$97 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

3 stars
1955 San Diego Avenue, San Diego, CA 92110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
98 reviews
First time in San Diego

The hotel was very nice. Clean, the staff was so friendly....easy to get around. My room was facing... See full review

  • AmyJW
  • Oct 13, 2014
First time in Old Town San Diego/Celebrating BF birthday

This was my first time in Old Town and I loved it. We were of walking distance to Old Town and the... See full review

  • Lou enjoying life
  • Oct 10, 2014
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in Americas Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8 , guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches , as well as many other popular area attractions. Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD). Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.

Hotel Map

32.7452 -117.1871
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport, (SAN), 3.00, MI, E; Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), 122.00, MI, N; Ontario International Airport, (ONT), 112.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Airport, airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Heritage Park: 0.6 mi
  • Whaley House Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Town San Diego: 0.8 mi
  • Bazaar Del Mundo: 0.9 mi
  • Junipero Serra Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Diego: 1.3 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Art: 1.9 mi
  • Firehouse Museum: 2 mi
  • San Diego Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • San Diego Museum of Man: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Automotive Museum: 2.3 mi
  • San Diego Aerospace Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Timken Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Building: 2.4 mi
  • Casa De Balboa: 2.4 mi
  • Spanish Village Art Center: 2.5 mi
  • San Diego Natural History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fleet Space Theater and Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Childrens Museum of San Diego: 2.7 mi
  • Hospitality Point: 2.8 mi
  • San Diego Convention Center: 3 mi
  • PETCO Park: 3.2 mi
  • Mission Bay Park: 3.5 mi
  • Qualcomm Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Sunset Cliffs: 3.9 mi
  • Belmont Park: 4.1 mi
  • Pacific Beach: 4.8 mi
  • Family Fun Center: 6.1 mi
  • Chula Vista Nature Center: 8.9 mi
  • Sorrento Valley: 10 mi
  • California Center For The Arts Museum: 26.4 mi
  • Legoland: 27.5 mi
  • Cox Arena: 2,118.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 98
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lou enjoying life
Business
Las Vegas
Oct 10, 2014

First time in Old Town San Diego/Celebrating BF birthday

This was my first time in Old Town and I loved it. We were of walking distance to Old Town and the walk was maybe like 10 minutes. We stayed 3 nights. Our room was on the other side of the highway so it was quiet. The room was super clean and the front desk employees were super nice and accomadating. We used the courtesy shuttle bus to and from the airport and the driver even picked us up at a restaurant at Old Town when it got to late to walk back. My boyfriend loved the complimentary breakfast. He said they had so much to choose from. I'm not a breakfast person but since he loved it, that made me happy. I had such a great time and plan on coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coyote Cafe is a great restaurant. Service was excellent and food was delish. Great prices too:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RStraveler
Business
Seattle
Sep 29, 2014

fantastic service

Excellent reception staff and shuttle services. Special thank to Elia at the counter, provided adequate information about guest services. And special thanks to Fernando, the shuttle driver. The free breakfast buffet was very good also. They made our 4 days stay very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Njhas
Business
Belchertown Ma.
Aug 17, 2014

Old Towm Holiday Inn Express

Rommel was clean, location convenient, free shuttle to many activities , hot tub, pool and breakfast. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would higly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cosmopolitan hotel/Restaurant had a nice friendly bar and an very good restaurant. We went there twice and loved the food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm Pretty Picky
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 29, 2014

Solid Standard Hotel

Everything was fine. Staff was efficient and friendly, room was small but clean, lacking nothing that would be in a normal hotel room, but no extra frills either. Standard. You could easily hear what was going on in the halls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigeorge
Business
Dallas
Jul 24, 2014

Retired Dallas couple

Everything was excellent . Room very clean and comfortable , swimming pool, spa, and patio clean and inviting , staff you could not ask for more always ready to help you, courtesy shuttle superb . Location exactly where we needed. In reality more in the five stars ratting . For the price the best bargain in San Diego. Thank you. Will tell many people of our pleasant experience. My wife and I have travel four months so far this year and stayed in many different hotels and this one is in the Top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Water seafood. Go early and avoid their regular customer or be prepare to wait a little while. We have eaten at many and much more expensive seafood restaurants but the preparation of our meals here was one of the best. Very little service but more than adequate . Best values

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dawn MH
Business
Nebraska
Apr 8, 2014

April Stay

Good value - breakfast was good, free parking - room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irene Navy Mom
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 24, 2014

Great stay

We went to San Diego to visit our son serving in the Navy. We were Greeted by friendly staff along with professionalism. The hotel is located about 20 minute short walk to the Old time shopping area. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only con is the rooms close to the expressway are noisy. We definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yankee Man
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 4, 2014

Staff was great

We really appreciated the professional level of the staff who checked us in and out, took care of waking us up, providing breakfast (even though we needed to leave before it officially opened) and getting us back to the airport for our next leg of our very long trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jkl mdl
Business
buffalo
Feb 24, 2014

flight home

good place to stay before dropping off rental car on the way to the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO AIRPORT-OLD TOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen Fuller
Business
St Cloud, MN
Jan 20, 2014

Holiday Inn Express in San Diego

Great location. Shuttle to and from airport is ideal, and shuttle to nearby sites is much appreciated! Hotel was nice. Breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended as a place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jack and Giulio's Italian Restaurant in Old Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top