The breakfast was great!... See full review

  • Poppy of TAS and MICK
  • Apr 24, 2014
Great for families

Was in town for a funeral and invited grandchildren over to the room. With a couch and desk chair... See full review

  • Nancy Kay
  • Mar 20, 2013
The Holiday Inn San Diego-Rancho Bernardo is nestled in a tranquil valley surrounded by majestic hills, and is recognized for its fabulous weather, beautiful golf courses and award-winning wineries. Offering amenities for both the business and vacation traveler at a great value and affordable prices, we present a host of functional features including a convenient location and spacious guest rooms. Complimentary services include: wireless high-speed Internet, hotel shuttle to offices within 5 miles Mon-Fri, on-site parking, on-site fitness center, and outdoor heated pool and spa. To further enhance your stay, all guestrooms have coffee makers, two-line phones, large work desks, refrigerators, and microwaves. With multiple dining choices available, from the Elephant Bar & Restaurant (open for lunch and dinner), to our hot breakfast buffet, and a number of excellent restaurants in the area - you are sure to find something to please your palate. As the closest full service hotel to the San Diego Wild Animal Park, we make for a great central location in San Diego County. With easy highway access, all recreational activities are within a short drive. Local companies include: Hewlett-Packard, Sony, General Atomics, Lockheed Martin, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, Raytheon, NCR, BAE Systems, Pulse Engineering, Masco, Caterpillar/Hawthorne Machinery, Laserink, Cymer, Kodak, Zarlink Semiconductors, & Sumitomo Electric Inc. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Hotel Map

33.0249 -117.081
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport - Lindberg Field, (SAN), 26.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Sea World: 20 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 11.3 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 14.3 mi
  • Legoland: 15.3 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 18.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 18.2 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 19.5 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 19.8 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 19.8 mi
  • Heritage Park: 19.9 mi
  • Sea World: 20 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 20 mi
  • Belmont Park: 20.2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 20.5 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 20.5 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 20.6 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 20.6 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 20.6 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 20.7 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 20.7 mi
  • Botanical Building: 20.7 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 20.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 20.9 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 21 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 21.1 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 21.6 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 21.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 22.3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 22.4 mi
  • Gaslamp Quarter: 22.5 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 22.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 22.7 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 26.7 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,105.2 mi

Dining

Elephant Bar & Grill
Casual dining serving salads, steak, seafood and pasta.
Miguel's Cocina
Authentic Mexican Food, family friendly with outdoor seating with fireplaces. Happy Hour Monday to Friday Join us for our award winning food, spectacular margaritas and of course, our jalapeño white sauce

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travels for another wed
Massachusetts
Oct 22, 2012

Good, Cheap Hotel

As with all Holiday Inns, the hotel is nothing special; there is a very basic pool, and nothing else really by way of amenities. However, the rooms were really very nice and updated - nicer than the Marriott we stayed at on the same vacation. Don't let the boring common areas fool you, the inside of the room is really much better. The staff are also very nice and helpful. The woman at the front desk was able to get me a cab when I was running late to a wedding, and held it for me when I forgot something in my room. The breakfast is not great, but it is nice to grab a piece of fruit and a muffin before you head out for the day. You do need a car in this area though, cabs come from the city and are very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firpo
Business
St Paul minnesota
Aug 25, 2014

staff was an upgrade

front desk staff promptly moved and upgraded me when my assigned room was experiencing some air-conditioner problems. Could have simply moved me to a comparable room but chose to make my experience "good stuff"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yle1980
West Covina, ca
Aug 24, 2014

Nice place

It was nice to hv family time together and good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Poppy of TAS and MICK
Sicklerville NJ
Apr 24, 2014

Rancho Bernardo

We enjoyed our stay! The room was clean and the staff was beyond helpful. The breakfast was great! We will stay there again when we visit our family who lives nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RRLH
NEW JERSEY
Apr 12, 2014

Family vacation

Easy access to highways, stores and restaurants. Good continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie Mame
Los Angeles, CA
May 26, 2013

Good for short stays

It's pretty much what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The room was clean; the bed was comfortable; the water pressure could have been better. It's close to the freeway, and was perfectly serviceable for the one night we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bernard'O restaurant. Weird location; great food and wine.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy Kay
Rancho Bernardo, CA
Mar 20, 2013

Great for families

Was in town for a funeral and invited grandchildren over to the room. With a couch and desk chair they fit in fine. Would have liked to have chairs for the balcony, my only suggestion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of restaurants and the hotel is right off the Interstate, easy access.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RRLH
NEW JERSEY
Mar 19, 2013

CONVIENT AND COMFORTABLE

STAFF VERY ACCOMADATING , AND THEY SERVE A NICE BREAKFAST . LOCATED CLOSE TO RESTAURANTS AND STORES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thayalan Family
Rancho Bernardo
Oct 1, 2012

Fantastic hotel rates in a pleasant hotel

I booked this hotel for my parents who came out to San Diego to visit me. They absolutely loved it and told me they will book again with this hotel on their next trip. Positives: The queen beds are very big and comfortable to sleep on. The sheets are also very clean. The bathroom is clean and beautifully presented with essential bathsoaps. There is a hairdryer, coffee maker and extra toilet rolls. The room has a mini fridge just below the TV. There is free WIFI connection which is fast and works well The hotel staff are very friendly and are prompt with your requests Negatives: The AC in the room was pretty loud but if you can sleep through noise then this would not be a problem The daily breakfast was a disappointment, they didn't have a variety. But if you want to eat something quick, then toast and juice will do. Overall, this hotel was a pleasant one to stay in and I would definitely recommend it! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is VONS and Barons Market nearby

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO N - RANCHO BERNARDO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LMNOPQRST
denver
Jul 9, 2012

Holiday Inn Rancho Bernardo

The only thing lacking was a bit more equipment in the gym (no weights or machines...only treadmill-type equipment..and only 3 of those) The room was spacious and "funky" in a good way. Staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search